1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASUS P6T Deluxe X58 Motherboard Coming Soon

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Sep 18, 2008.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    XFastest.com posted today a ton of ASUS P6T Deluxe motherboard press event shots and detailed product pictures. All the valuable information about the motherboard can be seen in the pictures. Only four pics will be posted here, the rest of them can be viewed at our collegues at VR-Zone.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: XFastest
  2. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,776
    No mention of SLI compatibility. Bummer.
  3. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,476 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    I know this is a bit stupid of me, but I'm waiting for a manufacturer to release a black and red motherboard. Plus, doing so I'll also be saving myself some headaches if I go straight ahead adopting a new infant.
  4. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,960 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    857
    Aren't these chipsets supposed to be pretty cool-running and thus not need such elaborate cooling?
  5. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Looks really similar to my P5Q deluxe. Was excited about nehalem, then they said that CPU and mem voltages would be sync'd. :shadedshu
  6. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,960 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    857
    +1 on that, that's ****ing bullshit if you ask me. I will be surprised if there isn't at least one manufacturer that tries to find a work-around for that and let you un-sync them. I can't imagine it would be too difficult, just would probably need a lot of BIOS updates.
  7. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Not when you're running them at 2.4Ghz :p
  8. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Maybe at worst have ratios like you do for mem speed, but if AMD can have unlinked cpu/ram voltages why cant intel?

    I like having my ram stock and CPU OC'd. Like I have now, If you want a massive OC on your CPU your gonna need high end RAM, thats not on.
  9. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,276 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,188
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    I assume the 100% (insert Chinese characters here)... is 100% solid cpacitors. ;)

    Nice to see an IDE plug - or is that a floppy connector? :laugh:

    The side oriented Sata plugs suck, except for helping hide the cables.
  10. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,486 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,727
    SAS? Is that really needed or even helpful to enthusiasts?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    27,678 (11.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,418
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Yes. NB cooling is gimmicky, though the CPU VRM area needs it. Nehalem chips are hungry. SB needs it asusual, but on close inspection of the P6T, you'll notice the heatsink over NB isn't an elaborate affair like maybe Maximus Extreme, etc. However, don't fall for "X58 chipset cooling with ZOMG water blocks" the NB isn't the memory controller anymore, you won't be touching its voltage controls.
  12. jbizzler New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    Messages:
    80 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Yeah there is. Look at the very last picture in the thread.

    But really. SAS? I guess it's good because then this can be a workstation board as well.

    This thing is going to be like $500. Just watch. Ridiculous.
  13. paybackdaman

    paybackdaman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    425 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Clermont, FL
    Still not seeing the SLI support...crossfire support yes....:confused:
  14. Octavean

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    644 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    SLI support for this X58 board may still be pending certification. I’d start getting concerned if it ships without SLI certification and not before.
  15. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    It has a floppy and IDE connector :p old skool
  16. kaylix New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    What's wrong with floppy and IDE connectors?

    Big deal if they're legacy components. It's nice to have the option. I've had to use them in the past to resurrect a clients hard drive.

    And I think SAS is a fantastic addition. It's a $750+ option on Mac Pro's (of course those PCI controllers have their own processor) but the performance difference is amazing. I guess those folks who purchased WD Raptors and the new VelociRaptors would be interested in the next step in performance to SAS.
  17. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    I'm all for legacy components, someone asked if it had a floppy or ide and I was saying it did.
  18. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,146 (13.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,597
    I'm all for having a floppy connector. Very helpful for flashing etc.. when there are problems flashing by other means.
  19. DeltaFox

    DeltaFox New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Messages:
    39 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Denmark
    Come on, what enthusiast doesn't want to run a couple of Cheetah 15K.6 in RAID 0 for OS and Games?
    I know i do!
    And now i don't need to but a expensive WS board for it or MSI K9A2 Platinum with its stupid SB 600
    PS. Velociraptor maybe *almost* as fast but not if you do like do really heavy multitasking
  20. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    And with that, I think they won't show anything until the Big Bang... I think after that we will show more on the X58... I know the Big Bang II is driver software and what not, but one big thing after another you know..
    But, my thoughts on it.
  21. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,960 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    857
    I still didn't think it made much difference since the memory controller is in the cpu :ohwell:

    Very good points there. I wasn't thinking about the VRM area, which I would agree definitely does need it.
  22. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,789 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    sli is software based on nehalem
    but who nows

    btw anny signs of abit or msi x58 mainboard?
  23. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    I bet those boards will be shown right before it comes out... I know it's coming! It has to!
  24. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple

    Word up, bro! RAIDing 2 SAS drives would be insane, hopefully the board supports RAID for these babies.
  25. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    No doubt msi and abit have their boards ready, they wouldn't miss this for the world

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page