1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asus p8z68 e.t.c 4xRAM problem like p45?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by sy5tem, May 16, 2011.

  1. sy5tem

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    447 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Canada/quebec/Montreal
    hello!

    im about to receive my p8z68 and i was wondering, is this new h67/p67/z68 have problem with 4 ram slot populated ? anybody know? because my super stable q9400 with 2x2GB was really hard to get stable with 4x2gb (needed voltage and timing slacking)

    thank you
  2. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    932
    To some extent, yes. It's more difficult to run 4 sticks at 2133 than 2 sticks on 1155 chipsets. However I haven't seen anything about 4 sticks effecting the cpu's max overclock this generation.
    sy5tem says thanks.
  3. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,865 (4.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,936
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Only had issues with CAS6 sticks(no board I've touched will do CAS6 with 4 sticks, 2, no problem), and @ 2133 MHz.
    sy5tem says thanks.
  4. sy5tem

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    447 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Canada/quebec/Montreal
    cool

    i don't intend to overclock bus much as multiplier is unlocked on the 2600k so il be fine with my 4x4 gb (corsair vangence DDR3-1866 CL9-9-9-24 ) i plan on running it at ~1600mhz
  5. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,865 (4.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,936
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    very good chance that vengence will work as it should. If they were two seperate kits, there is no guarantee on the 1866 clocks, but 1600 should be a cakewalk.
  6. sy5tem

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    447 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Canada/quebec/Montreal
    cool to know ! thats why i went 1866 .. thinking it would almost guarantee 1600mhz stable glad some1 else also think so!
  7. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,865 (4.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,936
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Sometimes two separate kits won't work together...I've had it happen.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page