1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asus M5G testing

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by dumo, Mar 14, 2012.

  1. dumo

    dumo

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    664 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    551
    Location:
    NYC
    Maximus V Gene...micro atx board on steroid:)

    [​IMG]

    Will test with SB

    Ivy NDA will be lifted on April 29

    Bios:

    Dual cpu bus to dram ratios

    [​IMG]

    Dram @ 2400/100

    [​IMG]

    Dram @ 2666/133

    [​IMG]


    Familiar ROG board settings

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    BCLK recovery for straight boot up after unstable oc

    [​IMG]


    Memory timing control

    [​IMG]

    Crazy memory preset settings:)

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2012
    coolhand411 says thanks.
  2. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,770 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,847
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
  3. dumo

    dumo

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    664 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    551
    Location:
    NYC
    Thanks Cadaveca:)

    Much simpler than Rampage IV


    Driver and utilities

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
  4. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,770 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,847
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    NP!. I jsut re-read my post, might have been taken wrong...I am having shoulder surgery April 10th, so even if ASUS did want to send me one, I'd not be able to review it in a decent time frame anyway.


    Eager to see what ya get, looks killer.:rockout:

    What's with the funky fonts?
  5. dumo

    dumo

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    664 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    551
    Location:
    NYC
    Note: ***Activated with only extreme cooling on cpu***

    LN2 mode

    Put a jumper at location marked red

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Bios with LN2 extreme profile 1 activated. BCLK boot @ 106, Multies @ 56 and mem. @ 2261 (same settings with profile 2, only main voltage settings are different)

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Voltage settings LN2 profile 1

    [​IMG]

    Voltage settings LN2 profile 2

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2012
    cadaveca says thanks.
  6. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtXâ„¢

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Clearly you have no idea how busy the rep at Asus is.
  7. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,770 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,847
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    :laugh:


    It has nothing to do with ASUS, and you're a troll?

    :nutkick:


    Read up a few posts....:roll:
  8. coolhand411 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    67 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    This BIOSes are just mind blowing ..will LN2 become mainstream now ? lol ,thanks Dumo for this sneak pic
  9. dumo

    dumo

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    664 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    551
    Location:
    NYC
    Ddr3 2933

    Newest bios 0650 with higher dram ratios...DDR3 2933 and 3000

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]



    Xtreme tweaking: when enabled may improve some benchmarks performance ie. 3D 2001

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2012
  10. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,533 (13.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,930
    Wow, 2.93ghz ram! I have processors running at lesser frequency.
  11. coolhand411 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    67 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    this is still at 1.65V ?
  12. dumo

    dumo

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    664 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    551
    Location:
    NYC
    1.71 Vdimm. Kits rated for 2400 Cas 9 1.65V.

    I'm pretty sure there will be a bunch of new DDR3 2800+ waiting to be release once NDA is up...price will be crazy though:(

    Best thing is to hold on to 2X2GB PSC, Hynix, bbse or even the old Elpida hyper:)...don't sell it yet!

    Even those Samsung 4Gb YHKO 30nm can do 2933 @ 1.7 Vdimm on M5G
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2012
    cadaveca says thanks.
  13. coolhand411 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    67 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    :eek:

    Edit;had to bump your thread in the other forum ..couldn't resist
  14. dumo

    dumo

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    664 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    551
    Location:
    NYC
    Good memory scalability with most of DDR3 module
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2012
  15. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,770 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,847
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Nice. Looks like Z77 is gonna be fun for ram clocking!
  16. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,770 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,847
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    It just keeps on giving! I am so looking forward to this!
  17. dumo

    dumo

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    664 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    551
    Location:
    NYC
    LucidLogix Virtu MVP

    Its GPU Virtualization assigns task to the best available graphic source while virtual Vsync gives soother gaming experience. Supports Win. 7, NV GF4/5/6xx and AMD HD5/6/7xx

    Heres how to enable it when using discrete GPU (d mode)

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Set primary display to PCIE and enable IGPU Multi-Monitor support in bios then install both Intel graphics accelerator and LucidLogix Virtu MVP

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
  18. dumo

    dumo

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    664 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    551
    Location:
    NYC
    MVP d mode with 5870 Xfire...

    [​IMG]
  19. coolhand411 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    67 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    yes, MVP won't work with multiple GPU's
  20. Woomack

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    57 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Poznan, Poland
    I couldn't make it work even with one gfx so far :p ( tested only with GF430 ). Lucid software is crashing at start ... will try on new system later.
    I got M5G 2 days ago. I won't comment that was damaged because of box design or whatever, not shipping fault. Except that I really like this board.
    I didn't have much time so I only made some fast runs on Celeron G530 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2319095 .
  21. dumo

    dumo

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    664 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    551
    Location:
    NYC
    All info (bios etc) about M5G...http://kingpincooling.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1659
  22. Woomack

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    57 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Poznan, Poland

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page