1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asus 6870 and 400w?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by rizshinigami, Aug 9, 2011.

  1. rizshinigami New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Hello fellow TPU members.

    My 4850 gpu has died few weeks ago because it showing artifact and bsod during boot to windows,atm i'm using my old saphire x1550.I only play TF2 and will play BF3 and Guild Wars 2 when it come out.So i want to upgrade my gpu to Asus 6870 Directcu but worried whether my psu could handle it.This is it:
    http://www.ocztechnology.com/ocz-400w-stealthxstream-power-supply-eol.html

    I'm choosing between 6870 and 6850,but if my psu could handle 6870 i would go for it.I'm in tight budget so could only afford new gpu not psu.

    *hate playing TF2 at super low resolution and graphic setting with the x1550:cry:
     
  2. The_Ish

    The_Ish New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    328 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Sweden
    Not sure.. 700w was the limit for me when i tried adding two 6950's. One at 400? I dunno. Doubtful, but im no expert.
     
    rizshinigami says thanks.
  3. Jamborhgini313

    Jamborhgini313 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    205 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    I think it'll do. No overclock tho
     
    rizshinigami says thanks.
  4. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,993 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,252
    I would play it safe, get a new psu
     
    rizshinigami says thanks.
  5. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,232 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    If 6870 has like less than 30amp usage from 12v rail i think you should be okay,my PSU has 30amp and i have 400w and i am running my GTX460 perfectly fine.
    But like others may have to play safe and spend extra bit of money,it will be worth spending on getting both new GPU and PSU for future needs.
     
    rizshinigami says thanks.
  6. rizshinigami New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
  7. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,419 (6.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    How old is the power supply in question? Also the 6870 power supply consumption is nearly the same as the 4850.
     
    rizshinigami says thanks.
  8. mad1394

    mad1394 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    127 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    You will be fine with a 6850. Not sure if you can stretch it for the 6870 because of the 2x pci express 6pin requirement.
     
    rizshinigami says thanks.
  9. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,957 (4.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,033
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    The recommended power suppy for that card is 500w or higher. I don't think you want to stress that PSU that hard even if you can make it work. You will put added stress on the PSU, which will reduce it's lifespan. Not to mention, if you kill the PSU you may take other components with it. If I were you, I wouldn't run that card with anything less than a QUALITY 550w power supply.

    The power supply is the one component in your rig that you never want to screw with. Always make sure that you have enough "clean" power for everything in your system, with room to spare. Don't cheap out with this. In other words, if you can't afford a good power supply to run it, don't bother buying the card.
     
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2011
    rizshinigami says thanks.
  10. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,449 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    125w max playing Crysis Warhead with 375 on the +12v rail, factor in another 125w for your proc and 50w for peripherials leaves you 70w to spare, I say it would be fine, though dont OC or run Furmark/OCCT etc or you will be asking for trouble,
     
    rizshinigami says thanks.
  11. lilhasselhoffer

    lilhasselhoffer

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,703 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,066
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    The short answer: no.

    The long answer:

    The power supply has 1 6+2 pin power connector for graphics cards. The 6870 and 6850 both require a 6+2 and 6 pin power connector (depending upon models).

    The connection of a few Molex pins into an adapter might give you two functional connectors, but you won't be able to draw adequate power. Not to mention, the minimum recommended PSU wattage is 100 watts higher than your PSU is rated for.

    If you want to go 68xx then you're going to need a new PSU. Right now, I would recommend one of the surprisingly well priced 57xx series AMD gpus. The power draw is reasonable, the pricing should be better, and you can put the money you save towards purchasing a new PSU that can actually draw some watts. This will leave you more room for replacement in the future.
     
    rizshinigami says thanks.
  12. rizshinigami New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Hm guess i just need to upgrade new psu first.Which psu you guys recommend that offer the best/performance ratio?
     
  13. haarbal New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    The PSU manual says it can deliver 370W on 12V. There's no way your pc with 6870 will draw that much.

    In most 6870 reviews you see the system drawing 300W from the wall. If the psu is 85% efficient it means you'll only need 255W from the psu.
     
  14. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,957 (4.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,033
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I've built a handful of lower end customer build with this PSU. It's damn good for the money:

    CORSAIR Builder Series CX600 V2 600W ATX12V v2.3 8...
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page