1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASUS P5N32 SLI Premium bottlenecked???

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by sneekypeet, Oct 18, 2007.

  1. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,619 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,143
    Just recieved an ASUS P5N32 SLI Premium witht the 590 chipset on it. I've read reviews of the mobo , but most stem from late 2006. I have had my mobo to 350FSB and over 900 on the memory.
    [​IMG]

    Now I could really do with some input from the fellas who have run this mobo. I am currently onthe 703 bios , and I believe asus has a 9series bios to update to. Will it help any with the OC on this mobo, or am I just beating up on a bottleneck?

    Thanks for reading fellas , I really hope there are better answers then I should have gotten a better mobo. (this 1 was free, maybe this is why tho):toast:

    EDIT: specs for that bench test were Asus P5N32 SLI Premium...E6400....OCZ pc8500(not supported by mobo)...X850XTPE to test with (no drivers)...and 350 no name PSU(just for testing and writing windows)
     
  2. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    Sneekypeet, I'm no expert but it looks as though your FSB is a little low, Check Here.

    :toast:
     
  3. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,619 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,143
    thanks nammy but this is from the page you sent me the link for...


    Back to the actual overclocking tests, the P5N32-SLI Premium turned out to be quite a decent performer. Our board managed to run stable at 340MHz, which indecently is exactly the same overclock as the ASUS P5W DH (Intel 975X Express), when we reviewed the board. Not too shabby for the nForce 590 SLI Intel Edition, but still doesn't come close to the capabilities of Intel's new Broadwater chipsets. ASUS' P5B Deluxe for example, hit 490MHz on stock.
     
  4. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    Yeah found this Here;

    "The overclocking result is not impressive and is a clear sign that the aging C19 is no good when it comes to OC."

    :toast:
     
  5. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,619 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,143
    thats what I seem to be finding as well all over the place....May have to look into mods to MAKE it do better!
     
  6. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    You could always pick of a cheap 965p board and overclock the piss out of it. You would have to loose the dual 7600gt's though.
     
  7. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,619 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,143
    well i was chattin with D44ve and he suggested a bios update which has been performed flawlessly thru Windowz I might add. Doing some testing as I type with ScienceMark(stability). I will post more as I see if I can get past this wall stabily.

    @ Kenny did I mention this was FREE and i do prefer to keep the SLI option, thx tho!
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2007
  8. d44ve New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,521 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    309
    looking good
     
    sneekypeet says thanks.
  9. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,619 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,143
    seems to be stuck at 1440 wherever I put the voltages, but Im moving over to the memory side to see if there are any better gains there.


    EDIT: I guess it could be the PSU as well...only shows 11.8 on the 12V+ rail. I guess after the new acrylig top froom Danger Den come I can put it all in my rig and see if I can beat it into submission!!!!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page