1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asus P5Kc won't detect IDE drives

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by ste2425, Apr 26, 2013.

  1. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,415 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    Bit of an odd one here my Asus P5Kc wont detect IDE drives. This started when i tried to install windows 7 on my IDE HDD. I have windows 8 on my main SATA HDD well aparently it installed it but then told me it couldnt boot from it due to BIOS settings. So when it was finished installing i promptly went into my BIOS to find out why. I couldnt find any specific option so i just did a factory reset as i new the board does boot from that drive as ive done it in the past. Now my issue is my current windows 8, which ive only just managed to fix, had boot issues possibly due to the windows 7 installation on the other drive, won't detect any IDE drive, be that the HDD i tried to install windows 7 on, or any other HDD or even DVD drive. More confusing is non of my IDE drives show up in the BIOS, nor any option for IDE drives it just shows me my four SATA ports and whats connected, i believe it to be BIOS related and not windows side but im just wondering if you guys have had similar issues? Im going to dig out the manual tonight if i can find it.

    Thanks all :)
  2. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,580 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,367
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Check SATA mode in general BIOS settings. If set to AHCI or RAID, it may have an effect on HDD's attached to the IDE bus, particularly if you're using it as the boot drive. Should be ok as a slave.
    ste2425 says thanks.
  3. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,415 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    Will do.

    Ill let you know if we have any luck
  4. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,580 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,367
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    I just noticed this:

    Southbridge
    4 xSATA 3 Gb/s ports
    JMicron® JMB363 PATA and SATA controller
    1 xUltraDMA 133/100/66 for up to 2 PATA devices
    1 xExternal SATA 3.0 Gb/s ports
    1 xSATA 3.0 Gb/s port (SATA On-the-Go)
    Support RAID 0,1,JBOD

    You may need to load the JMicron drivers before booting
  5. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,415 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    Errm how do you mean before booting?
  6. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,681 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    734
    Location:
    Portugal
    I just checked and the boot/F6 driver doesn't seem to exist for this board. There is one for RAID, though, but that probably isn't it.
    Sasqui says thanks.
  7. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,580 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,367
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    ^What JP mentioned. To load boot device software that isn't supported by the standard bootloader
  8. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,580 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,367
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Double post, sorry...

    Found this, it's right to what you're situation is:

    From Tomshardware: http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/264248-32-jmicron-jmb363-card-ahci
  9. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,681 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    734
    Location:
    Portugal
    So, in short, no way to have boot drives trough IDE.

    EDIT: Yeah, just noticed that the IDE ports are coming from a separate controller and not from the chipset. Whenever that happens, those ports will only be available for use when drivers are installed and/or can only be used for storage devices, not boot.

    EDIT2: Which is weird, because in my mind, the P35 supported IDE ports and it was the case with the P5KC (I almost bought one back in 2008).
  10. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,580 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,367
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    I'm not sure if that's true for all separate chipset drivers, but probably most.

    In short, the OP will probably have to bite the bullet and use a SATA drive for booting.
  11. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,681 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    734
    Location:
    Portugal
    It's also the case with USB 3.0 controllers on recent motherboards. Ports aren't usable (fully, on some cases) by the OS until the respective driver is installed.
  12. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,415 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    Thanks all for replies. At work at the moment so havent read it all properly but in a nutshell I carnt boot from IDE and IDE drives won't be usable/visible till I install drivers. Oh we'll the IdE drive for booting was just to test some stuff no real issue. The issue was it not being visible for storage. Thanks all

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page