1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asus Maximus III Gene Supports Xeon X3440?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by puma99dk|, Feb 6, 2011.

  1. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,611 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    834
    i wanna know if my Asus board supports a Xeon X3440 based on the Lynnfield core, can anyone confirm that?

    bcs i have seen a lot of CPU-Z Validations with X3440 cpu's so normal bios or?

    Intel Xeon X3340

    bcs it's the cheapest cpu with HT for about 297USD in my country if u want a i7-860 it's 367usd or i7-870 371usd brand new so the X3340 will be the cheapest options if i can't find a used one.
     
  2. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,181 (4.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,459
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yes, it should work. There are no real "workstation" P55 boards...asus has one or two, and has been known to support Xeon cpus on normal enthusiast boards, but I myself have not tried.
     
  3. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,611 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    834
    oki just bcs this cpu costs 297USD from new and every other new i7 if i can't find a used one costs 100USD more than this one.
     
  4. alucasa

    alucasa

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    706 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Waterdown, Canada
    I should unofficially support it.

    There is no guarantee however.
     
  5. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,892 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    update bios to newest before installing. but my board had the shipped bios and it started up and loaded my 655k as a 650 until the bios update, but it still worked before it. asus boards are known to support the largest number of hardware than any other out of the box
     
  6. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,611 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    834
    already got the newest one, it's 2103 :D so that ain't a problem, i just wanna make sure it will work ^^;


    i have seen Kvjavs @ overclockers.net has or had a X3440 in his Maximus III Gene board: http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=1628525

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  7. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,886 (9.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,372
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Yes it will work! i had a X3430 on a ASRock P55 Extreme and it worked no problem, even worked with ECC sticks OCed to 1690Mhz and the CPU at 4Ghz
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page