1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asus M2N32-SLI deluxe question

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by KBD, Feb 28, 2007.

  1. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    I have a question reagrding this motherboard. I'm doing my first build And this is one of the mobos i'm considering, so here's the question. I already own an X-FI Extreme gamer audio card which i would like to use in my new system, it requires a 2.1 PCI slot on the mobo, however, i looked at the specs for Asus M2N32-SLI deluxe and it says that this board has PCI 2.2 slots. So my question is this, will i be able to use my soundcard, which is 2.1 PCI on this board, which has 2.2 PCI slots?
  2. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    Location:
    UK
    yes, it should be backwards compatible with pci 2.1, just as usb 2.0 is backwards compatible with usb 1.1 etc etc :toast:
  3. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    Great, thanx for your help!
  4. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    I'm sorry to double post, but i wanted to share something i found out about the PCI slot issue. Look like you were right, i found confirmation of someone using this board with that exact sound card. I was reading reviews for this mobo at newegg, and one of the reviewers listed his system specs and he had this card. So its good news for me and everyone else wanting to purchase an X-FI sound card ( most of them do require 2.1 PCI slots) for this motherboard.
  5. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Usually, most newer revisions support the prior standard. Newer revisions are basically small improvements to bandwidth and what not. BTW, let me know how it performs for you. When I move to AM2 (AM2+ or AM3) Im wanting to gauge the boards and such so I know what to get. Take lots of pics of the build as well :)
  6. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    Hey WarEagle, yes i will let everyone know how it works. Right now i'm deciding between 2 AM2 SLI mobos: this Asus one and Gigabyte GA-M59SLI-S5. I'm looking for the most stable board, these 2 are supposed to be the best.
  7. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    may also wanto check out the tforce590 board, i setup 2 of them so far, the packege is GREAT and as with all tforce boards its ROCK SOLID STABLE even HIGHLY overclocked :)
    also offers dfi expert class bios tweaks without the dfi problems :D

    tforce are also going to come in some ati chipset boards(Crossfire/3 16x slot) boards from what i been reading, again sounds promising, tforce550 is still in rma, my asus m2n-sli delux is a decent board, but asus support SUCKS BALLZ, and FYI asus makes gigabyte boards now, so eather way your gonna get an asus build :p.
  8. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    Yeah, i know Asus support sucks, though i didnt know that they make Gigabyte boards, thats kinda weird!

    Tforce is Biostar, right? Can you post link for that one, i cant seem to find it?
  9. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,406 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    Gigabyte boards are packed with plenty of featues, and many I/O...

    you should have ordered the foxcon 590sli board about couple days ago from newegg...it was 135 after MIR.
  10. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    yeah biostar makes tforce boards, they kick arse, ask JC316 about his tforce550 and x2 3600+ combo :) good stuff for what he payed :D

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813138033
    new unopened tforce590

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813138033R
    open box tf590

    the tforce570 is a good board but sells out so fast most shops cant keep them in stock.

    http://www.biostar.com.tw/t-series/

    the official tforce line website :D

    tforce 590 dirrect link
    http://www.biostar.com.tw/t-series/products/socket AM2/TForce 590 SLI Deluxe/product_details.php
  11. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    Thanx man! I'll check it out and read reviews on it. Which one do u recomend nforce590 or 570?
  12. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,406 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    read up on this: http://www.gamepc.com/labs/view_content.asp?id=nf5sli&page=1

    590 in sli is 16x16 vs. 570 in sli is 8x8...

  13. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    Very informative, thanks! i'll consisder all that info before making a decision.
  14. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    really in my exp the 590 just offers more fetures that most people who know about nvidia "fetures" would avoid(network stuff like nam)


    this boards intresting dispite lack of SLI support
    http://www.biostar.com.tw/t-series/products/socket AM2/TA690G AM2/product_details.php
    its the nes amd/ati 690 chipset, if anybody wants to look :)

    the 590sli and 570sli give about the same perf in my exp, main diffrance is that the 590 costs more and comes with more "extras" as stated, if you dont need the fetures dont bother with them, if you do, then go for it.

    tforce boards ROCK, solid caps for cpu volts, great/steller bios, rock solid stable.

    one of the things biostar prides itself on is waiting a while after others get a chipset out in use, seeing what problems they have with it, and making their retail boards without said flaws/buggs :)

    i can say i LOVED my tforce550, infact i liked it better then the m2n-sli delux a board over 2x its price, it overclocked better, had far better bios, and the voltege on ram and cpu was FAR more stable(very little flux at all)

    great buys these tforce boards :)
  15. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,406 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    well if you are doing G80's you might need the 590, due to those cards requires 16x pcie. Overall there is no performance gain between 570 and 590...just the 16x16 (which clearly showed no difference with the 8x8 when using 7950gx2) and extra ports.
  16. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    Most likely i'll get the 590, those extra features should come in handy and i do plan to use 8800 GTS in SLI when i get a second card. I will definately give Biostar some serious thought and i will research it. The only problem i see with it, is that its not certified by nvidia for SLI, while Asus and Gigabyte are. Since its my first time building i just prefer to use certfied components to play it safe, but it doesnt mean that i wont get it.

