1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASUS and GIGABYTE to Launch AMD RD790 Motherboards in September

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Aug 29, 2007.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    AMD will release its RD790 chipset by the end of September, with ASUSTeK Computer and GIGABYTE Technology likely to be the first to launch motherboards supporting the new chipset. ASUSTeK and GIGABYTE have been taking the lead in the race to the launch the first RD790 motherboards, having already delivered design verification test (DVT) samples to AMD's Taipei validation lab. If everything goes smoothly, ASUS and GIGABYTE will be able to start volume production of RD790 motherboards in early September, while competitors may not be able to launch motherboards supporting the new AMD chipset until mid October. According to AMD's product planning, the 65nm RD790 made at Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing Company (TSMC) is the vendor's first quad-graphics platform that supports the next-generation Phenom processors and HyperTransport 3.0. It will also introduce PCI Express 2.0 and Triple CrossFire support.

    Source: DigiTimes
     
    rekleif and GLD say thanks.
  2. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,812 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    ::drool:: just seeing these two big name companies play the game and get the boards going makes me happy. I cant wait to see what they look like, how they perform and what not. Thanks for this wonderful post.
     
  3. rekleif New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I hope Asus put out a MB equal to my p5w dh-deluxe. The hardware raid function is just too good to give up. It even works in osx. So please Asus, GET IT RIGHT FOR ONCE ON A AMD CHIPSET. Thanks for the great news btw.
     
  4. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    SWEEEET!!!! im gonna get me one! I was just waiting for ASUS to bring one out :rockout:

    will go nicely with my upgrade to a phenom, woot!
     
  5. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,515 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    AZ
    hmm would be anice piecewise upgrade to phenom, luckily am2 cpu's work in the am2+ boards. (and vice versa, on eof the few smart moves amd has made lately)
     
  6. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    Woooo Phenom Is Coming!!!!!
     
  7. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    I KNOW I KNOW!!!! WOOT DE DOOT! :laugh:
     
  8. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    If the price isn't too high when Gigabyte comes out with one i am going to get it if i can.I am looking forward to the AM2+ i hope to see the C2D get left behind :nutkick:.I am not a fanboy so don't say i am.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. bassmasta Guest

    i'm hoping they make a ddr2/3 combo board. i don't want to upgrade everything at once.
     
  10. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    same here it would be nice if they do because DDR2 isn't vary old still and DDR3 prices are way too high still for me to even think about buying it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,515 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    AZ
    I don't think amd's going ddr3 until next year.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page