1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASUS P6T Deluxe Intel Core i7 Nehalem Motherboard Up Close and Personal

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Aug 20, 2008.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    After Intel's Nehalem platform is no secret anymore, it's time to start looking at the motherboards that will support the new Socket 1366 buddies. One of them is ASUSTeK's upcoming P6T Deluxe mainboard based on Intel’s yet-to-be-released X58 Express, the first chipset to power the Socket 1366 Core i7 Nehalem processors. As part of the whole platform, the P6T Deluxe has a total of six DDR3 slots intended for triple-channel mode and three PCI-Express x16 slots with support for dual and triple video card configurations. It's too early to say which one, ATI's CrossFire, NVIDIA's SLI or both combos. Expect further information when the time comes. Meanwhile if you want to take a closer look at the motherboard please click here.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: PCGH
     
  2. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,784 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    Wow a few changes to the way the PEG go in the slots,Those hooks remind me of the AGP 2 days with the self locks.Also the way they look beveled and what not,must be for heat?The board itself looks crowded around the cpu socket with all them caps,Must be that the new after market coolers will need to go straight up over them caps then surround the rest of the area(thinking the Cooler Master V8 ) also those pvrm coolers look way to high holy god overkill maybe? .
     
  3. REVHEAD New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Messages:
    300 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Sydney/ Australia
    Looks allright, but why on earth does it still have a North Bridge?
     
  4. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    I'm not sure but that's maybe the NVIDIA chip which will bring SLI support for the Socket 1366 era, but that's unconfirmed information yet
     
  5. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Like the new PEG hook in the end. Hate the current "standard" 1st slot side hook that gets always stuck when removing GPU. AGP style wasn't the greatest either, when longer cards came. The latch was under the card/cooler and sometimes impossile to reach.

    Caps are no problem, current coolers already go over them in S775, like mine. Anything inside that pushpin area can't be higher than they are and aftermarket coolers are designed to be compatible.
    [​IMG]
     
  6. thebeephaha

    thebeephaha

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    Oh my god... Must have. :eek: :respect:
     
  7. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    the reason it got a northbridge becus its a connection chup from cpu to NB to PCI-e and southbridge
    other words its just a connection ship
     
  8. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    I think it looks beast.
     
  9. qwerty_lesh

    qwerty_lesh

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    534 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    omg 6 ddr3 sockets, that is freakin awesome! i hope the x58 chipset has just as good hopefully if not better memory support compared to its older extreme chipset buddies, i can just imagine an extreme core i7 cpu on this baby with 6 of hynix's new 16gb ddr3 modules, whatever flavour uber gfx cards aswell, i reckon game development will take a while before there able to pull a 'crysis' on these specs :toast:

    also; im suprised and delighted that im seeing the next generation boards so soon :rockout:
     
  10. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,769 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,557
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    It would be nice, if this time around, there were a few more decent Intel single PCI-E x16 boards available that would be cheaper and more relevant to single slot enthusiasts.
     
  11. Joe Public

    Joe Public

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    134 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    I had wished they'd do something about the CPU cooler retention system, but we seem to be stuck with the push pin system. I'm looking forward to the official Core i7 release and test reviews tho.
     
  12. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,972 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    Location:
    Ohio
    The page now says "SLI support confirmed"

    I think you're right, because there are only 6 expansion slots that I see.
     
  13. Viscarious New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    951 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    I love the colors they chose, makes it look evil and demonic.
     
  14. PCpraiser100 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,062 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    I see that i7 is still using some traditional technologies, thank god its using a 4/8 pin, if it were eight pin that would steam the community.
     
  15. Whilhelm

    Whilhelm New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    844 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    Location:
    Barrie, Canada.
    Interesting battery placement. Only six DDR3 slots? :shadedshu

    What is up with the red usb ports on the rear I/O
     
  16. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,769 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,557
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    12Gig not enuff for you, probably the only puter to use that kind of memory is located in NASA.....you a spaceman or somethin? :D
     
  17. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,972 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    Location:
    Ohio
    lol maybe he wanted to use it for a high-end server/workstation.
     
  18. PCpraiser100 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,062 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    With that in mind, there will might be a first E-ATX if too many features are on the mobo.
     
  19. Korban_Dallas New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    USB 3.0?
     
  20. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    Last i heard Nasa uses 386's.
     
  21. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    I don't think it would be an issue at all. Almost anyone looking to buy this board, and the chip that goes with it, is gonna have a psu with an 8pin on it.

    I eagerly await the boards that are Crossfire AND sli capable.
     
  22. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,972 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    Location:
    Ohio
    Umm, maybe you're referring to the crap they user on little landers and stuff like this http://ahtim.com/nasa-computer-specs-to-mars/

    But, I think when most people refer to NASA computers, they mean the supercomputers like this http://www.nas.nasa.gov/Resources/Systems/pleiades.html

    Edit: And 12gb is nothing compared to what's in systems like that.

    "Memory

    * Type - DDR2 FB-DIMMs
    * 1GB per core, 8GB per node
    * Total Memory - 20 TB"
     
  23. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,769 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,557
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Yep, with the fastest ramdrive's on the planet......and lots of them!
     
  24. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,177 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    wow , i think it is sli mobo , cuz Deluxe from asus com with sli
     
  25. Zantheus New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Do any of you know if the board will support 12gigs DDR3-15000 1866ghz??

    I am looking to buy OCZ Reaper 8-8-8-28

    Memory product code is OCZ3RPR1866LV6GK

    Ive been researching all day and have not been able to find an answer
    Thanks in advance
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page