1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asus ATI 5570 unable to flash bios

Discussion in 'RBE' started by maggiore81, Nov 15, 2010.

  1. maggiore81 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello
    I downloaded the latest release of RBE and AtiWinflash

    I have an Asus 5570 PCIe wich is very very loud.

    I would like to re-flash the bios with a lower fan speed.

    I download the bios using gpu-z then I modify it with RBE then I would like to re-flash it using AtiWinflash.
    I am under Win XP Pro SP3.
    It says that it is unable to erase rom

    how can I do?
     
  2. BAGZZlash

    BAGZZlash RBE Author

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    583 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    357
    You will need to enable writing access to the BIOS chip first. There's a parameter for it, "unlockrom". Try googleing for that.
     
  3. maggiore81 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello
    thank you for your info

    I have not found anything useful about that. Can you better drive me to the right direction?
     
  4. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,587 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Why not just use a custom fan profile in MSI afterburner instead? That's what I did with my Asus 5770 CuCore
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. maggiore81 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello
    I tried with afterburner but the fan is NOT changeable
     
  6. boise49ers

    boise49ers

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,277 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    Location:
    Idaho
    CCC worked for me

    I have an MSI and I just used overdrive in CCC to adjust my fan speed.
    Works great I have it clocked as far as CCC will allow and it keeps it in the 40's.
    [​IMG]
     
  7. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,587 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Uhhh, I have the same card as you and I know for a fact it is.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. maggiore81 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well
    I install the latest ATI drivers, then afterburner and the fan is greyed out
     
  9. BAGZZlash

    BAGZZlash RBE Author

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    583 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    357
    For example here.

    In that case it is most likely that you will not succeed with RBE either. It's still worth giving it a try, but chances aren't too good... :cry:
     
  10. boise49ers

    boise49ers

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,277 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    Location:
    Idaho
    Well then it isn't the same or you used a different Driver. Mine has 10.10 in it.
    I don't use the software that comes with the cards, ever !
     
  11. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,587 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    [​IMG]

    I'm not using any of the ASUS software that came with my card.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. boise49ers

    boise49ers

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,277 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    Location:
    Idaho
    My subvendor is MSI
     
  13. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,587 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Cool, but when I posted I was talking to maggiore81 for the most part.

    MSI afterburner is a great program to use.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. boise49ers

    boise49ers

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,277 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    Location:
    Idaho
    Yep I see that now. Any luck yet ?
     
  15. rickette New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello,
    I have the same problem as maggiore81 : a very loud fan on ASUS EAH5570
    I tried flashing bios many times but nothing worked.

    I tried loading the original bios in RBE, editing the frequencies and the fan speed it didn't do a thing.
    I tried both saphire and powercolor bios found on the techpowerup site and nothing changed too.

    With the original bios i can't load ATI overdrive and the fan speed is greyed in msi afterburner and rivatuner, so i can't move the cursor nor change the values.
    With a modified bios i can move the cursor but it doesn't change anything on the fan speed at all, it is still very noisy.

    So i wanted to know if maggiore81 found any solution yet, and if someone could help me out with this ?
    Thank you
     
  16. rickette New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i just received the "official" response from ASUS's customer service. Shortly, it says this :
    "This card has only 2 pin fan connector, so you cannot regulate the speed".

    The thing is that every low profile card with this chipset has 2 pin fan connector. So i unfortunately guess the fans are audible in every scenario.
    too bad for a LP card that surely goes into an HTPC.

    Too bad i just spent 80 euros too
     
  17. Formula350

    Formula350 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    864 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    Eastern Tennessee
    You could always regulate it yourself by giving it external power. Running Ground (black) off a 5V and the Positive (red) off the 12V, you will actually run the fan at the difference of that, or 7V. It's a cheap trick to regulate fan speed, but it's easy and works like a charm :p Since no motherboard fan headers have (to my knowledge) 5v and 12v, you'll just need to run it off a 4pin Molex connector :\

    Otherwise you'd either need to do a resistor mod (you'll have to google that one sorry) or run a fan controller (potentiometer or rheostat).

    And here my ASUS 5770 has horrible fan moderation and when set to "auto" in CCC, it doesn't ramp the fan up fast enough and before you know it the cards (as I have 2) are running 90-105C and only like 50-60% fan speed :rolleyes:
     
  18. rickette New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i installed a fan controller and changed the original fan. i placed 1 40mm on the chip and 1 50mm on the heatsink. Both are plugged into the 2pin and the controller is at maximum speed.
    That's a lot lot LOT quieter and still as cool when the card is idle.
    but after 3 benchmarks under SF4 it gets up to 110°C / 230°F

    pretty hot... but very quiet
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page