1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

asus crosshair III formula

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by skellattarr, May 27, 2009.

  1. skellattarr

    skellattarr

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    644 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    midway city ca
  2. Fatal

    Fatal

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    732 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Location:
    Golden, Colorado
    :D Sweet bet is gonna cost some $$$$$$$$ still great looking board.
     
  3. thebeephaha

    thebeephaha

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    Shame it only has two PCI-E 16s
     
  4. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    its designed without PCI-E switches to improve overclocking and the circuitry. that means you get 2x16x slots instead of 4x8x slots
     
  5. thebeephaha

    thebeephaha

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    Hm, well that makes some sense then.

    I just usually need lots of PCI-E slots, video, maybe a second card, raid card, etc.
     
  6. Kitkat New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    768 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
  7. skellattarr

    skellattarr

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    644 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    midway city ca
    the motherboard they used was a gigabyte.
     
  8. Studabaker

    Studabaker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,116 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    Somewhere in the underground
    :confused:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    :wtf:
     
    thebeephaha says thanks.
  9. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,331 (4.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,374
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Studa, my DFI board has Start and Reset switches to, they can also be used to clear the CMOS.
     
  10. crtecha

    crtecha New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,407 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    ipsay meechigan
    Im just happy it has a 790fx in it. Xfire baby!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  11. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,331 (4.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,374
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    It's a nice board now, but I really hope they got another one in the works for when the new chipsets come out. And when is AMD boards ever going to get CF/SLI capable?
     
  12. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I doubt AMD will ever get SLI privileges.. Nvidia is their biggest competitor right now.
     
  13. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,331 (4.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,374
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    You mean has always been their biggest competitor :p But yeah thats true, but they don't need to be SLI certified. I would imagine they could cook up a chipset that could do it, Nvidia would kick and scream and warn everyone it doesn't work, even if it did.
     
  14. Pete1burn

    Pete1burn

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    831 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    I wonder when we can expect this to be released.
     
  15. skellattarr

    skellattarr

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    644 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    midway city ca
    i thought when i bot my crosshair II board i would regret it when the crosshair III comes out but i don't. i like my board.
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2009
  16. Geofrancis

    Geofrancis

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    SCOTLAND!
  17. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,213 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,764
    Location:
    S.Cali
  18. Kitkat New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    768 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    no they had more than one setup read the results at the bottom. We cant always look at the pictures :)
     
  19. Pete1burn

    Pete1burn

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    831 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    I wonder if this will be a better board than my M4A79T Deluxe.
     
  20. Nalu

    Nalu New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Working out the little problems with this board

    Hi, I bought this motherboard about a month ago and am getting it to run very well. I'm posting this in case anyone is interested in getting one. It started up just fine but after 2 days the creative daughterboard x-fi card did fail. It's made under license by soundmax I think and I was able to get Asus to just RMA the card and not the whole board and I did pay shipping to send it. The card has a matched serial number with the board and it should be here tomorrow, this took 10 days in all and I had to put my old audigy back in. I didn't have any other problems and everything setup very well with Windows 7 RT. I had an EVGA 1282-TR GTX280 video card at first but it only lasted 15 days, it would run at 82C under load which I think is way too high. Luckily, I got Tigerdirect to give me a full refund and I have no desires to go back to any GTX gpu. I went out and bought 2 XFX 4850 video cards to crossfirex and I did have trouble at first with the ATI cards. The motherboard does not come with any crossfire bridges nor does the XFX video cards. I used XFX tech support and they are sending me 2 in the mail. The XFX runs at 52C under load at 650mhz and had driver problems until I cleaned them all out and downloaded 9.8 from ATI. I did not use the windows update or the XFX drivers as I was having problems with them. This motherboard makes for a very clean looking install and I enjoy the features of not having an old mouseport I'll never use anyway and no floppy ide port or cable. It's very clean and all the sata cables hide real good. Hopefully the new sound card will work well as I like the x-fi features and it really looks nice with the blue led and will fit well with the crossfire setup. I hope this helps with anyone that is wondering whether or not to buy it.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page