1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

asus 6950 DCII 2GB vbios size/custom bios?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by madgician, Jul 7, 2011.

  1. madgician New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I m not able to unlock the shaders. I tried all the methods known on internet.
    But i suspect that maybe the problem is not a laser cut . It may be a custom bios from asus for some models of this cards like MSI did with Twin frozr3.
    I have seen that the majority of the DCII bios are 128kb sized and some others like mine are 64kb sized. And Rbe seems to not work properly with the 64kb sized bios.
    Do you think there is a link between the bios size , and the fact that some 6950DCII aren t unlockable?
    Sorry for my bad english.

    I link my original bios 64kB Sized
     

    Attached Files:

    • bon.zip
      File size:
      38.8 KB
      Views:
      111
  2. arroyo

    arroyo

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    393 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    Location:
    Bydgoszcz, Poland
    Only few first series of non-reference models were able to unlock shaders and almost all review samples of HD6950. Since few months months I have not seen a one non reference HD6950 with unlocking possibility. I am working in computer shop and we are selling 20-30 HD6950 each week. We are trying to unlock at least one card from each shipment.
     
  3. PrEzi

    PrEzi New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Poland
    Mine Asus DirectCUII 1GB was bought 3 weeks ago.
    Unlocked just fine. Maybe I was lucky and have had one of the 'old stock unlockable' ones... dunno.

    madgician and btw- I think that you should re-download your BIOS with latest GPU-Z.
    I think all Caymans have 128kB BIOS files.
     
  4. madgician New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    gpu-z extract my bios in a 128kb file. but my bios is 64 kb .
    They are both on the 6950 DCII :
    ftp://ftp.asus.com/pub/ASUS/LiveUpdate/Release/Multimedia/VGA/VBIOS/ATI/6719/

    when i use gputweak tool , the live update link me a 64kb bios.

    I can use the 128kb bios but i think only the first part of bios is used.
    I don't know if this story of sizes does matter , but the fact is i m not able to unlock shaders.
    i've tested all the methods and all the bios of 6950/6970 DCII , your 1GB also.
    Some makes bsod, some boots but always 1408 shaders, and one gave me 704 shaders.
     
  5. PrEzi

    PrEzi New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Poland
    madgician :
    weird... :)
     
  6. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,622 (3.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,257
    the flash chip can store 128k, but the actual bios uses only 64k.
    but gpuz can't know that, so it just saves the whole 128k.
    this should have no effect on modding
     
    PrEzi and LordJummy say thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page