1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asus Maximus Formula. WTF

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by technicks, Feb 25, 2009.

  1. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Ok here is the deal.

    Received my Maximus today. 2nd Asus board in 2 weeks. Both same problem.
    System wont boot up.
    I am so desperate i doubled all of my hardware.

    RAM
    PSU
    CPU
    GPU

    Nothing. Just popped in a cheap Celeron. Still nothing.
    CPU leds don't go on. WTH. Is this my 2nd dead board in two weeks? Could it be.
    I cant think of something else anymore.
    I hate Asus from now of on.:banghead::slap::nutkick:
     
  2. Jarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    388 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Wrexham UK
    U sure ur psu isnt blowing them up or something?? i got loads of asus boards...never had a problem.
     
  3. lucasweir

    lucasweir

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,247 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    it could be a doa?

    try new power supply, also i always try setting everything up on my desk first to make sure its not a short or something. Does the board turn on at all like fans, hard drives, etc?
     
  4. Mike0409

    Mike0409

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,142 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Sound's like something is frying them. Check the voltage on the PSU and do a dry run outside the case. Make sure there's no short..

    I would say 2 DOA in a row..kinda rare.
     
  5. HolyCow02

    HolyCow02 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,638 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    New York
    2 DOA's in a row is definitely rare, but it could happen. Definitely check if your PSU is shorting something out
     
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,795 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,178
    It is most likely not the motherboard.
     
    technicks says thanks.
  7. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    I got it setup on my desk on a cardboard box.
    The leds on the board go on but from the three two color green and the one above it is red.
    Leds by the cpu don't go on. All fans spin. Also it's exactly like the last P5E board.
    No activity.

    Tried 1Gb Team DDR2, 512mb Kingston DDR2, Intel Quad 6600, Intel Celeron 430, multiple psu's, both HD 3870's separate.
    I tried with or without HD.
    I am getting a bit desperate. I have no idea what i can try next.
     
  8. Mike0409

    Mike0409

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,142 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Re-seat the CPU/ Heatsink and make sure that the heatsink is not having to much pressure on the chip. It could cause a no boot.

    What is that Red LED associated with??

    Try with out any memory and connect the Speaker to make sure theres a POST beep. Also without the memory there should be some sort of error code. It sound's as of right now its a Proc issue. Since there is no post being initiated.
     
  9. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    I tried once plugin everything in after 1 hour cmos clear and it booted right up. Whoooo Whooooo Whoooooo.
    Funny thing is i tried it before and it did not work.
     
  10. crtecha

    crtecha New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,407 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    ipsay meechigan
    congrats and good luck with the new board
     
    technicks says thanks.
  11. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Thanks. I will post some pics later on.:)
     
  12. Mike0409

    Mike0409

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,142 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Grats man! Good luck with it!
     
    technicks says thanks.
  13. lucasweir

    lucasweir

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,247 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    good job!
     
    technicks says thanks.
  14. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,998 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,723
    Location:
    US
    Was going to say try that as a RED led means a voltage is very high.

    Green = Normal
    Amber = Med
    Red = High

    Anyways good to hear you got it sorted out :).
     
  15. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,795 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,178
    Congrats.:toast: I put a system together not too long ago that basically did the same thing. Pulled it all apart redid it, and it worked. You never know when a particle of dust or something gets it's way into some sort of contact rendering your system useless. :ohwell:
     
  16. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Yeah, my Max board was very tempermental. I had a bad oc, and for two months, it wouldn't boot. I even had the battery out for two weeks.. lol. But, it booted, and worked. Make sure to to check like Erocker said, and keep an eye on the psu rail.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page