1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASUS Intros GeForce GTX 680 4GB with Dual-Slot DirectCU II Cooler

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Nov 9, 2012.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,453 (11.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,621
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    ASUS slipped in a new high end GeForce GTX 680 graphics card, the GTX680-DC2-4GD5, which features a dual-slot DirectCU II cooler, and 4 GB of memory. The company's DirectCU series lineup for the GTX 680, till date, only included triple-slot cooling solutions. The dual-slot cooler has been extensively used by ASUS on several performance-segment GPUs. The card ships with NVIDIA-reference clock speeds of 1006 MHz base, 1058 MHz GPU Boost, and 6008 MHz (GDDR5-effective) memory. The card features memory chips on either sides of the PCB, and so an aluminum back-plate comes pre-installed. Expect the card to be priced around US $520. A variant called GTX680-DC2G-4GD5 is available, which packs a game bundle that includes Assassin's Creed III, I Am Alive, R.U.S.E, Splinter Cell: Conviction, and Rainbow Six Vegas 2. Its price is unknown.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
  2. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    973 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
  3. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Man where was this thing when I was building my latest build.:shadedshu
    MxPhenom 216 says thanks.
  4. lolsop

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hahah, this looks like a cost down version.:laugh:
    You can see that the cooler doesn't fit this PCB, so it is not custom made, it sticks out on the back of the PCB. Near the I/O part they just put some plate to make sure that it looks like it it a full cooler.. LOL fail.They just took the cheaper cooler of the 660 Direct CU and put it on 680.
    I doubt if this is enough to handle the ~100W difference in TPD. :banghead:
  5. neliz

    neliz MSI Rep

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    329 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    213
    Sounds like typical Asus :p
    Check this out: http://www.ocaholic.ch/forum/index.php?page=Thread&postID=22482#post22482

    That should put things in perspective a bit :p
    HammerON says thanks.
  6. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,481 (3.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,585
    Interesting...
    Thanks neliz
    neliz says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,209 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,742
    Location:
    S.Cali
    Does this pipe look kinked to you? :wtf:

    [​IMG]
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. saknid

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    136 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    The same thing I just build my system in last month only....Well I am ok with my card....
  9. saknid

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    136 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    Yes, Hammered one...:laugh:
  10. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
  11. Animalpak

    Animalpak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,081 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    550
    would be much more appreciated if it was made ​​to launch many months ago !! !!
  12. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    The Directcu II coolers appear to be basically of one design which they custom made to universally fit on multiple cards regardless of the overhang on the end of the PCB.
    Maybe altering the plastic shroud to fit.

    Good example would be the the HD7850 and the HD7870 with the Directcu II cooler.
    Massive overhang on the 7850.
  13. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,981 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    800
    Location:
    Italy
    It'd be a waste, Nvidia does not allow overvolting, which is sad.
  14. okidna

    okidna

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    470 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    343
    Location:
    Indonesia
    Speak of the devil : http://www.tomshardware.com/news/MSI-GTX-660-670-overvolting-PowerEdition,18013.html

    What about that? :)

    Not all of users want to overclock and or overvolt their GPU or VRAM, some just want extra large VRAM for their multi monitor setup.
  15. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,981 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    800
    Location:
    Italy
    Then get an MSI Twin Frozr 680 4GB, your answer is out if context by the way, there is no meaning in wanting a Lightning over a reference PCB GPU when you can't overclock and if you don't oc on the first place then you don't pay the Lightning premium because first it doesn't make sense to and second that SKU is not aimed at non-overclocking folks.
  16. Vlada011

    Vlada011

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    321 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    I liked this 3 times more


    [​IMG]

    +

    [​IMG] [​IMG]




