1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asus mega-fail with AMD motherboards!! Avoid!! - [Issue Resolved]

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by CAT-THE-FIFTH, Oct 24, 2012.

  1. CAT-THE-FIFTH New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    62 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    With Vishera being released,companies like Gigabyte and others are releasing new BIOSes.

    Obviously,not the company known as Asus:

    http://www.overclock.net/t/1318860/...350-fx-8320-fx-6300-fx-4300/880#post_18436753

    http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/showpost.php?p=23024050&postcount=178

    If you check their website,they only list their "new" R2.0 motherboards as being compatible. Gigabyte have released updates for most of their 970 and 990 series AM3+ motherboards it seems.

    It gets worse:

    http://www.overclock.net/t/1318860/...350-fx-8320-fx-6300-fx-4300/920#post_18436965

    So they have a compatible BIOS for one 990 based motherboard and then tell people to buy an R2.0 motherboard for the others?? LOLWTF??

    Now,it could be quite possible,that someone might release a hacked BIOS or you might be able to use an existing BD compatible BIOS,but this is a VERY poor show on the part of Asus.

    Edit!!

    The M5A97 Evo R1 works:

    http://www.overclock.net/t/1318860/...50-fx-8320-fx-6300-fx-4300/1040#post_18437905

    Supposedly,this is one of the motherboards which supposedly would not work according to CS!

    Second Edit!!

    It seems the CS were talking crap and BIOS updates are being released:

    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showpost.php?p=2756220&postcount=12
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2012
  2. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,411 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    Bios 1605 works afaik
     
    Super XP and CAT-THE-FIFTH say thanks.
    More than 25k PPD
  3. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,044 (4.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,202
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I asked ASUS directly myself on this, when I get info, I'll update.
     
    Super XP, dude12564, Law-II and 6 others say thanks.
  4. FlanK3r

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    231 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    czech republic
    no, this topic is not true. At first revision you need only BIOS update. R2.0 revision has better digital power not only CPU, but memory is not yet analog, but digital too. There are some next improvements as fastboot, bios flashback, better support for win8 etc.
    But results is, old R1.0 revision is suport Vishera too!
     
    Super XP and CAT-THE-FIFTH say thanks.
  5. CAT-THE-FIFTH New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    62 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    You should blame Asus CS for talking crap to people, when they asked them whether their newish motherboards would work fine with Vishera. I know a few people with Asus 970 and 990X motherboards who might want to upgrade themselves.

    Yeah,it does seem at least the M5A97 Evo works:

    http://www.overclock.net/t/1318860/...50-fx-8320-fx-6300-fx-4300/1040#post_18437905

    That is only because someone decided to throw caution to the wind and give it a try. Yet the Asus CS seem to be have no clue at all.

    So,on two separate occasions in two different countries,ie,the US and the UK,Asus CS told porkies, it seems, to push people to R2.0 motherboards.

    Those CS people need retraining.
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2012
  6. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    I agree! Hell the least ASUS could do is get on the ball and get some BIOS updates out.
     
    Super XP says thanks.
  7. CAT-THE-FIFTH New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    62 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    One of the chaps over on OcUK is going to try an FX8350 with their M5A99X Evo.
     
    Norton says thanks.
  8. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,768 (8.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20,003
    I got nearly the exact same response from ASUS CS when I requested info on whether or not my M5A99X was compatible with the FX-6200 when it was released (a newer BIOS was listed but didn't list the 6200 in the support list). If it's not listed on the support list then this is the "canned" response you will get. They actually sent me a form to rate their customer service.... twice! :wtf: I did not give them a very nice response.

    Luckily, a member here spoke to ASUS directly and got the answer I needed but now this is happening again! :mad:

    C'mon ASUS- get your s**t together... I need a Vishera compatible BIOS for my M5A99X Evo and M5A97 Evo :shadedshu

    No I will not buy an ASUS AM3++ board for an AM3+ CPU... I will buy something besides ASUS if this keeps happening.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. CAT-THE-FIFTH New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    62 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    When I said the 970 EVO,I meant the M5A97 Evo!! I think both my mates would be well pissed off,if they could not plonk in Vishera as an update path,and I also told them to get the Asus motherboards over the equivalent Gigabytes too! :(
     
  10. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,768 (8.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20,003
    ASUS released updated BIOS files today for the M5A99X Evo and M5A97 Evo

    * Note- M5A97 says the same:

    M5A99X EVO BIOS 1604
    1.Improve system stability.
    2.Support new CPUs. Please refer to our website at: http://support.asus.com/cpusupport/cpusupport.aspx?SLanguage=en-us
    File Size 2,37 (MBytes) 2012.10.24 update


    These updates will (should?) support the Vishera CPU's. They don't list the "new" CPU's in the support list but this is EXACTLY what they did last time with the FX-6200 BIOS revision.

