1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASUS Radeon HD 7970 CrossFire

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by W1zzard, Jan 4, 2012.

  1. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,887 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,636
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2012
  2. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    Thanks as always! The max power consumption is amazing! Compared to the 6970 Crossfire! (525watt vs. almost 600 watt)

    BTW, first :rockout:
     
  3. v12dock

    v12dock

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,559 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    Need drivers otherwise is very fast
     
  4. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,933 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,209
    W1zz teasing readers with a multi-monitor setup in the future. :laugh:
     
  5. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    This is obviously too expensive for me, however I'd be good with 2 7950's (Coming in Feb) , hoping that they will be less than $400 or at least around the same price of the 5850s when it came out.

    The 7990 (coming in march--will be two 7970s in xfire) is going to be wicked sick. I guarantee you that it will be $800-$1200 price range ($1200 being like special editions or limited editions)
     
  6. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,186 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    837
    1 - drivers, derivers drivers
    2 - worse scaling then HD6000 at 1920\2560 = 7970 needs to stretch it's legs, its not really worse
     
  7. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,051 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    808
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    Oh how I want, improved drivers will fully unleash these beasts ^_^
     
  8. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    All ATI drivers are shit once a new product is released. It will take time, just like any other GPU to work its kinks out. The scaling is due to the drivers. But, you can't complaing playing Crysis 2 maxed out Ultra Package @ 2560 x 1600 with 70 FPS
     
  9. buggalugs

    buggalugs

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    935 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    143
    Location:
    Australia
    Yikes, still using bad drivers.

    I'm pretty sure AMD will release WHQL in the next few hours.
     
  10. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,968 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Ohio
    I don't think the scaling is worse; it's wholly dependent upon the drivers. If you notice, where it does work, scales almost 100% in most situations.
     
  11. hardcore_gamer

    hardcore_gamer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    387 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    172
    Location:
    Fabry Perot cavity,AlGaAs-GaAs Heterojunction
    "Remember, this money can buy you an Xbox 360, plus Kinect, plus 46" TV......"


    Who the 4^cK buys Xbox 360 in 2012 ?:D
     
  12. Trackr New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    265 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    No offense, W1z, but I can't trust a review with a 920 anymore.

    I went from 65 FPS to 75 FPS in Crysis @ 1080p going from a 920 to a 2500k.

    I suppose it wasn't until I updated myself that I saw the difference.
     
  13. Jack Doph

    Jack Doph

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    508 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Upright down-under (Brisbane, Australia)
    I'm not sure I fully understand this, as I'm running 5850s in CrossFire and they behave in the exact same way, leading me to think it's driver-related, rather than 'technology' related as such.
    Am I missing something?
     
  14. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,887 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,636
    your cards go into a lower power state where they are all off including the fan ?

    go overclock your 920 and it'll be faster than the stock 2500k in many benches (happens here)

    my 920 does 2x pcie x16 for this review, yours can't
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2012
    Lionheart, SK-1 and Mistral say thanks.
  15. Jack Doph

    Jack Doph

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    508 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Upright down-under (Brisbane, Australia)
    Yes, exactly as you describe in your review is how mine behave as well.
     
  16. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Mmmm I see 100% scaling in places :D
     
  17. buggalugs

    buggalugs

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    935 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    143
    Location:
    Australia
    Whats the noise like running 2 of those bad boys?
     
  18. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,887 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,636
    hmm amd claims this is a new feature.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    maybe your card behaves the same but consumes normal idle power and not 1W like in zerocore
     
  19. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,887 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,636
    in 2D, like a single card due to ZeroCore power.

    in 3D, twice that of a single card. almost, since the second card might be loaded less. maybe higher because of worse airflow to one card. single card is already quite noisy in 3d
     
    buggalugs says thanks.
  20. Jack Doph

    Jack Doph

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    508 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Upright down-under (Brisbane, Australia)
    Well, the only difference I find is that the fan on card 2 does not turn off (ever), but this may be due to my ambient temps never going below 25C (and is currently at 35C - we had 40C+ today btw).
    Everything else is at 0%
    Power usage measured is less than 1w (which I have to presume as being the fan drawing this power).
    :/

    Any insights?
     
  21. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,887 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,636
    how did you measure 1W ?
     
  22. Jack Doph

    Jack Doph

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    508 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Upright down-under (Brisbane, Australia)
    CCC & GPU-Z XD
    However, if I launch more than one tab in my browser, or a second GPU-Z, this goes up a tad.
    The annoying thing is that whenever I try do do a screen-grab, card #2 kicks-in :/
    Without any useful independent hardware tools, how else can I measure this accurately?
    CCC only goes so far and GPU-Z seems to add more to GFX stress in that it forces the second card to kick-in (even if only at the lowest MHz - 157core/300MHz mem).

    Is there something more reliable I can rely on?
     
  23. blibba

    blibba

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    829 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    Two sources of an amount of noise do not make twice that amount of noise.
     
  24. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,887 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,636
    how would you explain it to him then without giving any specific numbers and confusing him even more?

    software only shows measurements for the gpu (excluding everything else on the card, like memory).

    you can't measure card only power consumption without complicated hardware tools. thats why only few reviewers test it

    i'm quite sure that your second card will consume its idle power in 2D, which is probably around 25 W for 5850
     
    SK-1 and Jack Doph say thanks.
  25. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,043 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    I just sold my rig to enable myself to buy a new car.. now I wanna sell my car to enable myself to buy three of these babies :laugh:. Zero core feature definitely looks like a winner being a Crossfire user for over 2 years this looks to be very beneficial in terms of $$$ and noise.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page