1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASUS GeForce GTX 590 3072 MB

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by W1zzard, Mar 22, 2011.

  1. Akrian

    Akrian

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    170 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Edit.
    Nevermind I've finally looked at 720p -> it is the card. lol
  2. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,981 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,861
    Good going Green Goblin!!!! Oh and great review as always W1zz :respect:

    The Green team is rushing again to catch up with AMD (ATI) :shadedshu... :cool:
  3. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,981 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,861
  4. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
  5. Airbrushkid

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    171 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    From what I am reading on other sites the GTX 590 is under clocked. So I do beleive it is faster then the 6990. And the power draw from other sites did a comparison between the GTX 590 and the GTX 570 in SLI. The GTX 570's In SLI took more power then the GTX 590. I believe the GTX 590 uses 2 GTX 570 chips.

    One other thing only one other site had a problem with the fire thing. So out of all the other reviews only 2 had the problem.
  6. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,883 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    374
    Location:
    Singapore
    Nope on all of the above. Go back and do more reading :p

    Ok I am back in the game. Is this image the easter egg? Because we have never before seen a glimpse of Wiz's test system in a review.
    [​IMG]
  7. DeathByTray New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    63 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Well guys, you can mock the card all you want but fact is, the GTX 590 gives the best bang for the buck.
  8. Airbrushkid

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    171 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    You don't know> That is what the new GTX 590's have now they light up when there's not enough power.



  9. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,152 (5.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,957
    Location:
    Home
    Its quite hard to detect sarcasm in the internet, so I think we all can do with less. And if its not, what kind of pot are you smoking to think that GTX590 gives the best bang for buck?
    Jack Doph says thanks.
  10. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,172 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    Probably a divisible by 8 bug. Normally happens on console ports. Bulletstorm had this effect wherein it runs crap on 1680x1050. Because 1050 is not divisible by 8. Making a custom resolution of 1680x1048 would probably fix this.
    JATownes says thanks.
  11. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,780 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    265
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    Easter Egg Wizz got a new display toy ?

    LG Flatron W3000H 30" 2560x1600 sponsored by Zotac this mean we get a GPUZ contest too ?
    :nutkick: Also drivers had nothing to do with the card going pop he used 267.71 driver.
  12. DeathByTray New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    63 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    It's called pun.
    Best bang for buck

    Didn't think I'd have to explain that one.
    Goodman, HXL492, Mussels and 4 others say thanks.
  13. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,882 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    447
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    Northern lights? I dunno
    I read that sarcasm from across the obvious room...
    I'll always remember this card as the Bang for your buck LuLzzz.
  14. Jonap_1st

    Jonap_1st New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    288 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    South Green Jakarta
    bring those goddamn 460 2win already !! :banghead:
  15. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,541 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    beast of a card but it seems so limited for such a high end product. I'd like to see non reference cards with more power phases and perhaps even another pci-e power connecter just to be sure.

    for the time being though, I think there is a lot of potential for a GF114 SLi on a stick card, preferably with 2gb each. from a few reviews where they are also tested, theyre not far behind the 590 in stock trim, clock them @ 900mhz, give them 2gb each and it will likely still consume less power.
  16. oblivionfall New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  17. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,152 (5.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,957
    Location:
    Home
    All puns and sarcasm are hard to detect in the interwebs, so please add a /pun or /sarcasm tag to it next time for the benefit of linguistically handicapped people :toast:
  18. rflair New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    119 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
  19. Harlequin_uk New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    123 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    UK
    so , you shove 1.2v up its ass , it blows up and then you blame nvidia? 1.2 is alot for a stock 580 (they blow up on XS with that) but again your blaming nv? bs.
  20. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,928 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,356
    the card is advertised as that being a supported feature. Also, nvidia claimed to have drivers with power throttling to prevent that exact situation.
  21. brendonmc New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    It looks like graphics card performance is being held back more by game developers. Probably be able to dust off the old Geforce 4200 soon.....if only it were PCI-E!!

    Interesting too that these cards don't overload one PCI-E slot.
  22. brendonmc New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Or do they??? Perhaps this is why they are so close....
  23. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,172 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    Good thing theyve migrated from the TnT naming, and 'detonator' drivers.

    I guess all those who preordered will have a blast with their new toy.
    D4S4 says thanks.
  24. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,479
    You're right, game devs are holding back PC graphics, unfortunately. Also, the 40nm process is running into the brick wall of power dissipation and heat. We need 28nm asap.

    And no, these cards cannot overload the PCI-E slot, or they'd burn out your mobo. Therefore, they take all the extra juice from the PCI-E connectors.

    Oh and welcome to TPU. :toast:
  25. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,630 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,360
    i run a lot more voltage through other cards during testing and this never happens .. on gtx 590 with nvidia's power capping feature which is designed for that purpose it doesnt work. i think it's my obligation to tell you, no ?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page