1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASUS Designs Own Monster Dual-GTX 285 4 GB Graphics Card

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, May 28, 2009.

  1. Roph

    Roph

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    377 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    How much power will this beast suck up?
  2. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    Im sure this has already been replied to, but it is 2x2gb, each GPU addressing only 2, meaning there are 2 different pots of memory. 32-bit will address the whole 4GB, unless i've missed something.
  3. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,125 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    32 bit applications have a 2GB address space limit per application, so... no. Sure, you'll have 2GB for the card and 2GB usable for the OS, but once it starts duplicating into ram (assuming you're using a DX9 app, 32 bit OS likely means XP) then you're totally screwed.
  4. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    I see your point, here are my counterpoints:

    It is like saying that a total of 3.2 GB of ram can only be addressed. So if you already have 3GB of ram, you can only address .2GB of your graphics card ram?
    Also, who ever needs more than 3.2GB in any game? im sure no game needs more than 2GB at its max.

    Im sure you are probably right, but it just doesnt seem right. If it is per application, it is just bad programming, as games can, and have before, ran as more than 1 application (check "processes" tab on your games)
  5. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,477 (3.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,103
    Nice to meet you Kinc, I'm glad to see an Asus rep here. Any chance for more pics? :toast:
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,125 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    check the link in my sig and take the conversation over there.
  7. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    As said before, you have more knowledge than I on this matter, ill take your word for it:toast:
  8. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,752 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,466
    did nobody read the link?

    any normal app won't need access to the full video memory. you tell directx, "give me that", and you get a memory pointer back to the object. then you do the same with the next object. vista/directx are smart enough to shuffle stuff around, and use memory pages so you can use all these 2 gb.
    Scrizz says thanks.
  9. werez

    werez New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    298 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Romania
    Yes .
    Picture this . I`m an average gamer that goes for the "gameplay" and not for the "eyecandy"
    I do own a high end video card ( well it was kinda high end when i bought it ) Sapphire Radeon HD 4870 2GB version . Now , i game at different resolutions depending on the game .
    I`m playing Counter-strike ( yes , i`m oldschool) , Fifa , Crysis , Unreal Tournament , COD4 , COD5 , Starcraft and so on . Fifa , Starcraft and Counter-strike don`t use the true power of my video card since , Starcraft is 2d , Counter-strike works on really lower end video cards . Now lets talk about Crysis . Ok , all settings high , higher resolution , you name it .
    There is absolutely no difference between my video card , and the card a friend owns , a Sapphire Radeon HD 4870 1GB version in 1920x1200 with AA enabled . Now if people are buying a video card with 4 Gb of ram , i believe they are not playing Counter-strike , Day of Defeat or Starcraft . If you are going to buy that card to be "future proof" to play games based on engines like Crysis uses , you won`t have any performance increase. You need better GPU . 2 fps more in Crysis are not noticeable . However in Cod4 you will probably get 10 fps more at a higher resolution , but that won`t really matter since you already get 100 and you can`t see any difference . Now , in the EU the ASUS ENGTX295 is about 430E , but the starting pricepoint was 460 . Extra 2gb`s of GDDR3 and a custom cooler design increases manufacturing costs . Don`t forget that Asus has a higher price on the market than other competitors...
    If a GTX295 was 460 Euros , i expect this card to be around 550-560 . So you pay extra money for that cool looking plastic shroud ? Well what happens when you realize you need a water block for your card ? that shroud must come off right ?
    I believe Asus just wanted to show the world they can do more to improve a reference video card , other manufacturers can do that two but they don`t , because they know that 2gb extra ram are useless . Asus knows that too since they are just giving 1000 pieces away , don`t you think ?
    Sorry for my bad English , but i hope you get the point ...
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,125 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    i did. it doesnt use the full memory, but only whats required. but if you ask it to use 2GB of textures in a 32 bit app, somethings gotta give.

    you have a better understanding than i do, cause you've programmed 3D apps. You're the w1zzard damnit, its not fair to argue with you. you need to share your knowledge more!
  11. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    WoW werez...
    regardless of the addressing, I dont see using that much any time soon until modern warfare 2 or a round of 8 player BGH on stacraft II.
  12. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,752 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,466
    nobody has a single 3d object that consumes 2 GB of memory. so you have lots of small thingies that are processed individually. imagine how you move ALL that is in your apartment and takes up so much space through the little door when moving
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,125 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    i can imagine an epic fail.

    so to summarise your analogy: its not like its going to suck from the get go, but once the address space limit is full up, things are going to slow down until you got the old furniture out and the new furniture in.

