1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asus crosshair v formula club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by skellattarr, Aug 12, 2012.

  1. os2wiz

    os2wiz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    384 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    Probably the original road map had Steamroller for first half 2013, but that changed a while ago and of course would make no sense since pile driver was just released. There will be a second iteration of Pile driver around July 2013 with higher speeds and a .28nm process which should reduce energy consumption. Those will be the last cpus for the AM3+ socket. Steamroller will come in on a new socket and probably DDR4 memory.
    Use your current memory for the time being.Get a new cpu . the memory speed while somewhat helpful is notas important as the performance improvements the cpu will achieve.
  2. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    Steamroller is slated for am3+/am4 just like the phenom II's will run in am2+/am3 boards
    nt300, Super XP and os2wiz say thanks.
  3. os2wiz

    os2wiz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    384 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    Some people state that, but I have seen nothing official from AMD that Steamroller will be in AM3+ socket. The coming refresh of Piledriver on .28nm process will be on AM3+ It is not clear at all that Steamroller will also be on AM3+.
  4. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    Roadmaps list it on am3+ as does pretty much every leak to date. This isn't Intel AMD is pretty good about cross socket support. Hence why even the highest end Phenom II is supported in most of the higher end AM2+ boards.

    Heck there are 760G boards with Vishera support walking around right now. If you want to doubt AMD will support AM3+ with Steamroller go ahead just know you are likely to be wrong.
    os2wiz says thanks.
  5. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,738 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    537
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    I haven't seen anything official yet, unless I missed it. The reasoning behind the News Releases by AMD regarding Steamroller was from my interpretation, they stated that they plan on replacing the entire Bulldozer line up by accelerating the Steamroller Launch. This tells me (Despite the rumoured of delay(s)), AMD is or has achieved success via Steamroller. Why else would AMD be bullish on this 3rd Gen CPU.

    In any event, Piledriver is the better option versus any Phenom II by far.
    In my opinion, though logic dictates strongly on this one, that Steamroller should be based on DDR3, but with a faster IMC. And I would suspect it to be based on Socket AM3+. Future Excavator is a different story. That may be based on DDR4. But there is no way AMD is going to Change from AM3+ if they plan on keeping DRR3 longer. AMD does not work that way which is what you already stated in other posts. AMD is well known for sticking to a socket for a long time, not like Intel switching it up once a year.
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2012
    nt300 and os2wiz say thanks.
  6. os2wiz

    os2wiz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    384 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York

    No arguement , just curious why Asus won't release a vishera bios for Crosshairs IV
    Super XP says thanks.
  7. os2wiz

    os2wiz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    384 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    If you are right it is good news a real cost saving. I hope it does not come at the expense of performance. Isn't AM3+ architecture strained to its limits already? If the AM4 socket would enhance Steamroller performance in a significant way that is the way to go.If they can squeeze 20% more throughput with the current socket then it would be a good decision to delay socket change to Excavator.
  8. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,395 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,471
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Probably because what really changed was VRM design between 8-series and 9-series. The change from FM1 to FM2 is similar, but required a whole new socket. AMD wasn't going to include backwards compatibility for FX chips at all at first, if I remember right, so just be glad we got what we did.
  9. os2wiz

    os2wiz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    384 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    Of course I am glad . I never had a Crosshairs IV , I started with the V, but I see many IV owners who want Vishera but are reluctant to have to upgrade their boards.
  10. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    Vishera works on the Crosshair IV with the beta bios for Bulldozer. The chips are like the difference between Deneb and Thuban clock tables are all the same.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    nt300, os2wiz and Super XP say thanks.
  11. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,738 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    537
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    Not sure if it's strained, but it just wouldn't make sense for AMD to pull another AM2 into AM2+ and AM3 into AM3+ because if Steamroller is DDR3, then I assume AM4 would be short lived with AM4+ being a possible DDR4. AMD did place 2 x IMC's (DDR2 & DDR3) onto the CPU. Don't remember which one. Got to love the speculation:D
  12. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    The entire Deneb and Thuban lineups carry a DDR2 and DDR3 memory controller on them.
    nt300 and Super XP say thanks.
  13. os2wiz

    os2wiz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    384 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York


    That's for sure. Speculation will continue until it's obvious a release is imminent. By the way some are saying Kalaveri was cancelled, but I thought AMD denied that, am I misinformed?

    Did you see my post I finallyam stable at4.65 Ghz by means of fsb overclocking. It gives me a oerfomance boost over the same clock with cpu multiplier only. Can't get higher than that with stability.
  14. os2wiz

    os2wiz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    384 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    Perhaps I could but I quit with 4.8 Ghz when I got nowhere with 1.52 vcore, A superpig to go from 4.6 to 4.8. Not worth the extra power usage to me.
  15. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,738 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    537
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    Yes AMD did deny Kalaveri's cancellation. I believe Semi-Accurate is the source by good old Charlie.
    Very nice OC. personally for me I am never lucky upping the FSB speed, though I've been very lucky with upping the multi as much as possible and by tweaking settings and stuff to get a high OC with low Voltage.
    os2wiz says thanks.
  16. os2wiz

    os2wiz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    384 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    These guys on Overclockers.com are able to get 4.8-5.0 ghz. The 5.0 GHZ have specialty water cooling apparatus, which is very effective but extremely hideous in appearance. There voltages at 4.8 GHZ are low like 1.43 GHZ. I don't know if it is purely better technique on their part or because of the cooling plus they bin their chips , cherry picking their cpus.
    My FSB attempt was puirely based on the account of another overclocker on that board who had difficulty with getting a decent overclock with cpu multiplier only. So I figured why not give it a run, I had nothing to lose.

