1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASUS Announces its Radeon R9 280 DirectCU II Series

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Mar 4, 2014.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,847 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,714
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    ASUS kicked off its Radeon R9 280 lineup with a pair of DirectCU II series graphics cards, one which sticks to AMD reference clock speeds of 827 MHz core, 933 MHz boost, and 5.00 GHz memory; and a TOP variant, which offers clock speeds of 874 MHz core, 980 MHz boost, and 5.20 GHz memory. Both cards are based on a board design that's not too different from that of the R9 280X DirectCU II series, featuring a custom-design PCB, and the company's new generation DirectCU II cooling solution, which features the CoolTech fan that combines a lateral blower with a conventional fan impeller. Based on the 28 nm "Tahiti" silicon, the Radeon R9 280 features 1,792 stream processors 112 TMUs, 32 ROPs, and a 384-bit wide GDDR5 memory interface, holding 3 GB of memory.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  2. Ahhzz

    Ahhzz

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,285 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    3Gb, boo hiss....
     
    5 Million points folded for TPU
  3. ZetZet

    ZetZet

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Messages:
    185 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    Lithuania
    Is this sarcasm?
     
  4. Ahhzz

    Ahhzz

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,285 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Actually, no :) I'm pointing to the 6Gb MSI, and really wanting a 280 with 4Gb :)
     
    5 Million points folded for TPU
  5. ZetZet

    ZetZet

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Messages:
    185 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    Lithuania
    Why
     
  6. Ahhzz

    Ahhzz

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,285 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Wanting to move to a higher card than my 6950s, XFire doesn't add the RAM of a vid card, Looking to have a card capable of handling all that Star Citizen will put out, both on a processor level, and RAM headspace (having seen how high textures in Skyrim can hit a 2Gb limit in a hurry), and not really thinking I needed to move to a 290 level :)
     
    5 Million points folded for TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page