1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asus crosshair v formula club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by skellattarr, Aug 12, 2012.

  1. skellattarr

    skellattarr

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    642 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    midway city ca
    let me know how the new vishera chip works out for you if it works out real good then ill get it but i have to save up some money and get a new video card mine are real old but working good. the funny thing is when i turn all the settings up in rift i get a better screenshot then my sister does on full settings and she gots a gtx 570 and i got 2 gtx 285's in sli. im thinking of getting a gtx 680 with 4gb of vid mem.
  2. skellattarr

    skellattarr

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    642 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    midway city ca
    Super XP says thanks.
  3. os2wiz

    os2wiz

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    387 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    Go for it!!! UPS screwed my delivery for the chip. It should have came yesterday but they pingponged delivery twice between Secaucus, NJ and Uniondale Long Island. Today it was out for delivery and the lamers didn't deliver it and used the esxcuse of emergency weather conditions. Of course my area had NO flooding, NO blackout, and most streets do not have down trees including my own. can't figure those lamers.
  4. skellattarr

    skellattarr

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    642 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    midway city ca
    well when you do get it make sure you update the bios to 1703 before you put it in.
  5. os2wiz

    os2wiz

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    387 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    Already done last week. Thanks anyway.
  6. skellattarr

    skellattarr

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    642 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    midway city ca
    i noticed you don't have your system specs listed on the left what cpu are you using now and how is your system running on bios 1703?
    os2wiz says thanks.
  7. os2wiz

    os2wiz

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    387 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    AMD FX-8150
    Asus Crosshairs V motherboard
    16 MB of Gskill Ripjaws-X DDR3 2133
    MSI Radeon Radeon HD 6900 awaiting second identical one
    Samsung 830 128 MB SATA 3 SSD
    Corsair Force GT 128 MB SATA 3 SSD
    Kingwin Laser Power Supply 650 watts Platinum certified
    Rosewill Blackhawk Supreme Full Tower gaming Case
    LG Blu Ray Rewrteable Burner
    Samsung XL2370 Super High Contrast HD LED monitor
    Lexmark 543DN Color Laser Printer
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2012
    Super XP says thanks.
  8. skellattarr

    skellattarr

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    642 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    midway city ca
    nice rig. how is that 1703 bios working out for you?
  9. os2wiz

    os2wiz

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    387 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    Better than at first. It seems ok., but once in a while I get a crash. When that power supply I listed gets delivered on Monday, I think I'll be ship shape. The Corsair power saupply I have now gets occasional glitches, that will cause a crash.
  10. skellattarr

    skellattarr

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    642 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    midway city ca
    yep a bad power supply can cause all kinds of problems
  11. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,754 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    Have to agree, nice gaming rig :toast:
    os2wiz says thanks.
  12. os2wiz

    os2wiz

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    387 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    Thanks though I use for a whole variety of purposes. gaming is only a modest portion of my interests. I have the power supply installed now. Leess crashes , but I still have not got the secret to Vishera overclocking and stability mastered. I really have relatively modest goals. I would like to run 4.6 to 4.7 GHZ rock-solid stable. I hear so many conflicting theories on settings. Most people say you really shouldn't volt up the cpu-northbridge and only modrestly the cpu. They are claiming stability at well above the 4.5 GHZ I have achieved. I ran prime 95 the other day and 3 modules shutdown after 20 minutes which is far from ideal. I would liek Asus to issue an authoritative guide for Vishera overclocking on Crosshairs and they are mum.
  13. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,754 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    The first thing you do is never up the CPU vCore right away. First you need to enable Manual Mode, then leave both the Hyper Transport and NB speed at default, then up the CPU Multiplier by 1x increments. Save bios settings then restart. If it boots, get back into the bios and up the multi once again. Keep doing this until I gets unstable. That is where you up the CPU Voltage at 0.01v increments. REMEMBER what ever you do don't up the voltage then OC or you may lose the ability for high OC's with less voltage. To make this easier, the using AMD's OC Utility, where it let's you up the CPU Multi on the fly. Probably the easiest way to figure how far you can push her before upping the volts.
    Once you establish something comfortable and/or your CPU's limits, then you start playing with the Hyper Transport and NB speed and volts. Try not to touch the CPU-NB voltage or you. An damage your CPU. Keep that on AUTO.

