1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASUS EAH 4850 512MB HDMI installation problem "Can not find graphics card" error

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Pbow, Dec 8, 2008.

  1. Pbow New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    4850 512MB HDMI installation problem "Can not find graphics card" error

    hello reader,

    i have just bought the ASUS EAH 4850 512MB DDR3 HDMI g-card and this error pops up when i log in, "Can not find ASUS graphics card"...I have hooked everything up right (i think).

    i was under the impression that i could just put the g-card in and load the drivers/utilities from the cd provided. since i received the "can not find asus g-card" i have done a lot of research on where i could have gone wrong. i think the issue has to do with the BIOS. i tried asus trouble shooting, but the my issue is that my BIOS doesnt look like the one they are trouble shooting for. does any1 know what i need to turn on in order for the motherboard to know the g-card is their...what area would the g-card appear in the BIOS? im not that computer savvy when it comes to the BIOS. im sure its something easy that a person with more computer experience would know where to look...if you have read this far could some1 please let me know what step i have skipped or what step i need to take to get the g-card up and running. Sorry if this is a dumb question, but im a little lost when it comes to messing with the BIOS

    my current spec's are: Intel(R) Core(TM) 2 Duo CPU E8500 @ 3.16GHz 3.17 GHz, 3.24 GB of RAM WinXP


    thanks for taking the time to read
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2008
  2. Pbow New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    any1 have an idea?
  3. InfDamarvel New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    500 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Does the error really say that?
    So Im assuming your still getting some sort of display?
    Whats motherboard are you using?
    Are you using Catalyst drivers?

    I have no clue how its saying it cannot find the ASUS card...Im assuming your using some sort of ASUS driver since it knows it looking for ASUS hardware.

    Id try uninstalling the whatever driver you installed from the CD and going to the AMD/ATI site and getting the most recent catalyst drivers 8.11 (or 8.12 in two days). Id never advise using drivers from the CD unless your card is no properly supported by the mainstream drivers.
  4. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,789 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    662
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Did you plug the 6 pin power cable into the card!!and is it seated all the way in correctly?
    Could use some more info on your system
  5. human_error

    human_error

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,722 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    458
    You shouldn't need to do any BIOS modifications to get the machine to recognise the graphics card.

    I'd take the card out of the pci-e slot, blow into the slot to make sure there isn't any dust or anything else covering any of the pins and when you put teh card back in make sure it is in nice and snugly. You need to have a power cable plugged into the card as well from your PSU, make sure that is in nice and snug too.

    When you've checked it is seated properly start your machine up, go into start menu>control panel> device manager for windows xp,
    start>control panel> system and maintenance> device manager for windows vista.
    Once in the device manager you should see the "display adapters" section, expand that and report what it sais, also expand the "unknown devices" section and say if there is anything in there.

    Would be helpful to see what motherboard, power supply and operating system you are using as well.
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2008
  6. Pbow New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i am unable to load Catalyst drivers from cd or their webpage. when i try and load them theres an error message that pops up, "unable to find components that can be installed on your current hardware or software configuration. Please make sure you have the required hardware."

    other computer info:

    -ASUS P5E-VM DO LGA 775 Intel Q35 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard
    -ABS Tagan ITZ Series ITZ800-V2 800W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Certified CrossFire Ready Active PFC Power Supply
    -Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale 3.16GHz LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor Model BX80570E8500
    -G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model F2-6400CL5D-4GBPQ
    -Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3750640AS 750GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive -
    -Microsoft Windows XP Professional SP3 English for System Builders 1 Pack CD
    -Rosewill RCX-Z775-EX 92mm 2 Ball CPU Cooler


    this error is poping up b/c the smartdoc has been loaded and cant find it
    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2008
  7. Pbow New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

    btw...love the name

    Everything is pluged in correctly (have a PCI-E cord from my power supply going to the card and i assume that is the only thing that needs to be pluged into it.)

    another note: the fan on the g-card is running and when i turn on the computer the 2 red lights on it flash

    -there were no "unknown devices"
    -display adapters: Intel(R) Q35 Express Chipset Family

    here is a pic of the device manager...save it and throught it into power point to make later.
    [​IMG]

    thank you readers for trying to help me.
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2008
  8. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,096 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,265
    Location:
    Kansas
    The vidcard should be under graphics adapters. Is the monitor plugged into the graphics card?

    You may also try disabling the Onboard graphics in your BIOS.
  9. Pbow New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i dont have a "graphics adapter" in my device manager. and i do have a monitor in the card...the question i then have is if i turn off the onboard graphics in the BIOS will my monitor no longer display anything? and i have also checked in the BIOS for the card it is running from and im having trouble finding it...what term will the g-card be under?
  10. lucasweir

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,231 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Oakland County, MI
    turn off integrated graphics in your bios and then it should let you chose to choose pci-express for graphics or something similar
  11. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,480 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,990
    Im with Lucas and Don on this one. Under "Display adapter" I see and intel chipset, which to me means onboard graphics. As he says turn of onboard in bios and hook the monitor to the card and not the other port that the onboard runs from.
  12. Pbow New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ty for the quick response...im not that savvy when it comes to the BIOS...i was just looking at it and i was wondering which option i should choose.

    Advanced tab:
    -North Britge Chipset Config.
    -Initiate Graphic Adapter: its currently listed as [IGD]
    the options are PCI/IGD, PCI/PEG, PEG/IGD, PEG/PCI
    -Internal Graphics Mode Select: [Enabled, 8MB]
    -PEG Port Control: [Auto]
    -PEG Port Force x1: [Disabled]

    im guessing this is the area you guys are referring to
  13. kingkongtol

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    70 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Jogja, Indonesia Republic
    internal graphics mode set to disabled, then look at back your pc, unplug dvi/analog cable from your monitor, then plug it in to your asus videocard right below your mobo i/o
  14. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,480 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,990
    set the bold area to PCI/PEG and exit bios, after this is done take the monitor cable and hook it to on of the DVI ports on the actual card.
    lucasweir says thanks.
  15. Pbow New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thank you all for the help...im going to try this 1st thing when i get home from work.
  16. InfDamarvel New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    500 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Yea looks like you need to disable your onboard graphics card first. Remember to always post your specs in your profile in order for people to further understand your hardware.
  17. Pbow New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thank you all again for the help...i got it up and running last night
  18. Yeong New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    sorry...im facing the same problem with you..popping up "cannot find ASUS graphic card" when start up windows..so wat gonna to do right now?
    thanks..

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page