1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

asus P8 Z68-V pro problems

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by fullinfusion, Dec 30, 2011.

  1. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,155 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,963
    Im stuck on this problem the mother board is having. I've done a fresh OS install, checked the memory... ran one stick and checked all the normal things.

    Problem being. I cant boot into windows at anything above 4.6 or is it 4.7GHz but whatever it's all the same. It makes it to the windows logo and freezes there. I restart the system and I get the repair windows recommended option or start windows normally. If I select repair windows then its a 50/50 shot I can see the attempting to repair screen, the other times I cant see the screen so I just kill the power supply.

    The only way I can get this bitch to boot is by removing the battery and moving the jumper to CLRTC... done! hit restart and the repair option comes up and 100% of the time I see the repair window open and it boots @ 5GHz..

    Is this a problem with the bios? or mobo screwed? I just got it a week ago and am at a loss here.

    Help :respect:
  2. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,891 (4.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,972
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Sounds like PLL overvoltage is needed for the higher multis.

    Clearing CMOS would set that back to auto...which would be "Enabled".
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  3. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,155 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,963
    nope...after I clear it I turn pll off even if all is on auto setting I still have the problem.. the bios needs to be reset and then it works.
  4. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,891 (4.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,972
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Weird. There has been a few boards now that impose a 4.7 GHz clock limit... Perhaps try another BIOS...or adjust turbo limits, maybe. Sounds like settings in the BIOS no holding, or some other oddity.


    Very interested to see how this one works out. The only ASUS Z68 board I have is the Gene-Z.
  5. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,155 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,963
    Im on the latest bios. I was on the phone to Asus but had to bit my toung on what the actual problem was.. Anyways asus was saying there was a problem with these boards and the PLL needed to be disabled...
    Im doing an exchange with the good ol master card as soon as they get it in stock
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2011
  6. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,155 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,963
    I wonder wth they are doing that for? Dave do you know where I can get a beta bios?
  7. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,891 (4.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,972
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Unfortunately, I only know that beta BIOSes for the ROG boards are on the ROG forums...


    Not too sure why some boards ahve that limit..I know it's quite common on MSI boards though. I know that MSI has BIOSes on their forum that fixes it for their boards though.

    I'm not sure if you've got the same problem or what...

    Sometimes newer BIOSes appear here:

    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums...icial-Z68-Chipset-Motherboards-Support-Thread
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  8. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,280 (4.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,419
    sucks this happening to your brand new machine dude, perhaps the ram is limiting it, that or they locked em down to make room for the 2011 platform... Might do that as a marketing ploy to get you to buy the higher end model of the Z68 series...
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  9. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,155 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,963
    Thanks Dave. It's book marked.
    Na its like Dave was saying, some boards are being limited to x46... x47 is a no boot unless you reset the bios and do the windows repair. It cant be windows because I've installed it twice already... It's something in the bios thats fucking with the windows boot loader im thinking. I was saying a few posts back that the 1101 bios was the shits just for the fact I couldnt boot @ x47 or higher... I was finally able to put 2 n 2 together and it is ASUS playing god with this bios. Im going to let these asses know that i payed good money for a product! I own the hardware so I should be able to do what I want with it. Just like my big truck being goverened,, the factory govern it for the break in and warrenty period. If you change a setting and the engine poops out its on the owners hands..

    Sorry for the big loud typing but it pisses me off!!!!

    Im going to try something and will let you all know what happens... just need a bit of time.
  10. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,280 (4.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,419
    Id say maybe go with a different board maker, tbh Asus is Overrated just like Corsair
  11. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,891 (4.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,972
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    If you crashed when OCing in OS, it's possible the Intel Management Engine has become corrupted. Might wanna give that a re-install to be sure. ;)
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  12. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,155 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,963
    Lol I hear ya :toast: But to be honest I have had nothing but great luck with both Companys when it come to RMA... Your sugesting I try a different manufacture is a bit of a nut kicker as Im not into change :eek:. But then again im Intel now and I never thought it would happen as much as I despise them.. but one step at a time bro lol... Im ol school... I dont like change.
  13. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,155 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,963
    I dont ever overclock in the OS :twitch:, never have and never will.
    Thats kinda cheating isn't it? you should get your mouth washed out for those filthy words lol But I'll give it a go installing the intel management driver... So far im having success... I set the multi to x46 booted then shut down and back into the bios x47 yada yadda... im up to x48 and going for 49 and 50... If that works Im going to set everything at stock running numbers as if its Grannys computer :) from there Im just going to go from auto to x50 and up the volt a tad.. If it fails I know whats up as Im sure you do :respect:

    EDIT: x48 is the wall... either reflash the bios or pull the battery and reset the CRTC...
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2011
  14. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,280 (4.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,419
    Reason i dont go with Asus is cause of the amt of motherboards from them ive had to replace in Customers Machines (new customers) I had one and I wont trust them again. Ive had better luck with ECS, MSI, DFI, AsRock.

