1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asus M3a78

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Melios, Nov 27, 2008.

  1. Melios New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I was wondering, how is the ASUS M3A78 AMD 770 motherboard? As a budget motherboard.
     
  2. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    looks good to me and it has AM3 support so you can upgrade. You should, of course, read reviews for this board (or any other you are consisering) both at newegg and online tech sites. That will give you insight into its strenghts and weaknesses.

    But you should really tell us what is the system being used for. If you are not gaming go with m-ATX 780G boards or Geforce 8000 or nforce 720 since they all have onboard video and are cheaper. And even if you are gaming those boards are still very budget concious and worth taking a look at at.
     
  3. Melios New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well, I was looking at Phenom x3 8750 and Radeon 4830 card.
     
  4. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    are you planning to overclock at all? Do u already have the other components you are upgrading from or you are building from scratch? If so, what are they? Im just asking to make sure you have a good PSU to handle everything.
     
  5. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    That will make a good little gamer on a 22in and below monitor. :)

    Cheap too :respect:
     
  6. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    yea, the 4830 is an awesome card for those on a budget.
     
  7. Melios New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I don't usually mess with stuff like overcloaking.

    I was planning to try to use an X-Fi card as well as reuse my disk drives and wireless LAN . My PSU is a Rosewill 550W power supply, this one specifically.
     
  8. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,252 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    837
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    That board doesn't have much Over volting features for cpu. If you don't care about those then yes its a good board.
     
  9. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    the board cant support 2 videocards, so the 550w should be fine
     
  10. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
  11. Melios New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm wondering one thing: Do these motherboards usually ship with latest BIOS (at the time)?
     
  12. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    yes, they are shipped with the latest version available at the time of leaving the factory. But it doesnt mean you'll have the latest BIOS by the time u buy it because newer versions may be out. So you may need to update depending on what the situation is and what fixes does the BIOS offer. As a general rule, its always good to have the latest but since you are not overclocking and if there are no major fixes then you dont have to update.
     
  13. Melios New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I only ask because its CPU Support page mentions the Phenom x3 8750 is supported as of BIOS 0602 (not the initial release 0401).
     
  14. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    if you happen to get a board that has the BIOS that doesnt support your CPU what you can do is this: Ask a friend who has a supported CPU to borrow it for a flash or take it to local PC shop and ask them to borrow a supported CPU. Or if all else fails, you can order a cheap single core Athlon that is supported, flash the BIOS and then return it.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page