1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asus P5Q-Pro and E7200 good combo?? plz help !!!

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by mullered07, Sep 19, 2008.

  1. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    thinking of going back to intel (sorry amd i love you but core 2's overclock like the shit :cry:)

    is the asus p5q pro mobo and e7200 a good buy for a mobo and processor? i want a high clocking c2d and a good overclocking board, crossfire is a definate bonus and so far for budget (£180) this the best i could come up with,

    now how far can the E7200 overclock ? i want at least 3.6ghz guaranteed overclock 24/7 maybe even 3.8ish, i have an asus silent knight hsf so temps shouldnt be an issue,


    please help guys im so tempted to press the buy button in my browser but i need to know if this is a good choice and i need to buy soon, its burning a hole in my e-pocket :eek:
  2. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,398 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Excellent choice, if you get a good E7200 you could be running 4GHz+ daily.
    mullered07 says thanks.
  3. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    thanks dark2099 im so tempted just to order now, c'mon guys more feedback, the board is it good? does it oc well ?????? :D
  4. Xazax

    Xazax

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3,409 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    394
    I hear intel is coming out with an E7400 with a 10.5 multi!!! wait and your patience will be rewarded with a insane OC! more then likely it will be the E0 stepping as well.
  5. xubidoo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    882 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Lancs,UK
    i had my E7200 up to 3.6 with only a small voltage increase (i didnt try for any higher) ,but tbh i simply don't need it that high at the moment so am running it at 3.2ghz 24/7 now.
  6. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    That is correct! Also the e5200 and e7300 are lookers!

    Great choice of mobo and cpu mullered07.
  7. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    isnt the e7200 a 10x multi ?
  8. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    It's a 9.5. The e7300 is a 10x and e7400 is a 10.5. In case you missed my post e5200 is 2.5Ghz, a 12.5x multi with 800fsb @ stock.
  9. xubidoo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    882 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Lancs,UK
    x9.5
  10. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,530 (13.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,929
    It's a 9.5 multi! From what I can gather the M0 stepping chips are the best.
  11. Xazax

    Xazax

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3,409 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    394
    E7200 is 9.5 i believe
  12. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,398 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    What is it today, this is the 2nd time I have seen about 4 of the same answers as if no one bothered to read the posts about theirs.
  13. xubidoo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    882 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Lancs,UK
    if you care to check what time the posts were made... all within a minute of each other.
  14. Xazax

    Xazax

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3,409 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    394
    As for the motherboard read this review, personally i dont think the P5Q-PRO is a good motherboard, considering they even used Ketx's own bios!

    http://xbitlabs.com/articles/mainboards/display/asus-p5q-pro.html

    "We continued pursuing our goal and undertook another experiment with the same processor but with the multiplier lowered to 8x. Of course, FSB needed to be increased much more dramatically in this case, so finer overclocking techniques had to be applied. The problem here could be increasing the chipset North Bridge voltage, because the chipset cooling system of ASUS P5Q Pro may fail to cope with a much hotter chip. Even replacing the original thermal interface with a more efficient organic silicon thermal compound didn’t help us push the NB voltage over 1.32V. As a result, we couldn’t reach stability at FSB speeds beyond 540MHz. Further MCH voltage increase resulted into chip overheating."

    "Here I would like to add that during our experiments we have once again detected incorrect mainboard behavior in case of over-overclocking. Just like ASUS P5Q3 Deluxe we tested earlier, if P5Q Pro can’t boot with the settings your chose, it will not reboot in safe mode and offer to correct the faulty settings. Instead it will clear CMOS completely and you will have to reconfigure everything all over again in the BIOS Setup."

    That to me would be EXTREMELY annoying...

    @dark, i replied the same time 3 other ppl did, there was no way i could see there posts.
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2008
  15. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    ok what about a G0 stepping quad and an MSI P35 Neo2-FR i want to take the quad to at least 3.2/3.4ghz, can this board do it ?

    please someone guide me, out of the 2 systems shown, which is best, OR simply reccomend another combo for me, within my budget.

    p.s. thanks a bunch for all your replys people, seriousley, this is why i love tpu, you rock :toast:
  16. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I have a P5Q pro and a E7200 and I can get mine to 4.5ghz for benching. I do 9.5x x 400fsb for 24/7 tho :)
    mullered07 says thanks.
  17. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,362 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    903
    I would stay away from the P5Q, they don't like memory and they don't overclock that well.
  18. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Mines likes my memory and OC's awesome.
  19. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    nice, 3.8 24/7 :toast: and 4.5 for benching :eek:

    thats what i want to hear, you have the exact combo im looking at which helps me a lot thank you ShadowFold

    now what about the other setup i mentioned, the p35 neo and G0 Q6600 ? this or the p5q pro and e7200

    tbh i dont do a lot of encoding, i game regularly and bench a lot so what would be the best setup ??
  20. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Dual Core for gaming. How many Q6600's do you see running 4ghz stable on air?
  21. farid

    farid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    158 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Valencia, Venezuela.
    E7200+P5Q its a great choice, thats the build I did for a friend and he does OC the E7200@4.0GHz stable 24/7.

    I recommend you that combo.

    Good Luck.

    Farid :D
  22. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    ok, based on your expertise ;) thats going to be my combo, so i will be calling on you a fair bit to help me with bios settings etc :toast:
  23. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    They are easy. AI Tweaker is very easy to use and it has a built in BIOS flash utility in the bios that I use alot and it works great.
  24. Xazax

    Xazax

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3,409 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    394
    I'd still recommend against it, ASUS mobos are hit and miss. so while they may be hitting some good OCs they have more experience and maybe a better then average motherboard that helps them.
  25. andrewsmc

    andrewsmc

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    977 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Pikeville NC
    I just got done putting together my build last night with the P5Q pro, And its great.. im a first builder but its 5 eggs and a really good buy. I overclock to 3.0 already with Q6600 Im nub!

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page