    Running x64 here just gives you a bigger door.
  14. werez

    werez New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    298 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Romania
    I think we are forgetting something :
    RV870 , DirectX11 are just around the corner . Nvidia is moving to GDDR5 . Gpu`s are currently hitting 1000MHZ . Imagine the performance boost . So do we need 4GB VRAM ? how do we benefit from that ? we don`t ... This is like the last line of defense , other manufacturers won`t respond to this "monstrosity" . A stock GTX295 is more than you need . And like i first said , two GTX 275 in SLI , will be a better solution to improve performance , and you will save money .
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,125 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    if no one ever came out with top models with ridiculous amounts of ram, we'd all still be on 16MB cards werez.
  16. Kitkat New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    768 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    sounds cool but also sounds pointless havent we been down this road to see no real result and only bragging rights.

    Thats funny I thought there place was childish arguments with intel??? :)
  17. werez

    werez New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    298 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Romania
    yes , but i can play Counter-strike with my 16mb video card , and it`s still the most played game out there , isnt it ? :)
    That was my point , Mussels ...
    Last edited: May 28, 2009
  18. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,680 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    :)

    Sadly I think its surpassed by wow these days, and you have to count 1.5-/1.6/CS:CZ/CSS all separately, you cant count them as the same product. I love cs...
  19. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    He kinda has a point, I can play crysis full settings 1920x1200 at 20+ FPS on my 4870 while having warcraft III in the background. 512 MB ram. 4GB isnt really needed. 2GB isnt really needed. By the time you need any more than 1.5GB of VRAM, the GTX295 will be obsolete like the 7950GX2.
  20. Weer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,417 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    New York / Israel
    Calling it a "Limited Edition" card = They can charge a boat for it.
  21. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,381 (11.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,608
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    I agree. 2x GTX 285 + digital PWM + 2x memory + third-party bridge chip..should cost something.
  22. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,752 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,466
    usually i am convinced that there is no point in going 2 GB VRAM. simply because any card would be too slow (fps wise) at such settings. no difference between 7 and 14 fps.. both isnt playable. with this card however, there might be chance that we could see some benefits.

    only exception might be gta4 which seems to benefit nicely from more memory even at less demanding resolutions/AA. read: shit engine. not to mention the extremely gay DRM - i boycott it for benchmarks
    Mussels says thanks.
  23. Weer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,417 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    New York / Israel
    That's not completely false, but think 2560x1600. It needs 1024MB to run @ 20FPS. Now, are you going to get 20 FPS running Crysis @ 2560x1600 on this card? Yes. So, 1024-1536MB has a point. And the extra 512MB is always good to have.. sandbox editors, running multiple games, games that have texture issues that take up tons of RAM but look great.. I know all the issues that exist because I have an 8800 GTS 512. A card that had too little vRAM.
  24. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    Now you know why there is extreme piracy...

    @ weer: But 2560x1600 is rare and hardly anyone uses it...I bet you rich ppl wont buy those screens until they're more popular...
  25. Weer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,417 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    New York / Israel
    Oh no, I just meant the two words. Pricey!

    But this is technically how it goes. In order to produce a card better than the maximum, they'd have to call it something of a "Limited Edition", because otherwise no one would buy the "regular" GTX 295. Now that they have that title.. they can go wild.. and they have.

    Do you remember the "Limited Edition" X1950XTX Limited-Crossfire-Edition? I'm sure you know when it came out. Two super-charged X1950XTX's in both looks and performance, with the best GDDR4, that came in a collector's silver-brushed metallic case, and cost about twice the price of the already not-worth-it X1950XTX.

    But this card is definitely worth it.. for me and everyone else who wants to game this summer without waiting for GTX 380. If it costs 600$, I'll get it. But it's extremely unlikely, says me.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page