1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASUS Offers Full Support for AMD FX-9000 Series CPUs with Existing 990FX Boards

Discussion in 'News' started by Cristian_25H, Sep 3, 2013.

  1. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,677 (9.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,153
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I wouldn't even consider this an "enthusiasts" chip due to the fact that it comes right out of the box 5ghz and already to most boards limits and even with a higher end board, OCing would be maxed after 200 more MHZ due to power issues. To beat it all hardwarecanuks review shows it looses to the STOCK 4770K in gaming 8 out of 10 tests. newegg.com is selling this CPU for 900$ while a 4770K is 339.99$
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Apocalypsee

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    113 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Thanks for testing, I do send an email to ASUS for BIOS update and they say it's unsupported. I just like to have latest CPU microcode and AGESA version that's all :laugh: I got BIOS update fetish :twitch:

    My lowly FX-8320 works at FX-9590 base clock anyway with air cooling so there's no need to spend crazy money for these new FX-9k series :p
     
  3. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    It has been mentioned in many many threads already hardwarecanucks chip was not running at full speed. The chip was throttling either due to VRM's or temps. That review and a couple others show throttling.

    Any board that will post with an 8350 will post with a 9590/9370. Same microcode between the two chips.
     
    xvi says thanks.
  4. Fahim

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Messages:
    217 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    In Front Of My PC
    Nice. Time to upgrade and I already have a 1200w PSU. I hope my Zalman 9900FX cooler will work ok.
     
  5. Satansshadow New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Messages:
    6 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hi all this is my rig

    sabertooth 990fx rev 1 mobo
    12 gig corsair dom ram
    1090t 6 core cpu
    dual nvidia gtx 550's
    aywun 650w psu

    I am thinking about buying a 9370 cpu.

    Will this run a 9370 cpu with liquid cooling or is there anything i would need to upgrade majorly?????????
     
  6. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    The no name psu.
     
  7. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,746 (5.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    like cdawall said, that psu isn't branded which means itll be weak. something decent would do better like seasonic, xfx, antec or corsair anything around 850watt would do

    I think it translates to I-won! lol
     
  8. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    A solid 650-750w would be fine for the current components
     
  9. Satansshadow New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Messages:
    6 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    what do u mean by a branded psu?????
     
  10. Satansshadow New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Messages:
    6 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    cdawall the solid 650-750w is that to run what ive already got or to run the 9370cpu in what ive got??????
     
  11. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,746 (5.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    branded, means something made by a decent manufacturer with good components

    antec, corsair, seasonic, xfx (to name a few)


    its to run the 9370, but if you plan on a full custom loop I would get something slightly bigger.
     
  12. Satansshadow New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Messages:
    6 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I do have a thermaltake lite 700w psu, would that be good enough or would I need a psu from the previously mention brands????
     
  13. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Should be fine
     
  14. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,746 (5.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    it should be ok. im not too sure on the rails/quality of the thermaltake but a lot of people on here use em.

    I was typing before i saw someone answered lol
     
  15. Satansshadow New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Messages:
    6 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok so the thermaltake lite 700w should be fine to run the 9370 CPU with my rig now because I've got the sabertooth should I try and get the thermal armour to help spread any excessive heat produce by the CPU or won't it make a difference?????
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page