1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASUS Launches TUF Sabertooth 990FX GEN3 R2.0

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Feb 18, 2013.

  1. blibba

    blibba

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    829 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    Would you rather it only had two RAM slots? This way you can buy 2*4GB or 2*8GB today, and if you want more in a few years, you don't have to replace all your sticks.

    Besides, if you were using an FX8 to run a great many virtual machines (a task that it is very well suited for), you might well need 32GB of RAM.
  2. NeoXF

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Messages:
    615 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    80
    This looks a lot like my future AM3+ & Piledriver summer refresh build... if Intel fails to deliver with Haswell (and it will).
  3. progste

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    137 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    because your informations are wrong and the 8350 can actually use 32 GB under certain circumstances

    of course it is debatable if you actualy need that much ram ATM but why should they take away the possibility to do so?
  4. Reefer86

    Reefer86

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,474 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    UK
    maybe just me being stupid but whats actually diffrent, what makes this a rev 2 over the first one?
  5. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,030 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    I Loved my PCI soundcard(audigy 2zs platinum pro) an affordable super low latency (5ms) that had everything I needed including MIDI I/O,i would buy another board with PCI on it for that reason alone
  6. Edgarstrong

    Edgarstrong New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    66 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Marsala
    Don't they release new versions of this AM3+ Sabertooth a bit too often?
  7. KissSh0t

    KissSh0t New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    114 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Down Under
    Nice motherboard is nice.
  8. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,765 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,808
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Hmm, interesting. PCIe 3.0 on 990FX!?!
    Norton, radusorin and brandonwh64 say thanks.
  9. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,377 (8.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,616
    ASUS is real good at hiding the bridge chip. (tucked in quietly between the 2 upper PCIEx 16 slots) :rolleyes:

    Can't locate any info on which chip they used....
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  10. Jorge

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Messages:
    705 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Asus pulls another con job on the technically clueless with PCIe 3 which is of no value at all currently - other than to dupe the technically challenged into spending their money. Asus has really been doing some questionable marketing in recent years IMO, and that of other enthusiasts.
  11. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,350 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    550
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    Highly neg there dude.
    I agree its not for a 990fx owner as its pointless but if I was buying now nothing else is out thats am3+ and pciex3 (though muted likely) so id at least have a look
  12. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Meh
  13. ThunderStorm New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Messages:
    31 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Have to agree with you, this board is indeed aesthetic but it is no way near the same counterpart from Intel. ( I mean of look/meat of it ).
  14. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,236 (11.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,582
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    The X79 Sabertooth lacks thermal armor, too.

    [​IMG]
  15. progste

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    137 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    lol didn't even notice that!
  16. Am*

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    253 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Yes, I'd rather prefer for it to have 2 slots so it would save clearance for the gigantic coolers this thing needs to run at its best.

    Umm I'm pretty sure that it's your information that is wrong. The memory controller on the 8350 performs at around 13GB-14GB read & 11GB-12GB write speeds. With 32GBs you're going to have 2 DIMMs idling while the other 2 do all the work, and once you start using more capacity than what the memory controller can handle (over 16GBs RAM), things will get extremely slow, as one application will have to be suspended/paused while the other one uses the bandwidth. The one rule anyone should go by when buying RAM is what is the maximum amount of bandwidth that the controller can handle -- because anything above that will be wasted. 1155 SB chips can use up to 22GB at stock, 25GB when overclocked (so 1155 can more or less make the most of 32GBs of RAM), while the SB-E chips can handle around 28GB-30GB. Just because some 2011 motherboards allow for 64GB of RAM doesn't mean it's not an enormous waste of money and motherboard space.
  17. Rei86 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    172 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    So does anyone know what it runs?

    Is it PCi-E Gen 3 x 16 with one and than PCi-E Gen 3 x8x8 for dual?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page