1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asus P7P55D LE Thoughts *for i3*

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by kurosagi01, Aug 19, 2010.

  1. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,130 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
  2. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    you will need a different cpu to update the bios with like 17 or 15750, an i5 6XX may work maybe not. but other than that the P7P55 series are insane boards bro, overclock just as well as the maximus series on the cheap. i love mine thats for damn sure (p7p55d deluxe)
     
  3. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,581 (6.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,108
    The LE has a limited bios and limited voltages, at least mine did when I had one. Wouldnt be my choice if I planned to OC my goods.
     
  4. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,130 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    Well perhaps light overclocking?? if it can overclock my i3 to 4ghz in future when needed then im happy.
     
  5. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,581 (6.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,108
    it took my 750 to 4ghz but had trouble with 2K ram speeds. Depends on what you are looking to do. Ended up selling mine cheap just to get rid of it. Personal reasons aside, the limited voltage options were a real let down IMHO. Also IIRC there are no colers on the CPU phase area. From what I see in my GB and from that ASUS. This area needs more than to be just left naked.

    Also as suggested w/o a chip to flash the board you may have issues even booting.
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2010
  6. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,130 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    I have a i3 530 right now which i am thinking of installing to this board and my rams are only 1333 if you mean mhz speed and i3 are meant to be clock with voltage no more than 1.3v or something.
     
  7. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,581 (6.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,108
    well as OC101 says the bios may not accept the 530 to boot the board. Other than that I guess the LE will cover your needs.
     
  8. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,130 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
  9. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,581 (6.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,108
    has been edited. Im sure I had my ASUS before some of those chips were even retail;)

    Good to know you should be all set to boot the processor though.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page