1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASUS Combines Killer NIC and Xonar Audio into Single Addon Card

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jan 8, 2011.

  1. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,276 (11.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,561
    sound card in a video card sounds weird, but it works fine.

    dont forget that the latest HDMI specs actually include 100Mb networking, so network on video cards is likely to appear
     
  2. nINJAkECIL

    nINJAkECIL New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    235 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    it's true that ASUS will bundle it with Rampage III Black Edition.

    Source
     
  3. MadClown

    MadClown New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,362 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Location:
    NY, the state were you cant defend yourself
    I already got a 2100 coming in, and now i hear about this, and yesterday my soundcard was pissing me off, I could have gotten this!
     
  4. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,361 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    398
    But what is the quality of sound like on it vs. something like a pre-packaged x-fi card with an asus MB or integrated sound? For watching Blu-Ray discs and having sound come from the video card, can it still give you a movie theater kind of experience? I'm not sure.

    And networking on HDMI too? geeeez....what will they come up with next?
     
  5. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,276 (11.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,561
    its digital audio, so sound depends 100% on your receiver. the networking i guess is so that you can wire up the TV to your network, and your game consoles automatically get internet (or vice versa)
     
  6. Phxprovost

    Phxprovost Xtreme Refugee

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,216 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    262
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Maybe but i doubt it. As long as the price is right i don't think many will care and companies get to proudly put another dumb ass sticker on their products.
     
  7. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    Yes, but none says that mobo is exactly the mentioned one....
    And sorry but the link is broken for me :(
     
  8. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,175 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    Might I interest you on some NIC on a video card instead?
    [​IMG]
     
  9. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I hope they sell just the card, I would really like to own one!
     
  10. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    A decent router already allows this, and works on every device on your network.
     
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,276 (11.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,561
    i got a $60 TP link router not long ago that allows me to assign minimum (reserved) and max bandwidth per IP address, as well as setting it for specific ports only.


    setting the DHCP serve to auto assign IP's works well enough, since all decent routers can reserve IP's for specific mac adresses
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page