1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asus Maximus Formula

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by trt740, Mar 1, 2008.

?

What would you buy

  1. DFI LANPARTY DK X38-T2R ATX Intel Motherboard 199.00

    22.7%
  2. ASUS P5E LGA 775 Intel X38 ATX Intel Motherboard 216.00

    6.3%
  3. ASUS MAXIMUS FORMULA LGA 775 Intel X38 ATX Intel Motherboard 139.00

    61.7%
  4. ASUS P5K-E/WIFI-AP LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard keep current board upgrade ram

    9.4%
  1. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    I'll have to try it out myself.. Cause I'm back! God I love this board... The FTW wouldn't even boot, but this baby booted up fine... I guess 2 weeks out of my computer case got rid of whatever charge was in it making it not work... For the FTW board... It's a known thing to where it hangs on the post because of how they do the vdroop control... Sending that back and hanging on if I want money back or get it...
  2. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    amazing good for you bro :toast: I would just return it for now and take a break, for some reason geforces quality has gone down a bit. I keep seeing their board deing.
  3. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Yeah, I haven't seen nothing at all good about the FTW board... I've seen a few that can do bad a$$ stuff... But, the guys that love Evga even are saying that the motherboards are going down the drain.... Just gotta see what I have money wise for the next best thing! lol
  4. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    try 410 it's good cold. It let me hit 4.0ghz with this crappy ram I have and before I couldn't. This bios is supposed to help with memory and it appears it did.
  5. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    I'll do it some time this week. :toast:
  6. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    I cannot believe how well my system, with xp performs on 512mb of DDR2 800 (overclocked to 900) and my cpu at 4.0ghz. I'm using a memory management program i'm sure that helping it.
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2008
    Cold Storm says thanks.
  7. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    wow... 512... I'll be doing it this week.. once I get back up and running fully! :toast: Thanks for the Ram man!
    trt740 says thanks.
  8. thoughtdisorder

    thoughtdisorder New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,818 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    269
    Location:
    Just South of Mars
    Good to see you back bro! :toast:
    Cold Storm says thanks.
  9. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Glad to be up and running... Now, If I can see about doing this one thing that I have up my sleeves...
    BTW, was it you and the fire crackers!? :laugh:
  10. thoughtdisorder

    thoughtdisorder New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,818 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    269
    Location:
    Just South of Mars
    Nope. But I have to admit the last 2 nights the really BIG booms you heard were my answer to the fireworks! (The homemade bombs!) BIG booms!:laugh:
  11. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    OH, I know of the home made bombs... lol... Just checkin' to make sure I'm not missing something. :toast:
  12. X800

    X800

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Messages:
    294 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    FIN
  13. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,174 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    ^^^ any info on it ????
    got it never mind

    by Grnfinger
    Rampage Bios 601 is a nice bios, Very stable and I could drop 1 notch of vCore and vtt
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2008
  14. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    whats it improve on
  15. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
  16. Wetbehindtheears New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    271 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Salisbury UK
    Thanks just updated my BIOS :toast: everything seems OK at mo :respect:
  17. X800

    X800

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Messages:
    294 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    FIN
    Thanks :toast: .I hope it improves ,fixes something.This info did i find from asus:
    0601 ]
    ----------------------
    Fixed some RAID card does not be detected when plus it in PCIEX16_2
  18. X800

    X800

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Messages:
    294 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    FIN
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2008
    Frogger says thanks.
  19. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,174 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    thanks X800 :toast:
    " didn't add the lower CPU GTL Reference settings but they adjusted the voltage for CPU GTL Reference and NB GTL Reference." bios 701
  20. ckoons1

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    718 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Location:
    O'fallon Mo.
    hey guys was wondering. is the ASUS MAXIMUS EXTREME [DDR3] capable of being flashed with ASUS RAMPAGE EXTREME [DDR3] bios. are they the same, other then the bios instructions?
    thx
  21. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    No, the only one that can be flashed is the Max itself... They've tried over at XS, but it doesn't work
  22. ckoons1

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    718 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Location:
    O'fallon Mo.
    thx very much. thank GOD i asked
  23. ckoons1

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    718 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Location:
    O'fallon Mo.
    which is better
    ASUS RAMPAGE FORMULA [which i have]
    or
    ASUS MAXIMUS EXTREME?
    THX
  24. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    Rampage is my thought.
  25. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    I'd say the Rampage myself also. The reason behind it, is the simple fact of how The Max, and Rampage are.. They made the one board, a complete SAME as the other. The only reason for the whole Extreme is that it has an All ready built Water block on the NB, and a better sounding card.. That's no reason, IMHO, to even go with teh whole "Extreme"... If you go water, do it right, and invest in proper NB, and Mosfet cooling.. The stock stuff, IMHO, isn't worth doing if you are really into it...

    Now, if you don't care for ocing, and just want to WATER, cool everything to keep a straight oc, then it's cool... But, you don't need to get your NB cooled for that sort of thing. I've been sticking at 3.6 for the longest time, Thanks to TRT, and My NB is a little toasty if I didn't have a extra fan on it... The sound isn't a problem because of the fan's on my rad being a little louder..

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page