    And I would do anything to OC my GPU. Soldering if necessary or search for sample with EVboot connector. I though soldering is something hard, but it's not at all. If people open IB like bisquit and push 1kg cooler close to die... than soldering little parts on most durable cards is nothing. What is modded BIOS or LN2 BIOS without double good memory, double phases and voltage increase...
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2012
  17. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,981 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    800
    Location:
    Italy
    Good luck overvolting that with no EVBOT, Nvidia has banned that too on latest EVGA Classified SKUs
    MxPhenom 216 says thanks.
  18. Vlada011

    Vlada011

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    321 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    Do you hear me what I say... Find model with EVboot people sell it's not hard to find... or solder...
    If I look good only little connector missing. Look little what people need to do to have control and increase voltages.
    I thought it's something really hard ...but it's not.
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2012
  19. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I was a little disappointed with mine at first, then I figured out the voltages, and it's a solid card yes.
  20. THE_EGG

    THE_EGG

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,417 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    419
    Location:
    Brisbane QLD, Australia
    hmmm so that picture of the dual-slot 680 was in fact true in one TPU's news articles about one of Asus' new desktop systems. Very nice, especially as the one on the 670 makes it one of the coolest and quietest 670's out there. Looking forward to this.
  21. jihadjoe

    jihadjoe

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    385 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    97
    NVIDIA didn't ban overvolting, they just said that companies who allow their cards to run out of spec will have to shoulder their own RMA costs. That's totally fair, IMO.

    Now if EVGA and MSI want their Classified and Lightning cards to stand out, then the burden of ensuring their out-of-spec cards work properly falls on themselves.
    THE_EGG says thanks.
  22. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,280 (4.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,419
    NV told EVGA to remove their EVBOT!

    http://www.techpowerup.com/173110/N...ll-EVBot-Support-from-GTX-680-Classified.html
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2012
  23. Vlada011

    Vlada011

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    321 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    Everybody know that news before 2 months and everybody know NVIDIA is enemy of overclocking when they sell good their cards. When start to sell less number of cards they will change politic.
    Now they think to look Classified model because new series they want to OC in fabric and offer like new series. And what if Classified is 10% weaker only, how to sell that when they decide to avoid GK110. That is not OK for their fans to pay 100e more for same and LESS performance than AMD Fans. And special is bad because card 200e more than stock models are locked not and AMD Fans can push their cards with voltages. But never mind EVGA Fans will survive only that is not OK movement. Not for us, for everybody.

    But procedure of backing EVboot connector is easy, card is solid, card is durable and it's small chance to something go wrong. You don't need on beginning to do that. After few months, usually card if work 6 months work and after 6 years. If someone want to know he can find on net how to back card in life and on OC torture table... For me is enough EVBoot cable through holes for water cooling tubes on Obsidian 650D and close to me... in one hole EVboot, on other volt meter and I m happy to hear screaming of that big cooler during benchmarks, for daily use some 1300MHz is good number, I love rounder numbers like 2000MHz, 4500MHz, 1300MHz,...
    And 4GB I hear something about new Memory to improve boost. Maybe Samsung or... I 'm not sure I search for information.

    Good thing for this new card is because ASUS offer 4GB too. I love card with double memory, but Classified is better for me.
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2012
  24. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,981 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    800
    Location:
    Italy
    Hah, it's not like they can half agree with Nvidia about that, I mean I am probably sure that if they sell a lineup of unlocked voltage SKUs they lose warranty on all of the GPUs purchased, even the ones that will be installed on locked reference SKUs.

    I don't think EVGA or MSI can keep up with dealing with RMAs on their own.
  25. Vlada011

    Vlada011

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    321 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    I don't think Kepler is such softy on voltage increase.
    If you can cool proper with air cooling it's not so much voltages.
    I think people can pull good few fps with EVboot, that is good chip, smart.
    Only NVIDIA want to use that for one more circle of earnings.

    AMD is not excellent too, before few days after 5-6 months I learned how to OC my card again and avoid flashing of screen if I want OC over CCC.
    I need to leave card on 950/1300 always. It's same like I can't increase voltage only different problem.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page