1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASUS Announces AM1M-A and AM1I-A Motherboards

Discussion in 'News' started by Cristian_25H, Mar 13, 2014.

  1. Cristian_25H

    Cristian_25H News Poster

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,626 (4.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Still on the East Side
    ASUS today announced AM1M-A and AM1I-A, two exciting new motherboards that support the latest AMD AM1-socketed SoC (system-on-a-chip) Athlon and Sempron series Accelerated Processing Units (APUs).

    These revolutionary APUs with AMD R Series graphics combine high processing power, advanced Microsoft DirectX 11.1 graphics, and Fusion controller hubs (FCHs) in one small, efficient package - improving performance by over 50% compared to the previous ('Brazos 2.0') generation of AMD APUs.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    With low power consumption and excellent graphic performance from the APUs, both AM1M-A and AM1I-A are great-value choices for desktops and home-theater PCs (HTPCs).

    AM1M-A and AM1I-A have been engineered to the very highest quality standards and are packed with exclusive features, as ASUS customers both demand and expect.

    ASUS 5X Protection safeguards sensitive components from short-circuits, electrical surges and similar risks. It includes ASUS DIGI+ VRM (voltage-regulator module) to ensure a smooth power supply to the processor, overcurrent protection to prevent short circuits damaging the RAM, electrostatic-discharge (ESD) guards, high-quality solid-state capacitors and corrosion-resistant input/output (I/O) shields - a combination of technologies that provide the very best reliability and durability.

    USB 3.0 Boost with UASP Mode accelerates the already-fast speed of USB 3.0, intelligently optimizing transfer commands so that more data can be sent and received in shorter times than is possible with other motherboards.

    The new ASUS motherboards also include a brilliantly easy-to-use UEFI BIOS that presents a friendly graphical interface, allowing users to set up shortcuts and favorites for quick access to the options that are used most often. They also benefit from AI Suite 3, an exclusive ASUS dashboard-style control panel that lets users fine-tune almost every aspect of an AM1M-A- or AM1I-A-based system for the best balance between performance, stability and efficiency - all via a simple and intuitive interface.
     
  2. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,884 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,473
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I would have liked more SATA ports, but I guess I can't complain too much about a socket-ed SoC.
     
  3. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,174 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,438
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    yeah me too, make it 4 sata ports and many people would run mini itx platform
     
  4. Jorge

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Messages:
    795 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    AMD must have some more good SoCs in the pipeline to have this much mobo support for the new AM1 platform. This is good news for consumers.
     
  5. Cruise51

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    90 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Looks nice. What's the price though?
     
  6. WaroDaBeast

    WaroDaBeast

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    104 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    My thoughts exactly. One of them small µ-ATX or even mini-ITX boards with 6 sata ports would be perfect for a small server.

    [EDIT]: Eeh... Scratch that, they don't support ECC. Don't know much about servers, but after doing research on building a NAS from the ground up, I found out that ECC matters for ZFS.
     
  7. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,884 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,473
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I've yet to read this. I know that ZFS doesn't require ECC memory, I know a handful of people that use it on say, an Atom box without an issue.

    ZFS might write ECC so it can correct corrupted data from the disk, but I don't think it requires ECC memory. Requiring ECC would be more of a requirement for a stable machine imho because if bits in memory are flipping, the machine is unstable anyways.
     
  8. WaroDaBeast

    WaroDaBeast

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    104 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    That's right, ZFS doesn't need ECC memory. But then, so many people on FreeNAS's forums say that if you don't have ECC memory, you're going to run into trouble. I may have misunderstood the warning though, and the issue lies at the machine level, as you put it.
     
  9. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,464 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    650
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    ASRock has a couple 4-port boards, 2 are from a 3rd party controller.

    QNAP and other storage vendors might develop some turnkey and bare-bones AM1 solutions because they buy their controllers and port multipliers in large quantities. For us Joe can't-buy-a-thousand-at-time Shmoes looking to go beyond 4 devices the FM2 platform seems like a better choice. My A8-5500 + mATX combo will cost me about $150, but this can be cut down by using a cheaper APU and get much closer to the estimated $60 an AM1 solution will cost. That'll give me 8-ports and open PCIe slots if I feel like expanding in the future.

    Now, if you've already invested in a controller, this might work out nicely.

    [​IMG]
     
    WaroDaBeast says thanks.
  10. Thefumigator

    Thefumigator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    420 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    I believe if you insert ECC memory into a non-supported ECC platform, the memory will still work without ECC funcionality.

    Those atoms running ECC memory are just running the memory without the ECC feature, i believe.

    Buffered (or "registered") sticks however, will not work if it's not supported by the platform, and the thing won't even boot.
     
  11. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,884 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,473
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    You won't even be able to insert the DIMM. buffered and unbuffered DDR DIMMs are keyed differently, so it won't actually fit anyways, let alone boot iirc.

    Edit: That may be FB DIMMS not strictly registered DIMMs.
     
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2014
    WaroDaBeast says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page