1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asus P6X58D Premium - i7 BSOD

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Revy106, Feb 27, 2010.

  1. Revy106 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    26 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    SORRY FOR DOUBLE POST
    But I wasn't quite sure which section to post under.
    Original Thread: http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=116285

    Hey guys, My dad and I bought a whole new system the other day and well mine works flawlessly oc'd his on the other hand is being a rather big pain

    My spec:
    Asus P6X58D Premium
    i7 920 oc'd 4.2Ghz 1.28750v
    6Gb Corsair RAM 1600Mhz 1.64v
    ATi 5870 890/1290
    H-50 Corsair CPU Cooler
    Creative XFI Titanium gamer edition
    Rapter 150Gb HDD SATA x2 Raided for 2.1 ST
    OCZ 750w PSU
    Antec 1200 case

    Dads spec:
    Asus P6X58D Premium
    i7 920 oc'd 4.2Ghz 1.29v
    6Gb Corsair RAM 1600Mhz 1.68v
    ATi 5970 XFX Black edition STOCK
    H-50 Corsair CPU Cooler
    Rapter 150Gb HDD SATA x2 Raided for 2.1 ST
    Corsair MOD 750w PSU
    Antec 1200 case

    Now mine runs flawlessly It really shits silk :laugh: but my dads just seems to dump :(
    Now his had his for 3 days I've had mine for 4 mine really easy to OC went straight for it really nice...my dads well he had to send the first i7 back because it wanted quadruple the amount of power that thing was safe for just to even boot up into windows (It was BSODing at the boot up screen to windows 7 64 ultimate). So that was sent back and he brought another i7 from Novatech lucky for us thats an hours drive from where we are so that was put in the same day...and Hazaaa it went through at 1.28750v all oc'd to 4.2Ghz but over time it was getting more unstable BSODING every 10-20 mins sometimes an hour or so...and just trying to post this thread up 5 mins ago it BSODded on me and I lost all of this ><.
    By the way Playing COD:MW2 for 2-3 online games didnt notice anything wrong was really nice and smooth played AVP 3 on single player after 10-sometimes 30 mins it would BSOD.



    I managed to recover some error reports on these lock ups and BSODS


    Log Name: System
    Source: Microsoft-Windows-Kernel-Power
    Date: 27/02/2010 15:11:08
    Event ID: 41
    Task Category: (63)
    Level: Critical
    Keywords: (2)
    User: SYSTEM
    Computer: Spirit-PC
    Description:
    The system has rebooted without cleanly shutting down first. This error could be caused if the system stopped responding, crashed, or lost power unexpectedly.
    Event Xml:
    <Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
    <System>
    <Provider Name="Microsoft-Windows-Kernel-Power" Guid="{331C3B3A-2005-44C2-AC5E-77220C37D6B4}" />
    <EventID>41</EventID>
    <Version>2</Version>
    <Level>1</Level>
    <Task>63</Task>
    <Opcode>0</Opcode>
    <Keywords>0x8000000000000002</Keywords>
    <TimeCreated SystemTime="2010-02-27T15:11:08.242408300Z" />
    <EventRecordID>4171</EventRecordID>
    <Correlation />
    <Execution ProcessID="4" ThreadID="8" />
    <Channel>System</Channel>
    <Computer>Spirit-PC</Computer>
    <Security UserID="S-1-5-18" />
    </System>
    <EventData>
    <Data Name="BugcheckCode">10</Data>
    <Data Name="BugcheckParameter1">0x4</Data>
    <Data Name="BugcheckParameter2">0x2</Data>
    <Data Name="BugcheckParameter3">0x0</Data>
    <Data Name="BugcheckParameter4">0xfffff8000289bf8d</Data>
    <Data Name="SleepInProgress">false</Data>
    <Data Name="PowerButtonTimestamp">0</Data>
    </EventData>
    </Event>


    Event ID: 41
    Task Category: (63) This is the same over and over again

    I've been working on this myself for 3 days solid I just want to play games on my PC someone help me fix this :p PLEASE!!! :respect:
     
  2. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    are you both on the same bios ?

    what are your settings for Qpi, IOH

    I had BSOD cuz the 2nd row of mem timings would always be changing on every boot but i set then and ran IBT and it didnt BSOD
     
  3. Revy106 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    26 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    P6X58D Premium BIOS 0604

    on both mobo's and Hmmm ill try that
     
  4. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
  5. Revy106 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    26 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  6. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
  7. Revy106 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    26 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ah Ok I've flashed the bios now on 703 Ill put the ram back to 1.64v what would you say are the best timings for this ram
     
  8. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    stock 8-8-8-24 or 20

    if you look at there results

    there isnt much of a difference with what they tested them at


    [​IMG]
     
  9. Revy106 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    26 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I like the look of 9-9-9-24 Because I cant actually set my Dram volts to 1.65 since it goes up in 0.02 incre's little odd so it would actually be under powered at 1.64v surely?
     
  10. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    did you install the Chipset Software ?

    i dont think .01 is going to make a big difference ;)
     
  11. Revy106 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    26 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yep installed the chipset software but you blink and you miss this installation
     
  12. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    +1
     
  13. Revy106 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    26 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Bios view of RAM settings
     
  14. Revy106 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    26 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Just tryed another intel burn test set to Maximum 3 runs 8 threads and did the first two then BSOD
     
  15. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Set your CPU's core voltage to 1.35V and your qpi(vtt) voltage to 1.35V as well. See if you stop crashing. This doesn't seem like a ram problem since you're running in spec.
     
  16. Revy106 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    26 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ive set it to that and Ive ran a Intelburntest now before with the volts lower it was "Speed(GFlops) 60 now with the volts you've told me to set its at 45.2(Gflops)
     
  17. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Interesting. Is it stable though? It's entirely possible that at lower volts it was completing rounds at 60 gflops as an erroneously.
     
  18. marvelous211

    marvelous211 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    147 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    US East Coast
    When blue screen it's usually fault of the memory. You should memory test to see if it passes.
     
  19. Revy106 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    26 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Its working fine right now :) the speed is great! his just playing COD:MW2 now after running 5 Burntests the Crysis cpu benchmark 50 times and the Crysis assault map bench 10 times
    not one bluescreen :) that voltage seems to have fixed it!! fingers crossed it has anyway ^^
     
  20. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    You shouldn't assume it's that simple.

    I'm glad man. The truth is that your low voltage chip is still an uncommon thing for 920s. Most require 1.3V+ to operate at 4.2GHz
     
  21. Revy106 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    26 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Been working fine right now the games on this system are now kicking ass, but when using mixmeister it randomly froze which was a little strange, Now I had this sort of problem before I reinstalled windows (with this system still) I'm currently using the G35 headset USB and when installing the Realtek drivers and using any sound on the system it would freeze and Id have to restart this time I have not installed realtek and just using G35 headset on its own and well its only one hard lock but I don't exactly want it doing that again any real idea as to what it might be?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page