    Don't bother to e-mail ASUS CS as you will continue to get the canned response that they are unsupported. This is due to the CPU support list not being updated. :shadedshu
     
    CAT-THE-FIFTH says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,675 (9.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,153
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Yea it took asus a long time to output bioses for AM2+ boards to support 6 cores. This is one reason I stopped using Asus on AMD a while ago. I remember before I went back intel that i was just waiting for a bios to get a 6 core in my AM2+ then it never came so I went intel then bam 2 months later a bios FINALLY released for my board but by then I was already hooked on intel HT
     
    jgunning and Norton say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,044 (4.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,202
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    BIOS updates are coming.
     
  13. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,675 (9.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,153
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Dave has spoken! Glad it is going to happen but they do need to be more vocal about CPU support
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    So the hysteria is going to stop? :laugh: I would wager a bet the Vishera chips would have booted without the update, but in a low performance state as the Phenom II 955 chips did when installed in a board without a BIOS update. The FID/VID would have been set to the lowest state (4x) and the system would boot. The r2.0 of all boards released added a handful of feature as the Crosshair "-Z" does. What did you expect companies to do when AMD didn't release a new chipset with the new processors. Gotta make extra money somehow and plenty of people will order a R2.0 board for a premium simply because its newer.
     
  15. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,675 (9.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,153
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Yea I remember some boards would boot with a 955BE but it would be stuck at 800Mhz until the bios was updated.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,691 (11.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,664
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    BIOSes 1604/05 for non R2.0 boards have AGESA 1.5, so Vishera support. It's just that ASUS is slow in updating the CPU support lists on its website.
     
    Norton says thanks.
  17. FlanK3r

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    231 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    czech republic
    I said it, is it bullshit, becuase you need only a bit logic. Cpu current condition are simillar between Zambezi FX and Vishera FX, Pins are the same, architecture is refresh of Zambezi, uniq of Bulldozers.
    And there is next proof:
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums...oard-Support&p=5146568&viewfull=1#post5146568

    And with 970 chipset is the same. Is the same as Phenom II Deneb (C revision) and Phenom II Thuban (E revision)..Both you can use in AM3 boards
     
  18. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,044 (4.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,202
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    All boards should have BIOSes live now? COnfirmed with my rep at ASUS, the R2.0 board thing is not true at this time. However, up till yesterday, some boards did not have BIOSes live for Vishera. Today, they do. :p
     
    _JP_ says thanks.
  19. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,675 (9.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,153
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    So the emails are just feeding you the info that you would need to purchase a R2.0 board even though they are kinda silently releasing bioses for R1.0 boards for CPU support??? Kinda shady right?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,044 (4.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,202
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    not really. At the time ,that was teh case..only those boards had working BIOSes.



    But yeah, they could have been a bit more forthcoming about how that support was going to play out...not that there was ever any doubt in my mind...
     
    Norton and brandonwh64 say thanks.
  21. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,675 (9.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,153
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Right on dave. Thank you for all you do here at TPU!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. FlanK3r

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    231 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    czech republic

    I think oficially not all now, but there will be the same as with Phenom...If you put unsported Phenom II and your board has support some Phenom II, this CPU will be working. Only in post will be something as "unknown CPU detected". Vishera has only very small upgrades in die. Others is about programming.
     
  23. CAT-THE-FIFTH New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    62 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Why don't you complain at Asus support? You seem to be trying to make excuses for their own support who told porkies.
     
  24. 50eurouser

    50eurouser New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    52 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    4th Dimension
    Dude bios 1605 for M5A97 is out, official FX Vishera Support link
     
  25. FlanK3r

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    231 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    czech republic
    see, I had right. And I need only brain and a bit logic, nothing more;):nutkick:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 0 (0 members and 0 guests)

Share This Page