1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asus OCgear at Computex

Discussion in 'News' started by Darksaber, May 29, 2007.

  1. Darksaber

    Darksaber W1zzard's Sidekick Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,640 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    807
    Location:
    Gmunden, Austria
    ATI and NVIDIA are both working on an external graphic solution for notebooks and ASUS has already shown working samples at CeBIT 2007. The company has taken the idea a step further and will be introducing an internal version dubbed "OCGear". It comes in combination with a GeForce 8600GT, which can be overclocked by turning the dial of the 5.25 inch unit. No word on how it interfaces with the graphic card or the rest of the PC.
    [​IMG]

    Source: TweakTown
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 29, 2007
  2. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Pretty cool. For the lazy ocer, just turn a knob. I like this idea and think its very neat. However, it doesnt allow for fine tuning, which to me, is a drawback.
     
  3. dsdsdk New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Messages:
    76 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    turning the dial :D
     
  4. pnice New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    friend comes over. "oh cool, you got a weird volume control for your computer" (cranks it up) "why did your computer just shut down, and now won't turn back on?"
     
  5. numlock2.0

    numlock2.0 New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    31 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    I ♥ NY
    That's pretty cool :D

    Turn the knob down in internet/work mode and crank it up in gaming mode! Sounds like a good idea, although I think there should will be a max/min that you can set yourself.
     
  6. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Yeah its cool but has drawbacks. Its a lazy person's oc. Dialing up a graphics card, Im sure the max is an established setting on that 8600GT. Id like to see that for the 8800 series and the HD2900 series as well.
     
  7. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    This is pretty neat.

    I would imagine that the software that is used with this would detemine the highest and lowest clocks that the card can handle.
    Then based on that would set the tuner.

    This is a good idea and will hopefully let noobie OCs learn somethings.
    Plus it would look pretty kewl in a case :)
     
  8. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I don't know about everybody else but this would be an awesome feature for a desktop as well, IMO.
     
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,380 (11.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,683
    I want one for my CPU.... 2Ghz for windowz, 3.4Ghz for gaming :D
     
  10. Zeratul_uy

    Zeratul_uy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    530 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Montevideo, Uruguay
    Would be awesome xD :rockout:
    Imagine your little son, who touch everything, spinning the dial... Roast-CPU for table 4 please!! :nutkick:
     
  11. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    I thought about this idea a year ago... wonder how my submitted idea to lian li worked out...
     
  12. regan1985 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,451 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Coventry UNI England
    i think its usefull for when your not playing games to lower it, but i bet it will only work on a 8600 witch means more hassle when you net a card and unless its going to work will all nvidia cards then it might be worth it just to be lazy!

    i better idea would be for the cpu to have one so when you just downloading at nite for example you dont need to restart and lower your clocks in order to set you be to say 50percent! like cool and quiet but you tell it when that would be a trick
     
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,380 (11.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,683
    Most enthusiast mobos nowadays come with multiple bios saves - for example, my bios has a stock (stable, undervolted) and an OC'd setting saved in two profiles. If i get a crash that may be OC related, i load the stock one to make sure.

    It should be quite easy for a mobo manuf to allow a hardware button connected to the mobo (reset switch :p ) to swap between some basic profiles - the catch being, can the OS handle multiplier/drastic FSB changes on the fly. (Ram timings and voltages would be hard, i beleive)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page