    Thanks for all the input, guys! :)
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2007
  17. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    if its using the 590SLI chipset then its sli certifyed, nvidia dosnt allow the sli chipsets to be used on non sli boards, they are very picky about that kinda thing.

    http://www.biostar.com.tw/t-series/products/socket AM2/TForce 590 SLI Deluxe/product_details.php

    fear not, all you need to be sure of is that you get a board with an sli chipset :)

    oh and check out biostars info pages on the tforce line, it explains some of why they are so good :)

    whats funny is nvidia wont sell sli chipsets for use on non sli boards but they will sli certify psu's that are underpowered to acctualy run high end sli setups (even g70/71 high end setups) seen a few psu's that blew from ultra that where SLI CERTIFYED, used a psu that wasnt that was form fortron in each of those systems(had 2 pci-e power cables) and all was good :D

    if your not building really soon you may want to hold off till q2 when r600 launches to see how they look, also by then the 8800 will be replaced with the 8900 and priced will have droped, also by then more amd chipsets will be out(chipsets from amd for amd) and also by then we should be seeing more info on the gpu as a ppu stuff, so you could do cf+3rd card as a ppu for ultimet power :D

    really i will probbly get an x1300xt or x1600 card (whatevers cheaper) for use as a PPU if its supported on non amd chipet boards, that extra power will kick arse :D
  18. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    Thanks for the lesson on Nvidia certfication. Actually i do need a good PSU for my system that would support a 2 8800GTS so it is something i should look into. I am building very soon though, i've considered waiting a little longer for all the new advances but i just cant wait anymore, i need a new pc really bad. If you knew how old my cureent machine is you would laugh at me for falling behind the times, so i'm not even going to tell you. :D
  19. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    what is it?

    and where i headed to building new now, i would just get a good board+cheap chip+2gb(or more) good ram, and a decent videocard, like a x1950gt, then wait for k10 and r600 , maby even 2nd gen dx10 cards, do that you get your dx10 card when you really need it and can take advantege of it.

    3600+ x2 chip, 2gb good ddr2, tforce590, decent hold you over videocard that can be used as a ppu later(x1950gt or pro) fortron dual psu(has a 2nd psu thats just for videocards) a couple seagate prt harddrives(whateve gives best $ to gb ratio) decent case if you need one, then wait for k10, kuma and rana are due out around q3 from what i hear, and are up to 40% faster then c2d :)

    overclock the cpu as high as you can, oh that reminds me, if your going allout, i would get a scythe infinity cpu cooler, read the review on here wiz gave it a review and its as good as water cooling(silent and powerfull).

    on a 3600+ or 3800+ u should get at a minimum 2.8gz, current chips seem to hit 2.9-3.2 range on air :) thats a hell of a "hold me over till k10" and when k10 hits you can alwase grab a tforce695 board and make a htpc with it :)

    honestly, i wouldnt jump on any new videocard right now, the markets to charged, and 8800 drivers have yet to truely hit "gold" level(fullfetured, mostly bugg free, and ready for every os)

    im waiting on kuma and rana(dual core k10 chips) to replace my 3500+@3gz(PIB air cooling) i wouldnt buy a pricy chip now, or pricy videocard, the next gen stuff is SO CLOSE, its better to wait a bit for r600 to hit and prices to level out on, also you may endup wanting an r600 variant insted of a 8800/8900 depending on bench scores and fetures till all players are in the market and ready to play(have games to run on them) we are just "shooting in the dark" hoping to hit a bullseye, last time i did that on a pricy video card i got a fx5800ultra, it was HORRIBLE, dx9 betas started comming out and i got into a few of them ,this $450 videocard i had just got that was top of the line and dx9 was incapable of running dx9 games without taking MASSIVE performance hits, then driver fixes where promised by nvidia , the new drivers kept making image quility worse to gain perf, even max quility settings ended up looking like low quility settings did on older drivers....in the end i sold the card and replaced it with a 9600 card that was 1/4 its price and got better perf and HUGELY better image quility.

    the point is, dont buy a card for something thats not here and cant be tested, dont rush to get "bleeding edge tech" because you may pull back a bloody stump or get gangreen......

    just my 30cents worth ;)
  20. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    Well, if you really want to know I got an AMD Duron 1300 Mhz Desktop with geForce 5200 PCI vid card and an AMD Sempron laptop. So now you see why i need a new computer.

