1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asus PNE-5 Sli not show bios on start up

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Wsimp58, Nov 23, 2007.

  1. Wsimp58 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    60 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have just recently built a new computer. I am about positive i have every cord plugged in the correct spot, but i am having this odd problem.

    Upon turning the system on every thing powers up and will be begin to work, the processor and video card fan start spinning and the hard drives does the normal clicking noises etc etc.

    Before you plug in the monitor cord to the video card you see the normal " no signal" prompt on the screen, as soon as you plug the monitor in the screen just goes blank. It does not show the bios or anything. Just a blank screen as if it does not receive any signal, but the video card itself is running(the fan).It will do the same thing if the computer is turned off and then turned on.This is also a fresh unformated hardrive.

    This is my Mobo,video card and processor.
    ASUS P5N-E SLI LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 650i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard
    EVGA 768-P2-N831-AR GeForce 8800GTX 768MB 384-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16
    Intel Core 2 Duo 3.9 ghz
    Musking 2gig 240 pin ram x2

    i hope i explained my problem well enough for any of you to understand.
     
  2. craigwhiteside

    craigwhiteside New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,178 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    101
    Location:
    UK, Liverpool
    try resetting the bios, make sure your video card is correctly inserted, also have a look at the connections from the monitor to graphics card, look to see if any connections inside your computer are inserted correctly, if they dont work your pc's bios may be corrupt :(
     
  3. Wsimp58 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    60 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks you, every thing is in the right spot( the power supply cords and such were dummy proof) and i have checked to see if the card is set what seems like 100 times.

    How would i go about reseting the bios if i cannot get it to show on the screen? Pulling the battery out and if it's corrupt i guess that means i need to RMA the board back to newegg right?
     
  4. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    What's the specs of the psu?

    Do you have the PCI-e power connector correctly connected to the video card?

    Does the motherboard give beep codes if you remove your ram? Have you tried one ram stick at a time?
     
  5. Wsimp58 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    60 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ram in ram out and in different slots i still get the same thing. I get no error beep either way.

    I have not had a chance to pull out the bios battery yet...i guess i will try it in the morning.
     
  6. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    What he meant is to reset CMOS. You can do this by using the jumper or just pulling the battery out and leave it sit for 6 hours + would work.

    EDIT:Ok no beeps, do you have a speaker connected to the motherboard? If so it sounds as though power supply or motherboard. Kind of hard to tell.

    But the way your stating that you get fans spinning (getting proper power from psu) that it tells me its corrupted bios on the motherboard. Will need an RMA if so.
     
  7. Wsimp58 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    60 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I only have a keyboard and a mouse hooked to it right now. So i am pretty sure i got shipped a broke board or something. Thanks for the help guys.

    p.s the power supply is a OCZ 700wat game xstream power supply.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page