1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asus hd7950 crossfire??

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by d1nky, Feb 24, 2013.

  1. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,627 (6.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,248
    has anyone done, seen or read a review on HD7950 directcuII crossfire?? (or even a picture of such)

    my plans are to crossfire the beast but ive never seen it done or even a picture. my intended board is the gigabyte 990FXA UD3 r1 just because it has four pcie x16 (fx8***)

    anyone???
  2. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,175 (5.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,970
    Location:
    Home
    Yes, you can crossfire the 7950, yes your motherboard can support Crossfire. That board only crossfires with the two x16 slots but they are spaced slots apart so I think you will be fine.
  3. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,566 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    641
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
  4. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,627 (6.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,248
    yea I think the pciex16 are triple spacing which will be tight... I need triple +1 really. I know it can be done ive just never seen a pic or review. I want to see and know before I buy

    and lawII the only crossfire is with a sapphire and asus.

    thanks
  5. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,627 (6.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,248
    someone just told me that the ud3 wont work due to the pciex16 lanes and spacing?! he recommended the ud7, which is tooo pricey and ive seen it with the rog rampage again toooo pricey! however the guy that I seen with them in a normal atx case etc had a Asus P8Z77-V, whats the AM3+ version??


    [​IMG]
  6. jihadjoe

    jihadjoe

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    385 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    97
    It should work with the Gigabyte motherboard you mentioned.
    Manual is here: http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=3894#manual

    The x16 slots are Slots 2 and 5, so there's 3 slots between them. Should be enough to accomodate the DirectCU IIs, which are supposedly 2.5 slots wide.

    Board layout here, I've highlighted the slots your GPUs will go into:

    [​IMG]



    Here's the specs page for the 7950 DC2s explaining the 2.5 slot width.
    http://www.asus.com/Graphics_Cards/HD7950DC2T3GD5/#specifications
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2013
    d1nky says thanks.
  7. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,627 (6.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,248
    well that's pretty decent of you, thanks!

    the problem is that on the back port the plate is 3 slots with air holes through, it uses 3 screws! tbh I really need to see these boards and take measurements because I think itll be tight with spacing as well as the psu. that's why im trying to find at least one person with similar set up. (the card actually is 3 slots but heatsink 2.5)

    EDIT: ive got an idea......thanks to jihad.. ill look at that crossfire set ups mobo manual (above) and try figure it out


    crossfire above:
    [​IMG]

    proposed board:
    [​IMG]

    looks to me a winner
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2013
  8. buildzoid

    buildzoid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,107 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    293
    Location:
    CZ
    the UD3 is just fine for the setup
    d1nky says thanks.
  9. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,615 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    are you going for a new cpu as well because fx4100 is pretty weak for crossfired 7950's?
  10. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,627 (6.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,248
    yea I cant decide between the 8320 or 8350! I guess which ever is on a deal at the time I suppose
  11. buildzoid

    buildzoid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,107 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    293
    Location:
    CZ
    the fx 6300 should do just fine once it's at the same speed as the FX 8350 as most games don't use 8 cores (most do 1-4) you won't see a performance drop caused by lack of cores but more due to the lack of frequency. An FX 4300 at 4.5Ghz will be equal to a FX8350 at 4.5Ghz as long as the game uses less than 4 threads it also does so using less power and producing less heat but will run into issues when running more apps at the same time as a game that uses 4 threads. The FX 6300 is only 10$ more than the 4300 and only requires a 500mhz(3.5Ghz to 4Ghz) oc to match an FX 8350 in games.
  12. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,627 (6.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,248
    ah probably why 4100 is nearly always 95% multi thread use and cpu usage even at 4.1ghz! but if im going to spend money I might as well future proof it with the 8 series
  13. buildzoid

    buildzoid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,107 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    293
    Location:
    CZ
    Those 2 extra cores over the FX6300 cost a lot and won't be much use unless your going to do 3D rendering/video converting but even while idling they'll eat power and produce heat. As for being future proof YEAAAAH No games are a still mostly 2 core and improving really really slowy look at Skyrim that game is almost entirely single core. The only game I can think of that use more than 4 cores properly is BF3 and that loads each core 30-40% on an FX 8350 so on yours you'd get 40-53% load per core which is perfectly okay. Most games get usage like this:
    core 0: 70-95%
    core 1: 10-40%
    core 2: 0-40%
    core 3: 0-40%
    core 4: 0%
    core 5: 0%
    core 6: 0%
    core 7: 0%
    However if you have the money and cooling the FX8350 is the better chip just not the most cost effective choice.
  14. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,548 (10.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,062
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    If you are going to upgrade CPU's do not spare any expense and get the 8350. You may regret it later on.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,831 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,369
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I am running a 990fxa UD3 in one of my rigs and if you can get me the measurments of the width of the card I can check for you. But I think you will be fine. :toast:
    d1nky says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,627 (6.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,248
    the mad shot, cant thank you enough! 11 " x 5.1 " x 2.1 " Inch! what case is the ud3 in?

    edit: to answer the cpu issue, I see it as soon amd launch new cpu's which means the fx6 etc will be less high end (also cheaper) and if I buy the best now, then in a year mine may be second best which I can live with.....plus fx8350 has selling ability!
  17. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,831 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,369
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I have almost 2.5 inches in between the 2 16x Pci-e slots. Here is a couple pics for you. Also I have it temporarly housed in my original Dragon case.


    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2013
    d1nky says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,627 (6.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,248
    thanks .from that I guess itll give me roughly 4mm between spacing! urmm Is that enough for air flow?! ive seen worse lol
  19. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,831 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,369
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    You should be good.:toast:
    d1nky says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page