    Havent used Gigabyte yet though
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  15. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,612 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,245
    I have the exact same board and this is the first time im hearing about this issue....

    I havent tried to max out my multi yet as i dont really need to but I know for a fact that i can do at least 50x without no problems.

    It could be that youve just picked up a duff board. Similar problem happened to me when i had a biostar Tpower i45. board was supposed to be the boss when it came to overclocking. Highly recommended by other techsites like Bit-tech/CustomPC, most reviews of the board said they pushed the FSB as high as 600 and it still booted despite crashing when it came to loading windows.

    My board refused to go any higher then 470 or 475 and when i tried to push it further to 500 the board just never posted again, everytime id hit the powerbutton nothing would come up on screen.

    the board you have isnt a bad one, Id try for an RMA directly with the retailer you brought it from. If they refuse you then just say you arent entirely satisfied with the product and you wish for a refund. MOST retailers should give you at least 2 weeks satisfactory period where you can get a refund if youre not totally happy.

    If it does come to that. dont let them bullshit you around as they might do...One retailer once told me i couldnt get a refund despite owning 2GPUs less then a week because the box was already opened.

    well...thats really smart. How the hell am i supposed to tell if I am satisfied with the product or not if i cant open it up and actually use it?? its like asking a beggar how comfortable the beds in the 5 star hotel hes staring at from the ditch across the street when hes never had the money to book a room let alone been able to go inside before.

    I solved my issue by speaking with the department manager anyway.
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  16. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,155 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,963
    I hear what your saying Freedom :toast:
    From all the testing I've dont tonight it's the mobo.
    It's starting to degrade and I already have it on rma with Asus here in Canada..
  17. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,280 (4.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,419
    lets hope the second one isnt crap either, less your cpu isnt all that its cracked up to be...
  18. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,155 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,963
    Nothing wrong with the cpu. I've narrowed it down to a bad mobo. Asus rep even told me these boards have a voltage problem. Im going to see if I cant get a credit and grab a new ROG mobo... I've always had success with them.
  19. kciaccio New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    366 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    I Just made a new build on this board last weekend too and having some issues. There seems to be only one Bios release so far for this board and it is crammed full of features.

    I used the AI auto clocking feature. I don't have any issues so far that I cannot handle.
    Some blue screens, but having a SSD definitely helps by having fast reboot. It seems to have weird overclocking spikes.

    I had a 4.7 overclock and then backed off to 4.4 and it seems like I catch it in monitoring programs spike to over 5 and that seems to trigger my blue screens.
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  20. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,155 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,963
    Mine does the same dam thing at times. not all the time but sum times :wtf:
  21. kciaccio New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    366 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    I'm relieved to hear you do too.

    I am using a powercolor 6870 2GB video card with 4 monitors and just got two more monitors in today to make it an eyefinity 6 set up.

    You helped me out by ruling out video card issues.
  22. Spaceman Spiff

    Spaceman Spiff

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    632 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    128
    Pretty similar build here infusion. Just got it built 2 weeks ago. I can't say I've had any problem like that. I get an occasional blue screen usually on idle just coming off of heavy load but I've got no problems running 50x with HT on with Offset voltage +.080. In bios its 1.240 + .080 = 1.320 but in cpu-z it shows 1.440v. LLC set on Ultra-high.

    What voltage are you running?

    Perhaps post your bios settings and I'll go hunt for the template I based my OC off of.

    EDIT: If you have not seen this thread, I highly recommend doing some reading. Got some great info in it.

    http://www.overclock.net/t/1012874/the-official-asus-p8p67-p8z68-p8z68-gen3-series-owners-club

    Also, I have PLL overvoltage enabled.
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2011
  23. kciaccio New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    366 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46


    I have the same idle issue at times.
  24. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,612 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,245
    Man. I must be pretty lucky to not suffer from the same problems you guys are suffering from. I do get the occasional bsod and crash but that's usually down to bad graphics drivers from amd
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  25. Spaceman Spiff

    Spaceman Spiff

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    632 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    128
    Lol. Well strike that. Just had a hard lock in BF3. Gonna try turning off HT and playing some more. Don't wanna up the voltage any more.

    Yeah the idle issue is supposed to be remedied with LLC settings but I don't want to go to extreme, although I may try it to get some more stability. Temps start getting risky though.

    EDIT: @ Freedom, care to share some voltages and bios settings. I'm still working on complete stability and I'd really like to keep my 5ghz for bragging rights obviously. :laugh:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page