1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASUS GeForce GTX 590 3072 MB

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by W1zzard, Mar 22, 2011.

  1. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,520 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    634
    Location:
    AZ
    but I likes pictures. lol

    ah

     
  2. MicroUnC

    MicroUnC

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    253 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Israel
    I'll be oc'ing only CPU!
     
  3. temp02 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    493 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    166
    How embarrassing... and thats really all I have to say about this fai... erm... card.
     
  4. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,237 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,153
    Location:
    Granite Bay, CA
    I would still suggest something closer to 1000W. My personal favorites are Corsair or Enermax. Feel free to make a new thread, though.
     
  5. MicroUnC

    MicroUnC

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    253 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Israel
    nah.... that's it!

    thanks man:)
     
  6. Animalpak

    Animalpak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,247 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    646
    Location:
    Switzerland
    soo rumors about a revision ??
     
  7. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,803 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    283
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    No it came from one of the 8 pin power plugs on the card. if it was the Mobo the cpu fan and memory all that area would be like Wizz`s 590 up in smoke.
     
  8. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,237 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,153
    Location:
    Granite Bay, CA
    The video linked from the Swedish overclocking site also suggests that the resistor blew, which sits right next to the 8-pin plugs. W1zz took it one step further and blew out a mosfet as well, though.
     
  9. alexsubri

    alexsubri

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    Wizz's PSU before testing GTX 590
    [​IMG]

    Wizz's PSU after testing GTX 590
    [​IMG]
     
    Ev1LrYu says thanks.
  10. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    11,688 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,991
    No it isn't. I get your point though, and I still don't see it as that bad. :p
     
  11. MicroUnC

    MicroUnC

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    253 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Israel
    What happaned to Nvidia could happen to anyone, This doesn't make GTX 590 a bad card, or a failure for the company. Besides GTX 590 was produced & will be shipped in limited quantities.

    Intel had faulty P67 chipset so what?

    And i admit that ATi is a winner here. But i'am still getting the card! cus i support them.

    And both company's are great.
     
  12. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,803 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    283
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    Wizz could the problem be a bad batch of mosfet`s and resistors ? Like they had to use old stock from somewhere ? If that is the case would ASUS and Nvidia wait until Japan is back up and running ...minus the extra radiation power ? Very interesting card to say the least ,It performs to what i was expecting but was also expecting it to overclock better.
     
  13. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,625
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    @W1zz ... Why on the Power Consumption page does the text for idle still say "Windows Vista Aero sitting at desktop" ?
    Should be 7, no?
     
  14. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    21,603 (6.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,501
    The problem is that they are inconsistant even if we assume the reasoning is true.

    Again, I'll use the Crysis Warhead benchmark.

    For the GTX580 SLi, they raised the shaders to Enthusiast. But for the HD6990 they left the shaders at Gamer and instead raised the AA. If GTX580 SLI can run with enthusiast shaders, and get 30FPS which they consider "playable" then the HD6990 should have been able to do the same, considering they raised AA with that card and it still have 35FPS. Why didn't they increase the shaders instead of AA?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  15. Dumachi New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    1.2v is taking he pee abit aint it?
     
  16. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,543 (7.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,061
    alexsubri and yogurt_21 say thanks.
  17. laszlo

    laszlo

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    902 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    66 feet from the ground
    nice review;i suspect nvidia clocked the cards to this "stock" speed just to avoid the kind of damage occurred during oc.
     
  18. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    11,688 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,991
    But there was no damage when overclocked, it occured when changing voltage.
     
  19. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,622 (3.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,252
    wow .. you're the first to notice this since i changed my test system to windows 7 .. fixed! thanks

    i dont consider it an unrealistic setting, people are going to tweak this, and with power capping technology they (and i) think "i'll be safe anyway"
     
    yogurt_21 says thanks.
  20. laszlo

    laszlo

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    902 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    66 feet from the ground
    lol and why u change voltage if not for oc?
     
  21. D4S4

    D4S4

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    697 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    hahahhaha i loled so hard when i read *boom* :D
     
  22. 6626 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Seems like it is slower than 2x570 SLI and probably 2x560 SOC SLI but costs more.

    No point in 6990 and 590 cards unless you plan to run two of them for quad SLI.
     
  23. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,979 (6.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,912
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    guys out of the the million nvidia is making. just because this one card blew up on wizz doesnt mean every other card will. Ill take the 590 over the 6990 in the sacrafice of the 2-3% for the cooler running card, a little bit more efficient, and quieter card.
     
  24. rflair New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    119 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    The 6990 is the more efficient and cooler card, its fan however makes it noisier.
     
  25. N3M3515

    N3M3515

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    463 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Because increasing the shaders would have caused a larger performance hit than raising AA(as i understand they have diff architectures amd/nvidia, so what affects one, may not affect the other.).
    imho('cause i didn`t do the tests)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page