1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASUS Offers Full Support for AMD FX-9000 Series CPUs with Existing 990FX Boards

Discussion in 'News' started by Cristian_25H, Sep 3, 2013.

  1. Cristian_25H

    Cristian_25H News Poster

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,749 (4.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,106
    Location:
    Still on the East Side
    ASUS today announced that its existing 990FX-based motherboards all support the new flagship AMD FX-9000 Series processors at memory speeds up to 2400 MHz, without the need for a BIOS update.

    The ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z, Sabertooth 990FX R2.0 and M5A99FX Pro R2.0 motherboards all feature AM3+ Socket with full support for AMD's extreme-performance FX-9370 and FX-9590 processors. With eight-cores and unlocked clock speeds up to 5 GHz, the FX-9000 Series requires incredible amounts of power and generates considerable heat - AMD recommends a 1200 W power supply and liquid processor cooling.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Existing ASUS 990FX motherboards not only take the FX-9000 Series in their stride, straight from the box, but also support rock-solid stability at memory speeds up to 2400 MHz - something that currently cannot be attained by 990FX-based motherboards from other vendors.

    "ASUS is a market leader in the motherboard industry, thanks to the quality and innovation of its products," said Roy Taylor, Corp Vice President of Global Channel Sales at AMD. "The out-of-the-box support for AMD FX-9000 Series processors offered by its 990FX-based motherboards is further proof of the solid design and high-quality components for which ASUS has long been renowned. In fact it's so good, I used the same motherboard in my PC at home."
  2. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,555 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Wait what? Are they serious? That's overkill, even for a CPU drawing that much. :wtf:
  3. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    992 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    lol yeah, that 1200W PSU requirement is totally bollocks, lol.
  4. NC37

    NC37

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,152 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    251
    Hmmm...4.5Ghz 8320 + 2 GTX 460s + 750w PSU...yeah since when does a CPU need 1200w? :confused:
  5. Pholostan New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    There are a lot of crappy power supplies out there. A good 600 W PSU can cope much better than many a SUPER-SPECIAL-9999 units out there. Aaand AMD seems to think that bigger numbers are the bomb. Or something. Marketing, never understood it.
  6. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,242 (3.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,015
  7. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    6,927 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    888
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    220 Watt CPU! No wonder!

    You can probably cook an egg on that. :laugh:
  8. Absolution

    Absolution

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Messages:
    273 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    I hope the M5A99X Evo R2.0 also gets supported at some time. Everything almost the same (same power setup) with the exception of the chipset (990X vs 990FX)
  9. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,383 (7.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,131
    theres been a few people with xfire/sli and fully ocd their rigs (balls to the walls kind of overclocks) with 8350s and tripped their 800w psus.

    add a waterloop etc etc 1200w isn't so overkill
  10. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,555 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    No, it's still overkill unless you're running 3 GPUs or something. The only time I could see that much power being needed is for an array of TECs or something like that. 1200-watts isn't realistic.
  11. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,383 (7.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,131
    I left the ''etc etc'' to fill the void plus youd want a percentage of room with however much you got on the psu.

    I don't understand the dislike on overkill tbh, but what AMD said is laughable.

    also theres been a lot of talk on the asus M5 series boards with heavy throttling on high overclocks, so I don't know how that would handle a 9590 full load?

    Damn asus even branded their M5A78 to support Fx8 cores when they throttle 4core cpus.
  12. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    With dual 7950's and my phenom ii heavily overclocked I have popped the ocp on a good 850w unit. This cpu draws more than that phenom ii chip so why would the 1200w unit be unrealistic.
    d1nky says thanks.
  13. Jorge

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Messages:
    636 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    AMD expects those spending the bucks for a special FX-9590 CPU to also have a fully decked out box with dual or triple top-of-the-line GPU cards. The 1200w recommendation is so that there is a safety margin as many PSUs are over rated and not the greatest of designs, so they may only function well in the 800-1000w range regardless of the advertised 1200w power.

    As far as the FX-9590 power consumption is concerned the total power consumption is 220w but the TDP is closer to 165w based on testing of overclocked FX-8350 CPUs to 5.0 GHz.

    Asus is talking smack as usual because most highend AM3+ mobos will support the FX-9000 series CPUs without issue, such as Gigabyte's new board, Asrocks 990FX Fatality and Extreme9, etc. This is just Asus desperately seeking sales as the PC market continues to die with the Asian, U.S and UK economies.
  14. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,912 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    736
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    M5A99FX Pro R2.0 - according to Asus's site it supports but with limited functionality!

    "Due to the high TDP, please be noted there are limitations while using this CPU(i.e. special thermal required..) "
  15. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,483 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,725
    Hardware manufacturers always over recommend on the power supply side, and they should. They don't want to have to replace hardware under warranty because some idiot tries to run a high end rig on a 400w power supply. Remember, these are ASUS' recommendations, not requirements.

    If the person is paying $500+ for a CPU it is reasonable to assume they are also going to have at least dual graphics cards, so throw in some 7970s and you can easily hit the 900w mark. So having some headroom with a 1200w unit would be the smart thing to do.
    25 Million points folded for TPU
  16. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,383 (7.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,131
    yea itll be cruising at 3300mhz when throttling LOL
  17. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,687 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    726
    Location:
    Washington, US
    In a nutshell, ASUS had early knowledge of FX-9000 CPUIDs. The rest of the article is spin and fluff. The only news here is that there's no word about support for anything except their three most expensive boards.

    I feel like part of the quote is missing. Something along the lines of "..ever since they gave me this big pile of money."

    ..just like the processors before it. I don't see anything supporting that AMD said it. As newtekie and others have said, they'd rather tell you to buy expensive parts than potentially have your no-name 500w PSU take out all your components.
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU 1 Million points folded for TPU
  18. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,158 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    489
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    balls ,so my formula non Z is a bit sh!t already??, I doubt an Fx9590 can pull more power clock for clock then a 8350 so why the racism against old formula's (crosshair V Formula) in this Pr bumph, And I got the same fob off on Rog's forums but more direct.
  19. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    Its been tested working on the non-z model by a couple of folks. If your board supports the 8350 it will support the 9590/9370's.
  20. EpicShweetness

    EpicShweetness

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    305 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    JBLM
    AMD be like
    "MORE POWA!!!!!!"
    :roll::roll::roll:
    d1nky says thanks.
  21. Apocalypsee

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    103 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    No BIOS update for Sabertooth R1, getting tired of your mess ASUS!
  22. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,383 (7.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,131
    unless youre getting the 9590/9370 you don't need a bios update, even asrock have listed it supported from 1.90 an older vishera bios and havent changed much since then
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2013
  23. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,243 (10.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,881
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    The CPU is not worth the time and money
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,383 (7.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,131
    lol the 9590 is on sale again here for around £230

    and I agree with you tbh!
  25. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    It works fine on that board.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page