1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASUS HD4850 High Pitch Noise

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by r9, Feb 2, 2009.

  1. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Just put my new ASUS HD4850. And I noticed that when is in 3dmode and when is displaying High FPS it is buzzing. I noticed this with HD3850 and 4830 (which died after 3 min High FPS and High Pitch noice ) not happening with 9800GT. I`m afraid that if a live it for longer time to buzz that it will die. I know that buzzing is provable coming from Caps or Coils on the VGA.
    Why is only happening with ATI cads ?
    Does any one else has VGA that Buzz when at high FPS ?
    How do I limit FPS some thing like below 200 ?
    And I opened Bios with RBE why - "Core Clock Info 00" for voltage is saying "---" and not displaying stock voltage for that setting ?
    Max Voltage that is allowing RBE to set is 1.158V is this High Voltage for stock cooling (for Stock: idle 44 load 55-60 @ stock Volts 750/1075)
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,959 (12.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,383
    Could be a bad component of the card leaking electicity. Personally, I would return it. Perhaps you should see what the manufacturer says about it.
     
    r9 says thanks.
  3. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    choke prolly
     
    r9 says thanks.
  4. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    I don`t think that all are damaged MSI 3850, Force3D 4830(this is damaged:D) and ASUS 4850. They are different Manufacturer and different model. And I had 9600GSO and 9800GT and they dont buzz. And there is no one that I can ask that would know. I have no problem on returning it because a work in a PC shop but I`m tired of switching cards. I was hoping this would be the last GPU for I while.
     
  5. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Some how I think that if I get another 4850 that it will buzz again. And how to limit FPS ? And what about voltage part of question ?
     
  6. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,801 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    New York
    The only time I have seen this on ATI's cards is when they are being under powered.
     
    r9 says thanks.
  7. Exavier

    Exavier New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    982 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Bath, UK
    happens even on PERFECTLY FINE cards don't waste time RMAing it.
    happens on my 4870X2 it's just electricity passing through capacitors or choke coils.
    take your cooler off and cover the PCB in clear nail varnish and it'll get rid of most/all the squealing.
    I only notice mine now because I'm watercooling my PC, but with soundproofing I don't hear it.
     
    r9 says thanks.
  8. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    I don`t have case and my PC is on the desk beside me so I can loudly hear buzzing. I would hope that it is OK. But from experience P7N buzzed and it died 4830 buzzed loudly and it died after 3 min gaming. I tryed every thing at stock CPU VGA all I tryed second power connector for VGA and it is the same. I`m going to try to limit max FPS because Videos in games it reaches 1000 FPS and buzz is very loud. Still waiting on 1.154Vcore gpu.
     
  9. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Something is killing them.. No way you got 3 products with defective coils. Do you know who OEM's your Glacial PSU? It looks like it's got good specs but so does a Rosewill 1000w..
     
    r9 says thanks.
  10. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    clear nail varnish I`m not too sure about that. That does not transfer electricity ?
     
  11. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Do you know who OEM's your Glacial PSU? - Who is manufacturing PSUs for Gtech ?
    And I have voltmeter on the PSU and it has stable rails no voltage raise or drop it is not heating when loaded no smell it looks solid.
    And whats the thing with Rosewill PSU I`m not familiar I`m reading some comments on newegg ?
     
  12. Exavier

    Exavier New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    982 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Bath, UK
    no, and it is not a real threat in terms of heat insulation but does help in terms of blocking the squeal.
     
  13. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,948 (4.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,029
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I have to agree with shadow. I think you are underpowered, or have "dirty" power going to the card. You should try another PSU.
     
    r9 says thanks.
  14. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Yea, like Seasonic and ChannelWell make Corsair's units. If you don't know get this number
    [​IMG]
    It should be on the label of the PSU. Once you get it I'll look it up.
     
  15. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Yes, its being underpowered. I have the same card and with the new SeaSonic PSU it no longer buzzes. I was using an EA380 for my old system and was pushing it to 95-100% capacity under load... and it started squeelin when I would idle (put the 12V rail under load and the squeel would stop) indicating the PSU wasn't handling the 12V rail as good as it should have...AKA lots of ripple. So, during the last 2 weeks of its operation I put a ferrite clamp on the PCIe connector and the squeel died down a little. I heavily recommend getting a better PSU.

    Fly

    P.S.- The Earthwatts 380W series is still a GOD among HTPC PCs, I was pushing it to its limit and the effects of such are there... they are made by Seasonic and use ALL RubyCon caps internally. Highly recommended still.
     
    r9 says thanks.
  16. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    What about "dirty" power coming to the PSU ? Maybe I should get UPS ?
     
  17. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,801 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    New York
    nope get a nice PSU;)
     
  18. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Your case is opposite of mine yours VGA is buzzing when idle mine when loaded.
     
  19. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    I have 450W psu maybe I should try it to power just VGA ? But I`m to confident of mixing two PSU with different rails ?
     
  20. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    What brand is it? If it's got a good amount of +12v amps im sure it will be fine.
     
  21. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    The number it is pointing to Glachial Tech I guess they are manufacturing this PSU by them selfs.
     
  22. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    450W only 14 AMP
     
  23. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    I still stand by my advice. PSUs all act differently. The VRMs on the ASUS's are a bit higher spec than reference (unless its a TOP, in which case are stock down to the part # and revision...)
    Fly
     
  24. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I was talking about the 450w
     
  25. SpeedEuphoria

    SpeedEuphoria New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    42 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    I have an Asus 4850. Mine squeals noticeable in like 3dmark 03 when getting 1000+ FPS. The higher the FPS go the louder it squeals. I just put an aftermarket heatsink on it and it runs much cooler now but still squeals, only when getting high FPS.

    I'm only drawing ~240 watts at the plug when benching so my Antec TP3 550w PSU is doing just fine.

    The squeal deff scales/changes with more FPS
     
    r9 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page