1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asus a8n-e chipset voltage mod

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by jcdenton21, Jan 22, 2007.

  1. jcdenton21

    jcdenton21 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    95 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Slovakia, KE
    Asus a8n-e chipset voltage mod some pictures

    Hello guys
    I found only thread about asus a8n-sli but pictures doesn´t work
    http://sg.vr-zone.com/?i=1624&s=1

    or is there between a8n-e and a8n-sli huge layout difference?
    what to mod and how?
    I am a soldering newbie so I prefer pencil mod if possible
    thx
    if you need some pictures let me know
    I have 2nd revision of a8n-e board

    might it be one of those chips?
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    here are altrenative links
    http://www.laboratorium.ic.cz/foto/a8n-e_vmod/chips1.jpg
    http://www.laboratorium.ic.cz/foto/a8n-e_vmod/chips2.jpg

    so I have some new pictures that could help you to be able to help me :)
    which chips might regulate chipset voltage?
    where are measure points?
    chip number on these photos aren´t same for me(these are from US version and I live in EU so tell me which chips and I will write what´s written on them)
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    http://www.laboratorium.ic.cz/foto/a8n-e_vmod/chipset1.jpg
    http://www.laboratorium.ic.cz/foto/a8n-e_vmod/chipset2.jpg

    finally I found this guide
    http://www.takorautaa.net/show_article.php?article_id=25&page_number=1
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2007
  2. mortal New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    151 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Croatia - Umag
    And what are you trying to achieve? Higher voltage, higher oc...
     
  3. jcdenton21

    jcdenton21 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    95 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Slovakia, KE
    so to explain my situation
    I have ASUS a8n-e board(2nd revision)
    AMD Athlon64 3200+
    SeaSonic S-12 380W
    other stuff
    I can run my venice 250x10 at 1.4Vcore
    but even with vcore 1.6 I can´t pass tests higher than 265x10
    ram is running below ddr400
    HT lowered
    max "FSB" that board is stable is somewhere around 310MHz
    So I know I am not limited by FSB but something else
    for example at 2.75GHz it passes 3dMarks 2005 and 2006 but can´t pass superPI and prime95 with more than about 2,68GHz
    I hope with vmod I could achieve more stability
    I read NB-mod for a8n-sli at vr-zone and with chipset v-mod he didn´t achieve more overclock but more stability
     
  4. mortal New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    151 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Croatia - Umag
    So you probably have E6 revision of Venice. This revision isnt cloakable, my frend reached 2.9gh with 1,75V. And not stable
     
  5. jcdenton21

    jcdenton21 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    95 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Slovakia, KE
    :wtf: :twitch:
    some more information about this?
    is it true?
    friend clocked e6 to 2.85 at 1.5V
    yes I own venice E6
    I would like to try to be sure I am cpu limited not board:rolleyes:
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2007
  6. jcdenton21

    jcdenton21 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    95 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Slovakia, KE
    So I edited first post
    Problem is I can´t solder so I have to use Pencil or conductive ink pen
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    I was testing and this Vcore Droop is the thing I think is limiting me
    For the test I was running 7x320 and about 30minutes of Prime 95 and it was stable so I think VDroop is limiting me
    I also had to flash bios because with 1013 it failed to boot with 250+
    If anybody knows how to work out Vdroop pencil mod and maybe chipset pencil mod please write here a reply
    and Somebody could also explain that measure points to me in this guide
    http://www.takorautaa.net/show_article.php?article_id=25&page_number=1
     
  7. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Sorry guy, but I am in the dark about vmodding. Perhaps our two resident solder experts (on in UK the other in US) can help ya out?
     
  8. jcdenton21

    jcdenton21 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    95 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Slovakia, KE
    Hello guys,
    I ´d love perform VDroop mod on my board to get my Venice higher:santa:
    I found out that VCore controller chip is SC2643VXTS
    Datasheet I found is for SC2643VX only
    could you tell me how to perform VDroop mod
    I read the DIY guide on this site and it was full of new informations for me and very helpful
    I think I have to lower the resistance between feedback pin(7) and the ground, am I right?
    and could somebody tell me where the measure points for VCore are?
    I found this guide for VCore mod with marked one point for CPU VCore but I dont know where is the second point:confused:
    marked point to the ground or somewhere else?
    I will try to get some photos if you need
    If I know where to measure the resistance I ´ll try to work out pencil mod because of my soldering skills:mad:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page