    Anand and Tech Spot are still running the lies that Kalaveri is cancelled. I was banned from Tech Spot after they did avery flawed review of Piledriver and called them out for it with details of where their review was flawed. I guess I made the mistake of "questioning their integrity". I thought it was appropriate under the circumstances and have no regrets. I wouldn't be able to trust their evaluations after that review. Here I feel the reviews are much more rigorous and better thought out.
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2012
  17. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,738 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    537
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    Both Anand and Tech Spot websites are Pro-Intel. You can tell by the cherry picked benchmarks that almost always favour Intel. This is a fact which many know of very well.

    For me I have a combination of minor bumps in volts for various stuff in the bios. I don't like taking the CPU voltage higher than 1.39v, so I settled for 1.375v. I have my 8120 running at 4.40 GHz. That is a 1.30 GHz Overclock with a very minor bump in voltage and running on all 8 cores. I cannot ask for anything better especially for how low I paid for the 8120 versus the more expensive 8150 at that time.

    I am wondering if I can take the Piledriver up to at least 4.80 GHz with 1.39v? This would be something I would try by slowly upping the multi one step at a time. Just waiting for the proper price on the FX-8350 which is for $195.
    os2wiz says thanks.
  18. os2wiz

    os2wiz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    384 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York


    You've got a little more patience than me in waiting for that price drop. I saw it on Amazon last year with Bulldozer perhaps it will happen for you in December.
  19. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    Plenty of sites that are like that. I am banned on [H] for calling it what it was. In all honesty this site is turning a bit that way and you can tell purely from the reviews and news posts. It annoys me AMD released a CPU (FX83XX) that competes with the i7's for half the price yet Intel is still better in a ton of people's eyes because the Intel chips are good with single IPC.

    Last time I checked I didn't buy an 8-core bohemeth CPU to run single threaded crap. The applications I use love more and more cores. Yet I still get told Intel is better :laugh: What a waste of time.

    Hopefully these FX8300 95w chips clock pretty good I am thinking about snagging one of those while I am deployed. Will be nice to grab something with a bit more kick than my B97.
  20. os2wiz

    os2wiz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    384 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    Posting my data under low load and full load. Think a couple of images are missing. I'll send them up later.

    Attached Files:

    Super XP says thanks.
  21. os2wiz

    os2wiz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    384 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York

    Thanks for your input. I hope your deployment won't be in Afghanistan. I feel for you guys just like a did for those during the Vietnam War. Don't get me wrong. I'm no patriot. I hate the bosses from my former job all the way up to those parasites who run and own the global corporations I just hate seeing working class guys being shipped into action for bosses wars. The guys on the ground get it worst being put into situations that often call for them to kill women and children. It's no picnic and it takes a toll on their health both physical and mental. Lost some neighbors in Vietnam , opened my eyes up and turned me into a warrior against that war. I wish you well. Come home safe.
  22. os2wiz

    os2wiz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    384 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York


    Here is my IBT successful results at 4.65 GHZ

    Attached Files:

    Super XP says thanks.
  23. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,738 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    537
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    Here is the reporting regarding AMD pushing Steamroller forward. :D
    Here is also a direct Quote from an insider working with Steamroller.

    http://vr-zone.com/articles/amd-pushes-steamroller-and-excavator-forward-bullish-about-performance-increases/17088.html#
    nt300 says thanks.
  24. os2wiz

    os2wiz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    384 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    Interesting article. It was written in early September , before the Pile Driver release. I see they have a newer article spiked with gloom and doom. Didn't pay attention if they were written by the same person.
  25. os2wiz

    os2wiz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    384 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    Waiting for my new pair of G. Skill Trident X 8GB dimms to arrive. They are 1866 MHZ but extremely tight timings of 8-9-9-24 at 1866. I am running 4.65 GHZ with FSB overclocking and stable per IBT testing and no crashes or BSOD's. The memory is at 1840 right now so I figured getting the 1866 memory with the tightest timings would be better for system performance over the slightly looser timings on the 2133 G. Skill I currently have , as well as less strain on the IMC with only 2 baks versus the 4 I now run. The 2133 memory XMP profile is 9-11-10-32.
    Even if the Steamroller release supports 2133 for IMC (which is unknown at this time , since the IMC really doesn't get revamped until Excavator) I should be able to run this memory at 2133 at tighter timings than my current 2133 memory allows. The new memory
    runs at 1.6 v versus 1.65 for the 2133 memory. So I think I have my bases covered. Today I toightend the 2133 memory timings since I am only running it at 1840 ti 8-10-9-28
    and lowered my cpu voltage 1 level to 1.435 in bios though at idlle it runs at 1.428 v . CPU IDZ says vid is 1.325 v.
    By the way is it true I should uninstall AI/2 if I am running HDWMonitor? I haven't noticed any bad readings with HDWmon with AI/2 installed. Just want to do things the right way.
    Super XP says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page