1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASUS P4P800 SE & ASUS P4P800-E Deluxe

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Pinchy, Oct 10, 2006.

  1. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Well i finally got a mobo upgrade :)

    I bought the ASUS P4P800 SE mobo for $100 AUD, and the seller also threw in an ASUS P4P800-E Deluxe and a Leadtek 5200. He is unsure of the working condition of the Vid card and second mobo though.

    Anyways what im asking.

    Firstly, whats the difference b/w the two mobos? All i can see is that one has 8 channel audio and the other doesnt...

    Secondly, is the mobo any good? Like how well will it OC? I know its heaps better than my current mobo so im happy :D...and ill probably sell this mobo for like $60 + if the gfx card and second mobo work i may actually get a profit and an upgrade :D

    Thanks in advanced :)

    Cheers :toast:
    Pinchy
  2. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,279 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    709
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    The P4P800-E should overclock really well if its not damaged. I don't know anything about the SE though.
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2006
  3. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    im expecting the P4P800-E to come dead, cus i dnt wanna get my hopes up :p...and if its fine when i get it, itll be such a bonus :D

    Another thing i forgot to mention. The only thing im not 100% happy about on the board is the 865PE chipset. im pretty nooby when it comes to chipsets, all i know is that the higher the number the better ;)

    I was looking at a mobo with an 875P chipset, but this deal i just got was too hard to throw away. So what am i missing out on by getting an 865PE chipset as opposed to 875P?
  4. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,279 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    709
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    The performance difference betweent the 865 and 875 chipsets is not all that great. Most people seem to believe the 875 overclocks slighty better, but not significantly better. The 875 supports ECC RAM and has a few other things that you probably won't miss. However, if I'm wrong someone please feel free to correct me.
  5. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    thanks for the quick responses polaris :)

    so its not like something major; to spend double the money for :p

    Is the 865PE the next best thing after 875P? Because in my other comp its got a "Springdale-G i865G" northbridge, and im VERY impressed with that mobo, especially over this SiS 661FX northbridge. Like, that comp has the same specs as this one (only with a 2.6 Northwood processor, this having a 3.0 Prescott) and whenever i put a gfx card in that one, it works SO much better than this one! I cant play CS:S when i put a FX5200 in this comp, even on lowest settigns (fps under 15) but in that comp, it works at 30+ FPS!! So it has to be the mobo difference :p
  6. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    well i was doin some research and look what i found :D

    "The 865PE (code named Springdale) is Intel's second best processor for the skt 478 platform. It is right behind the 875 (Canterwood), which is generally featured on board that are about 25% more expensive and 2-4% faster. The main difference between the two is a feature called PAT- Performance Acceleration Technology- which many MB makers have been able to duplicate with Springdale chips, much to Intel's chagrin."

    :D
  7. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,154 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    302
    currently running the - E deluxe - on main rig overclocks steady at 3.9 on prescott 3.0e using 2gig OZ 500 ram[4 by 512] no complaints[se spec]

    run the -SE- on my vista rig clocked to 3.75 on peoscott 3.0e also using 2gig noname[samsung chips] ram had to set ram at 320 to get sys stable with the fsb at 250 other wise this rig runs fine also :rockout: F
  8. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    sounds good :D

    Thanks for the experience...it sounds so much better than my current board, which cant clock past 3.3Ghz :p
  9. beachbum86

    beachbum86 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Messages:
    102 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oh no, last time i listed this a dude showed up at
    That E-deluxe is a awesome OC'er got my other 3.2 pressy to 4ghz, I switched mine out for a IC7 Max-3 which got me a little higher and more stable OC.

    But if the deluxe works, then you got yourself one of the Best OC'ers for 478 :D
  10. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    lmao i think id better two sticks of ram with the same timings, for MAX OC potential :D
  11. beachbum86

    beachbum86 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Messages:
    102 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oh no, last time i listed this a dude showed up at
    LOL , I think youd better get a nice set of TCCD sticks :toast:
  12. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Tccd?
  13. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    UPDATE

    Ok, i got the two motherboards today.

    Just like to know if someone can answer the original question. What is the difference b/w the P4P800-SE and P4P800-E Deluxe besides the 8 channel audio?

    I got the P4P800-E Deluxe in, but it would not boot, i can probably muck around with it and stuff, but i dont wanna waste time if the only diff b/w the two boards is the audio, which i dnt need :)

    Cheers :toast:
    Pinchy
  14. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,221 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    960
    Sometimes ASUS don't boot due to dud BIOS. You can try swapping the BIOS chip between the two boards since they are the same chipset (only the peripherals are different). See if it will start up. If it does, you can probably reflash the non-working BIOS using the hot-flash method.
  15. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,154 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    302
    to answer your ??? the Deluxe has added to it the Promise 20378 Raid controller supporting:1 ultra dma 133[2 drives] & 2 satas raid 0,1,0+1 and multi-raid . it also has the via vt6307 IEEE 1394 controller supporting 2 IEEE 1394 mb headers other wise they are the same except for the audio as you know:)
  16. beachbum86

    beachbum86 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Messages:
    102 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oh no, last time i listed this a dude showed up at
    Samsung TCCD chips are right up there with winbond BH-5 chips for there OC'ing potential. If you have a mobo that has the settings to pump up the Voltage to the ram alot like the DFI boards then BH-5 would be a great choice, ive seen them at 3.6v before :eek: , They love voltage. The TCCD chips are great because they can reach a farley high OC and low latency with a lower Voltage than your standard micron chip.

    Both these chips have since been EOL (end of line) so finding them can be a pain if you dont know where to look or what your looking for, Some of the best TCCD sticks are G-skill, OCZ has some nice BH-5 sticks if you can find them.
  17. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,982 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    the deluxe probabily overcloks better :rolleyes:
  18. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    thanks for the replies :)

    Yeah see, imo, its not worth trying to fix the deluxe and risk the SE if the only thing is the firewire and all the raid stuff...ive never ever used firewire (and dont intend to :p), never used raid, and only got 1 HDD anyway, and i only have a 5.1 speaker set, so dnt need 8channel audio :)...the only reason i would like to fix it is so i can sell it and make money back on it, b/c there is like $100 diff b/w a working and non-working board :p

    Btw beachbum, thanks for the explanation on the TCCD RAM ;)

    And PT, wat do u mean by deluxe OCing better, they got the same chipset and are almost identical, its just that one has the Promise thingo :p
  19. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,982 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    it may have more BIOS options to overclock :D
  20. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,982 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2006
  21. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    wow more bios options = better OC :p

    ...i find that really weird, like its the same bios/chipset and all :p
  22. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,982 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    i give you a example
    my M2N-E suposedly have the nforce 570 ultra chipset
    but it does have the nforce 570 SLI, altought i don't have any BIOS options that the SLI have like chipset voltage ;)
    (i can always flash it) :D
  23. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    ohh more bios options as in voltage controls...i get yea ;)

    Thx for the example :D
  24. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,154 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    302
    there are no "extra" options in the bios for ocing they are the same execpt for the raid sound and a audio post reporter both boards will clock up equally well depending on ram and volts applied F
  25. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    well the SE has all voltage controls :D...and u can set it to auto overclock, like "overclock 30%" :)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page