1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASUS FSB1600 Next-gen Processor Support List

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Feb 2, 2008.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    If you're an ASUS motherboard owner and you're wondering if it will support the latest Intel 1600MHz FSB 45nm processors, the chart below will answer your question. ASUS has unleashed the list of its motherboards that will officially support FSB1600.

    [​IMG]

    Source: ASUS
  2. Demos_sav

    Demos_sav New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    877 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Cyprus
    No Striker II Formula?
  3. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,934 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,334
    Hmm Intel Chipsets, I guess your better off with them over Nvidia Chipsets, those with SLI are SOL unless if you upgrade from a 680i to a 780 (which is stupid since the 780 i only boasts a higher FSB.
  4. magibeg

    magibeg

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    Phew, i'm so glad to see my motherboard on that list. Not that it makes a particularly big difference but it makes me feel better.
  5. tomkaten

    tomkaten

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    69 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5

    QFT. P5K SE owner, really didn't think this little board would make that list, but, like you said, it does make me feel better :toast:
  6. Demos_sav

    Demos_sav New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    877 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Cyprus
    Not unless you want to go SLI:wtf:
  7. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,173 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,397
    I'm in there,niiice.That means no changing boards just for a new chip.
  8. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,354 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    392
    But people will be forced to change once the new Nehalem procs come out which is in what, end of 08 or beginning of 09? Means that upgrading will be a bit more expensive since DDR3 will be going down in price and hence the move from DDR2 to DDR3 is imminent :shadedshu
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2008
  9. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,173 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,397
    I dont mind,at least i can keep this board for a while longer than usual,and ddr3 is the natural progression.Same as from ddr1 to ddr2.
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,931 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,357
    YES my boards on there :D

    i wondered about this, being 400FSB native thats the limit my board OC's to - some people were saying the latest bios's can go over 500... woot!

    oh and yes, intel chipsets ftw. nvidia ones never work with future gens.
  11. HaZe303

    HaZe303 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    305 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Sweden (08-Stockholm)
    My is on 1600fsb already, SO I was pretty sure my board would be in that list. But as already said by others, its nice to be in that list officially. Intel 45nm, here I come. Release the quad cpu´s already!!!
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,931 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,357
    the difference is that now, automatic/default settings work with those CPU's.

    the latest bios for my board (earlier model of yours) now supports 400 FSB on auto settings - as opposed to needing rather large voltage boosts and tweaks.
  13. mikek75

    mikek75 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,371 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    Chippenham, Wilts, United Kingdom
    I'm using this new BIOS on my Vanilla P5K, be warned it changes the terminology of quite a few options in the "Jumper Free" section. Havent been able to clock my board any higher, there seems to be a hard ceiling of 425 FSB for me. One good thing though is that the memory timings are shown on the main page, good for a quick glance at where you're at.
  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,931 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,357
    the only changes i noted

    timings are shown in an easier format (as mike said)

    Voltage damper (anti Vdroop) and speedstep are now in the one setting - turning on the damper, disables speedstep (wise move, as the two conflicted)

    Thirdly, theres now a 400 option in the FSB strap (previously it was 200/266/333 only)

    lastly... the 'FSB voltage' now has a description, saying 1.40v is the minimum for 45nm CPU's - max is 1.5 Crank it to 1.5 if you want to break 400 FSB :)
  15. rampage

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,050 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
    i knew this for a while with my mobo, but its sweet now its offical, pity i corupted my bios flashing it :(
  16. choppy

    choppy

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,173 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    UK
    these are p35 based mobo's, so is there any word on gigabyte doing the same thing?
  17. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,851 (8.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,384
    Im not giving up my 939 X24200+ until its on the minimum spec list for AAA games. I mean with the exception of Crysis I can run everything maxed out at 1680x1050. Whats the point.
  18. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,931 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,357
    imo, any amd above 2.6GHz is still good enough. The only exceptions being crysis, supreme commander, and video encoding.

    Look at it this way: dont you wish a bios flash would let you run AM2 duals/quads? its all about future proofing, and it makes me happy i got one of the few good boards.


    You are the god of killing hardware
  19. evil bill New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    370 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Scotland
    hang on a minute - what are the 1600Mhz FSB 45nm chips? I thought the Wolfdale/Yorkfields were 1333Mhz, and the next CPUs up were the Nehalems which will be on a different socket? Have I missed a memo? :eek:
  20. Bundy

    Bundy

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,121 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    ok I understand that these boards have menu support for 400fsb. I currently run that now but my board isnt on the list (as mentioned above). Will I be able to run the new processors or not?
  21. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,931 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,357
    Nvidia chipset, so probably not.

    The key difference is that you cant auto detect and run one - you'd need to put another CPU in, set all settings to the ones you use for 400FSB and then swap them over. Any time the CMOS resets, you'd need another, supported, CPU again.

    (assuming this works, theres no guarantees)

    Just like conroe was 1066 and went 1333, i assume some of these 1333 chips will have a refresh and go 1600. I beleive this refresh is the last CPU's we'll see before nehalem and the socket change.
    evil bill says thanks.
  22. evil bill New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    370 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Scotland
    ah - actually, I see the QX9770 is on a 1600Mhz FSB so what you say makes sense. Thanks.
  23. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,382 (5.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,320
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    And Tri SLi!! ;)
  24. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    That does include a good bit of their motherboards they released for the Intel and Intel C2ds.
  25. Dos101

    Dos101

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    558 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    I was wondering the same thing, the QX9770 and a few upcoming Xeons are 1600Mhz FSb but that's all I've been able to find out. Perhaps increasing the FSB is only for a select few quad cores coming out soon?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page