1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASUS A8R32-MVP DELUXE, another "CPU Fan Error!"

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by dreadpirateandy, Dec 14, 2007.

  1. dreadpirateandy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey,

    I've been having a problem with my computer very similar to the one in this thread:
    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=15422

    Some specs:
    Motherboard: ASUS A8R32-MVP DELUXE
    Processor: AMD Athalon 64 X2 Dual Core
    RAM: 2 gigs

    Basically I got a "CPU Fan Error!" message every time i started my computer.

    My fan speed was good, a bit over 3000 RPM, so I just bypassed it and kept using my computer as usual. After a while the motherboard would beep sometimes and the computer would freeze for a few seconds. This happened more and more often until sometimes it would do that nonstop and I had to turn the computer off by holding the power button. So I go into the BIOS and disabled the fan speed monitoring. That doesn't help, I still get the CPU Fan Error message.

    Here's where it gets interesting: After much fiddling around with the settings and BIOS and whatnot, it still gets the CPU fan error but now it seems to be unable to detect my operating system (Windows XP). It goes through the startup procedure and after the mobo screen it displays "Reboot and Select proper Boot device or Insert Boot Media in selected Boot device and press a key." The primary boot device is the hard drive, which used to have no problem starting up as early as this afternoon.

    (On another note, the CPU fan error seems to have stopped)

    I just would like some suggestions as to what is going on and how I can fix this. I'm pretty sure I destroyed my OS and will need to reformat or something equally silly. (By the way, I tried putting the Windows cd in the drive and booting from that and selecting repair the OS...it gave some error about not finding an OS to repair. If you think it helps I can go and get that error text again.)

    Thanks so much for the help.
  2. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    what bios are you using? i had that mobo but never that problem. the only issue i had was where i had plugged a sepperate fan into the cpu fan plug (as i used a TEC block to cool cpu) and this fan got jammed by a wire, then after x amount of minutes windows would shut down by itself. lol thought id buggered something but all was well after i removed the jam
  3. dreadpirateandy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well, I fixed the problem I was having. I disconnected half of the things in my computer and reconnected them. everything seemed to be connected the correct way, but the problem was solved when I reconnected the hard drive cable. I doubt it got dislodged, so the mobo might have just forgot it was plugged in. That still doesn't explain the ever-present CPU fan error message. Ah well, as long as its working now.

    by the way, my BIOS is American Megatrends Inc. 0311
  4. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    omg, that bios is ANCIENT!!!!
  5. dreadpirateandy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    wow really? how would I go about fixing that?
  6. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    go to the asus website, then in the search bos to the left product search a8r32

    then go to bios, get the latest and flash it in windows using the asus update.

    or easier, just on using the asus update program select update from internet

    bingo!

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page