1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by cadaveca, Sep 1, 2011.

  1. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,812 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,893
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 16, 2011
    X800, harambasha, Paulieg and 10 others say thanks.
  2. ERazer

    ERazer

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,543 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    bought this mobo couple months ago and i can honestly say the best mATX mobo i ever bought

    pcie spacing might be con for others but definitely not for single users like me and i have 3 slot vga
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2011
    cadaveca says thanks.
  3. Breathless New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    370 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Now Asus needs to do the same thing but with an ITX Z68!!!
    cadaveca says thanks.
  4. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,812 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,893
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Totally a minor issue, but it must be mentioned. The board is fantastic.

    A big part if that is now the BIOS is pretty mature, boy, is it ever a difference from products I've had that weren't in the retail space, every single memory kit I have just plain old worked, and that's a big thing in my books.


    It's a little weird that they have 3800 MHz as stock, and they kinda cheated the scores there, but htey aren't the only one, either.
  5. ERazer

    ERazer

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,543 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    yeah just noticed that now you pointed it out
    cadaveca says thanks.
  6. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,812 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,893
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yeah, I had to. The BIOS that was on the board when I got did not do this, and I received a revised BIOS that did. I was a bit shocked, to be honest, but I trust ASUS has tested this functionality enoug hthat it won't be an issue for anyone, and everyone gets an easy free performance boost without even trying.

    It seems that the voltage did increase from stock a tiny bit too, so I am 100% confident they considered the consequences of enabling this function in the BIOS.
  7. bear jesus

    bear jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Britland
    Great motherboard review as always Dave, i really like that you keep taking off the heat sinks and showing the VRM set up and also the impression of the components on the thermal pads.
    _JP_, erocker and cadaveca say thanks.
  8. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,812 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,893
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Thanks man. Really, I do this for you guys anyway, so you don't encounter problems that may come out of things like that. I do feel that cooling is important, as there used to eb a time, back when I was part of the extreme cooling scene, when taking off heatsinks and repalcing thermal paste is jsut something everyone did when they got a brand new board...

    I mean, i've got to compare the boards somehow. Cooling is one obvious thing that differs from product to product, so I examine the cooling.

    I also had requests for pictures of the boards "naked", so yeah, I make sure to show all the critical stuff you guys need to know about, and explain what they are, and it's up to you guys to judge whether it's important or not.
  9. PopcornMachine

    PopcornMachine

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,563 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    Location:
    Los Angeles/Orange County CA
    Thanks for the review. Depending on how the new CPUS measure up with Sandy Bridge, this board could be in my future.
    cadaveca says thanks.
  10. VulkanBros

    VulkanBros

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,332 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    271
    Location:
    The Pico Mundo Grill
    Well - if I were an Intel guy - this board would certainly catch my interest ...

    and yes - exciting review - as always ;)
    cadaveca says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. ice_v

    ice_v

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    110 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Italy
    I WOULD KILL, RAPE, BLOW A HOSPITAL to have identic layout on an am3+ with AMD 9-Series Chipset! :banghead::banghead::banghead:


    :cry:
  12. PopcornMachine

    PopcornMachine

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,563 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    Location:
    Los Angeles/Orange County CA
    You have good point. Been astonished at the absence of MATX 990FX boards.

    That alone may turn me off to Bulldozer. :mad:

    Maybe ASUS will come through for us there too. :D
  13. ckoons1

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    718 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Location:
    O'fallon Mo.
    anyone know why my asus maximus gene z won't restart. i have to clear cmos and press power button to enter bios or windows but when i try to reset it shuts down. no overclock applied.
    ????
  14. ckoons1

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    718 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Location:
    O'fallon Mo.
    the cpu temp in the bios is reading 21-23c. can this be an issue?
  15. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,812 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,893
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Could be a bent pin, or memory problem. Is the board flexed under the CPU cooler?

    Temps are low compared to my chips, but not that much. I wouldn't think that was a problem.
  16. ckoons1

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    718 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Location:
    O'fallon Mo.
    i'll check. why would it only be on restart? i try to restart it and it shuts down. then when i press power it boots up to bios saying "overclock failed"
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2011
  17. specks

    specks New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    441 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    TPU must be this famous
    [​IMG]
  18. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,812 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,893
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Could be memory, could be an errant setting. Clear CMOS fully, removing battery and using jumper as it shows in the manual, and then try loading "optimized deafaults" and see if the problem persists. Also make sure ram is installed in the right slots(1&3)


    ;)


    :laugh:
  19. ckoons1

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    718 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Location:
    O'fallon Mo.
    turns out the SLEEVED 8 pin ext cable i was using was bad. removed it and all is good :toast: THX GOD:)
    cadaveca says thanks.
  20. PopcornMachine

    PopcornMachine

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,563 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    Location:
    Los Angeles/Orange County CA
    That is fortunate. Glad the problem wasn't with your nice new motherborad. :)

    Now that the new CPUS are out, if I were building a new system today it would be a Sandy Bridge CPU and a Gene-Z.
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2011
    cadaveca says thanks.
  21. ruined New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi guys,
    I've read the review of this board and what an amazing review for an amazing board I must say.
    However, being a newbie, I'm overwhelmed with those bios settings and stuff.
    So, I would like to know, does the manual that comes with the board teaches you all those?
    Thanks.
  22. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,812 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,893
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
  23. Neuromancer

    Neuromancer

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    379 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    South Jersey
    Hey Dave did you use the Lucid Graphics when doing your testing? I have this board on the bench now, and intended to do that same that I did with MSIs Z68 which was test with and without Lucid, (as with there is a slight performance decrease almost across the board) generally 1-2% IIRC.
  24. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,812 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,893
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I do not use Lucid for testing. It's software, and I'm after hardware testing, so have not put too much into Lucid and benchmarks.

    That said, I do use the Lucid software in my personal rigs...2%-10%, depends on the app. I think Lucid launched a new driver recently, too.
    Neuromancer says thanks.
  25. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Nice review. Quite thorough, and pretty much covers anything that I noted while owning this board for a couple of months. Anyone considering this board, do not hesitate.
    cadaveca says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page