1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASUS Designs Own Monster Dual-GTX 285 4 GB Graphics Card

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, May 28, 2009.

  1. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    3 of these would fold like theres no tomorrow..... let alone the 45k in 3dm vantage i'll have....

    expect a few of these to show up at my house pretty quickly. :pimp:
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,942 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,364
    quad socket nehalem EX (64 threads) minimum 24GB of ram, and two of those in SLI.
    Oh and 8 256GB SSD's in raid.
    and then buy me one.


    anything less would starve this card of its required awesome factor.
    (and dont forget the 3000W PSU)
  3. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Has anyone still not noticed the unrealistic clocks?
  4. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,172 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    Dang. youve got an oil rig at the back o yer house? :p
  5. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,392 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    633
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    We're too caught up in the awesomeness tornado!!!! WHIRL WHIRL WHIRL!
  6. wolf2009 Guest

    Voltage tweaked probably.

    There could be other reasons too, like change in stock cooler, using WC or something.
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,942 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,364
    if you think its a tornado now, wait til people start getting 4 of em in a PC :p WHIRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR goes the fans.
  8. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,392 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    633
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Time to strap a box fan to the side of your case :D

    "Yeah, my case is cooled entirely by one fan"
  9. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,201 (11.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,572
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    Yes, those clocks are unreal for that cooler.
    Last edited: May 28, 2009
  10. kyle2020 Guest

    I suspect water / Dice pot on that with some daft voltage tweaks. Its like they do with car adverts - "the brand new Ford Crazymobile from only £6,995" - They show you a model with gorgeous alloys, metallic paint, a sporty looking spoiler, yet the small print says "Model shown Ghia 1337 model starting from £9,995". Its just a way of tempting buyers in.
  11. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,678 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    You think it has dice on it? You don't customize cards before you buy them though. I bet its air/water with voltage tweaks, and if it runs hot... *shrugs.
    Last edited: May 28, 2009
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,942 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,364
    alright i'm going to admit this, due to a little confusion.

    is this just a custom 285, or is this a DUAL 285 - four GPU's. cause the screenshot says 4 GPU's on the GPU-Z page.
  13. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,632 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,363
    the screenshot says 4 because two of these cards are running in quad sli. imagine this cards physical appeareance like a gtx 295
    Mussels and GSG-9 say thanks.
  14. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,678 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    Good question, 4 would be rather insane, I thought a 285 had 2 physical gpus though, I only see 2 gpus on the die.
  15. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,402 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,189
    some what true but there are small differences between th 512mb > 1024mb cards & it all depends on how you run your games. from my understanding running with 16xAA is better with a 1024mb card due to the space available to buffer/store all the textures.

    Depending on the resolutions, settings u play at & also games. you may see upto 3-5fps increase. but for performance boosts on anything above 1024mb then thats still debatable but from what I have read it hardly makes any difference at all unless u play at super high resolutions on a 40-60" monitor. - its all debatable.
    werez says thanks.
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,942 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,364
    512MB to 1GB isnt about gaining FPS, its preventing the sudden slideshow when you run out.

    Run a gaming PC with 4GB of ram and drop to 1GB - everything goes slow and stuttery when you run out. its not about boosting FPS over 512MB cards, its about preventing the slowdown when you run out of memory.

    same goes for 2/4GB cards.
  17. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,632 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,363
    that's what can happen if you give the card to hardcore pro overclocker who's not afraid of the rma department. and no i doubt he's not using air. note how it says "done by kinc"

    edit: lolforgot to insert a "not"
    Last edited: May 28, 2009
  18. kinc ASUS Representative

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    16 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    This is with liquid nitrogen thermal solution installed on the cards. I didnt have time to insluate well enough so cards are only running -40C with 1.175V set via software (up from 1.15V). There is headroom :)

    [​IMG]
    Scrizz, Cold Storm, El Fiendo and 3 others say thanks.
  19. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,632 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,363
  20. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Well now that explains it :rolleyes:

    Any chance of a real world bench (i.e stock clocks? Or Air OC?)

    Maybe just one card?

    That pic screams of e-penis.
  21. Polarman

    Polarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,627 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Rimouski
    My guess too. You see 1/1000 on the picture.

    Makes me remember of the 1950XTX Uber edition that had ony 500 card made.
  22. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,635 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    Jizzler says thanks.
  23. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,942 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,364
    thanks man. good to see you around these parts.
  24. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,678 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    Yeah kyle2020 suggested dice, I was kinda questioning the suggestion since there was not space for it. It makes me oogle though.
  25. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,664 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,838
    [​IMG]

    Why do I have to be broke?!?!
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page