    Perhaps I can post some of my settings for you. With this ASUS Crosshair V Formula ROG gaming mobo, I've learned a lot about the tweaking and OC'ing.
    os2wiz says thanks.
  14. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,981
    Location:
    some AF base
    Didn't see this thread until now.

    [​IMG]

    :)
  15. os2wiz

    os2wiz

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    387 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York

    Thanks. I have stayed away from any increases in cpu n-b. I have it at 1.225 right now. my cpu core voltage is at 1.39 v. I'll lower my northbridge back to 2200. I have it at 2400.
    I did not raise HT frequency as that is most problematical. What about ganged and unganged for imc?? and cpu setting for HPC?
  16. os2wiz

    os2wiz

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    387 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    Last week I upgraded my graphics card to a new Sapphire Radeon HD 7950 with Boost. Got a good deal on it.
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2012
  17. os2wiz

    os2wiz

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    387 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    Thanks for the low down. I tried that.Without voltage increase could boot to 4.6 ghz but unstable. Seems at 4.6 it becomes a voltage pig. Perhaps From my earlier improper attempts at overclocking 4.6 may be the limit on the chip.
    I did boot to 4.8 ghz after I stabilized 4.6 with cpu vcore increases and the vdda sttings. Was able then to boot to 4.8 ghz
    bit After raising vcore to 1.51





    When do I start adjusting memory frequency in this scenario? Should I leave it on auto until I hit a wall? You have been extremely helpful and I appreciate your mentoring.volts it still was unstable so I dropped back to 4.6 ghz and readjusted vcore down a bit. When I am under full load at 4.6 ghz my core temps went as high as 126 Farenheit in Prime 95. I think 4.6 is my stable limit using 1.475 vcore. Sad a bit that I probably ruined the chip,s ability to overclock higher. But I doubt I want to run this 24/7 above 4.6 in any case.
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2012
  18. gmastra100 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Messages:
    103 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    New to the crosshair V.
    I have 8GB of Gskill F3-12800CL9 1600MHz ram , , but thought about getting faster ram. I read that as the processor only can handle 1800MHz its not worth getting any faster ram but keep to 1600MHz but with faster timings. Also that as the Gskill requires 1.65V its not the best for the Mobo. That being the case, what should I go for ?
  19. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,754 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    I assume you may upgrade sometime in the near future with Piledriver. What I recommend is the Gskill Ripjaws @ 1866 at the very least. The version I have has tight timings. DDR3 Ram costs super cheap.
    This set is fast at 1866 but with super tight timings.
    http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231623

    Update:
    I forgot I upgraded to the G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3-2133 (8GBx2), got my 1866 set sitting here, might put it out for sale.
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2012
    os2wiz says thanks.
  20. os2wiz

    os2wiz

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    387 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    Man it is time for you to buy the cpu . Tiger Direct has it for $199 now with free shipping.
    Super XP says thanks.
  21. os2wiz

    os2wiz

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    387 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    Do you intend to run it at 2133? That will probably be too high to get a good overclock. By the way after I
    tried overc-locking with multi only, I tried with fsb only instead. I got to the same 4.6 ghz stable, but system performance is better with my HT frequency up at 2990 than using multiplier increase methodology. Better
    fps on Cinebench 64 on GL test and better on cpu portion of test.
  22. gmastra100 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Messages:
    103 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Hi,
    Not sure about piledriver, ( depends on getting a good deal) Steamroller is due in early 2013.
    But very interested in the memory, if its sitting doing nothing. might be interested.
    I have been looking for the article I read about the limitations of Gskill memory in asus board. but cant find it. All I know in my previous board M4A785TD-evo it was the one that worked really well.
  23. os2wiz

    os2wiz

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    387 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    Steamroller is due in late 2013 more likely early 2014 my friend.
    Unless you are referring to the APU, which is still not in early 2013, probably 3rd quarter of 2013. The steamroller APU , Kalaveri, was just taped out. The Steamroiller cpu has Not been taped out yet, so it has a good time yet before it will be ready.
  24. gmastra100 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Messages:
    103 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Hi,
    I was so sure it was in 2013 but researching it seams you are right, so I need to think about pile driver. , maybe save on memory and put money towards pile driver
    Thanks
    os2wiz says thanks.
  25. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,981
    Location:
    some AF base
    First off try overclocking the ram you have. Second off this isn't Intel 1.65v isn't bad for anything.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page