1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASUS GeForce GTX 470 Fermi ENGTX470/2DI/1280MD5

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by W1zzard, Apr 16, 2010.

  1. RONX GT

    RONX GT New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    50 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Dhaka,Bangladesh.
    Can it reach 1 GHz? Would like to see the upcoming GTX 460 more energy efficient and reasonably priced to compete against the HD 5850...But for now....:toast:
     
  2. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,586 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    534
    Location:
    California
    lol? 1GHz?

    40% overclock? :laugh:
     
  3. wahdangun

    wahdangun New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,512 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    indonesia ku tercinta
    wow, great review wizz, now i will wait for HD 5850 price drop, let's competition begin
     
  4. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16,119 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,545
    added info about voltage increase via smartdoctor to the oc section
     
    Parad0x says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Parad0x New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    58 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Bucharest ROMANIA
    Too bad that the max vgpu is 1.087V, same as msi's afterburner. You think this is a software or hardware limitation?
     
  6. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16,119 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,545
    the voltage regulator doesnt support i2c, only vid input. afterburner and smartdoctor both use nvidia's driver to set the voltage, and 1.087 is the highest the driver allows
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. arnoo1

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    751 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I think it's already time for gtx475 and gtx 485
    gtx 275 was way better than gtx 260 more power, less power consumption
    the same for gtx 280 vs gtx285
    and 250 euro's is a nice price for gtx 470
    I will wait
    gtx275 is still fine for me

    Edit
    great review wizz
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2010
  8. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,210 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    665
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    same shit different name, another over heat card in GTX4xx

    thanx w1zzard that was great review as always
     
  9. Isty New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    In Sweden the 470 costs as much as the 5870 (3700 swedish crowns, ~515 dollars) so there's no reason to even look at the 470.

    For the 480 you will get 5850x2 :)
     
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    44,819 (10.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,011
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    apart from the price, this seems decent.

    power consumption is a little high, but its still acceptable for a high performance card
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,969 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    662
    Just ordered this one today! Only doubt is if the 'voltage control' by Asus does make any sense?
    (Somewhere I read the 'standard' GFX470 does not have any voltage control)
     
  12. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,657 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    London
    erixx says thanks.
  13. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,969 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    662
    Increible! PR-bs caught me! lol. So Asus just offers their own software and maybe (?) better BIOS...
    This time I just want the best brand with best options, and not waste my time like with Gigabyte 585OC.
     
  14. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,657 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    London
    Increible pero cierto. :)
     
  15. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,969 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    662
    ahhaha!
     
  16. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,969 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    662
    i changed the stock thermal paste for artic cooling #3 and my idle temps are 39-40!!! That's 8 less than the review. (and no I am not running airco :)
     
  17. HardSide New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    You using a watercooler? I've seen reviews say its 80-90 idle. Yet you claiming half the temperature.
     
  18. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    22,795 (5.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,701
    I have yet to see a review claim 80-90°C idle, load maybe, but not idle.

    And yes, with all the gunk they slather on the card at the factory, simply removing it and putting the TIM on properly, even with generic TIM, can greatly effect temps.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  19. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,969 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    662
    lol... If only full load (80ºC) was cooler, otherwise I WILL be running airco soon, for me!!!! 8)

    Another interesting fact is that with the Radeon 5850, during Furmark, the temps would climb, climb, climb and reach more than 100 ºC...

    Well, with this 470, the temp reaches 88 aprox, and the fan speeds up and the temp stays under 90 forever.... at the price of a jet engine sound....
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)