    You make some good points in your post, but i dont think i need the fastest and the latest and i probably wont have the money to buy all those new things when they come out anyway. I was saving for this computer for a long time and my plan now is buy something nice (i'm getting fx-62 for $400) upgrade in may be 1-1/2 to 2 years, from what i hear i'll be able tro upgrade from am2 to am3. Ijust need so i can play newer games now. Also gonna get decent DDr2-800 RAM like you said, so i can do some OCing, though i dont have much experience overclocking and i would like to take it easy in the beginning. As far as video card goes, i dont really know if i need r600 or 8900, hell, i dont even have any games for those cards yet, i may get a cheap placeholder card until 8800 works out the bugs, but i think that will be enough for me right now. I'm getting an SLI board so i have the option of adding another video card without having to buy the latest card later so i can run my games better. By that time 8800 will drp in price and i can have my second vid card cheap. Thats my reasoning anyway.
  21. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    ah, my advice then is to insted look at the opteron's for am2 and high end x2 chips, the fx line are overpriced baddly, and the only diffrance you will get is an unlocked multiplyer.

    kuma and rana should be on part with todays x2 prices once they have been out a few weeks(anything new is overpriced at first) kuma and rana are the version of what we have today sort of, they are the k10 insted of k8, you dont "need" them but why not give yourself that option when the time comes, a 3600 or 3800+@2.8 or higher will be PLENTY for a couple years if you dont deside to upgrade the chip to kuma or rana when they come out.

    for a place holder honesly, price for power nothing currently is able to beet the x1950gt or x1950pro, and when you replace that card it can most likely be moved to a 2nd slot and used as a pure ppu(phsyics card) check my post/thred about gpu as a ppu, its in the video card section shouldbe on the first page :)
  22. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    I'll think about the opteron or upper x2, i'm not rushing into any hasty decisions, though fx is not that overpriced, they used to cost a lot more earlier and right now the one i'm thinking of is 400 bucks, and that unclocked multiplier is supposed excellent for Ocing, isnt that so?

    Also i dont see myself spending $200 on a placeholder video card, that simply doesnt make sense, might as well add another $150 and buy the 8800, though i could spend about $100. And are you sure nvidia has that physics technology with a 3rd card? i thought that was ATI? I also heard that both card makers will incorporate physics into the GPU so there would be no need for a separate card, when is that gonna happen?
  23. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    its usefull but on current chips you can hit the max will with a locked muti easly.

    the latest x2's are acctualy around the limmits of the fx lines air clocking to boot and thats stock.

    65nm would be the way to go if theres a high end chip avalable in 65nm currently :) lower heat and power use :)

    no nvidia hasnt put out/announced a 3rd card yet.

    the x1950gt is 150bucks at newegg, and would more then hold you till q3(3rd quarter of the year) or longer depending on what res you play at, amd/ati may allow their cards to work as a ppu along with nvidia cards as well, amd also seems to be planing to support crossfire on any board with 2 16x pci-e slots, this means you could get whatever card turnsout best be it ati or nvidia and still add a 2nd one later.

    really unless you plan to game at insain resolutions like 2048x**** with high aa/af settings you wont need more then one 8800 or r600 card for main gfx, the advantege of a 2nd card from what i have seen will be that it will let you use a 2nd card as a ppu to add detail and offload prosessing from the cpu(more detail baby)

    check the reivews, even the current 8800 cards dont need sli, its kinda overkill, my x1900xtx lets me run any game i throw at it at 1600x1200(lcd native res) with details cranked up without problems, farcry hdr+aa+af+aaa+eatm+atm details maxed out at 1600x1200 i get no less then 60fps constantly, and this is a card thats far from top dog these days with the 8800 out, tho it has FAR better driver support.

    check newegg, search for "x1950gt" even if desided to dump the card later im sure you could sell it for a good price on ebay or to somebody localy, but personaly i would go with it as a ppu and another card as main when the time to replace it comes(depends on reses you play at and games you play, it could last you a year or more if you dont want to runn at ultra high res :) )

    i plan to wait for 2nd or 3rd gen dx10 cards b4 i buy one, as i did with my x1900xtx, got a very good price on it last aug, 278bucks for a full xtx :)

    my advice as alwase to people in this situation is WAIT FOR 2nd or 3rd gen cards, dont jump on the first gen cards unless they have rock solid driver support and a steller price.
  24. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    You may be right, i may not need 2 8800 cards in SLI, however i do plan to play at high resolutions and i just would like to have a second card option just in case. I really gotta mull everything over, i'm still not exactly sure what i'm doing.

    Thanks for all your help! :)
  25. iamajunky

    iamajunky New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    391 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    California USA
    haha You guys are funny, i have two 7950gt ssc and there was a defenite jump from 570 to 590 8+8 vs 16+16 I got about a 40-45% increase in fps when I got my new 590 board. I don't know if you ever owned both, but you will notice in games that a graphically demanding and it's not a selling gimmick. You can but a 590 board for pretty cheap I got mine on buy.com for 89 bucks USD. Abit fatality, or m2n32sli awesome boards I tried them both but I kept the m2n32sli for 20 more bucks. Hopefully if you get the 590 you'll find a deal like I did.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page