1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASUS Rampage III Extreme 32 Megapixel high-res photo

Discussion in 'News' started by W1zzard, Jan 12, 2010.

  1. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,007 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,877
    According to ASUS the Rampage III Extreme is "Designed for those who know the Dark Art of Overclocking". It comes equipped with all features that overclockers dream of, and also has new stuff like ROG Connect for example.
    The board supports CPUs for Intel Socket 1366, which means Core i7 including Gulftown (yes, I asked). As chipset Intel's X58 and ICH10R is used like on the Rampage II Extreme. ASUS has routed 32 PCI-Express 2.0 lanes to the PCI-E x16 slots, so you can either run x16+x16, x16+x8+x8 or x8+x8+x8+x8 - all without the added heat and latency of NVIDIA's nForce 200. As we hear this does make quite a difference in a 4x HD 5870 configuration for example. Major improvements have also been made to the power solution which is now 8-phase digital 250 - 1000 kHz. Of course support for USB 3.0 and SATA 6 Gb/s is included as well.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    While exact details are not known, the price of the board will be "highest priced ROG" - my guess is around $400, with availability starting around the Gulftown launch which should be some time in March.

    Big, big picture, about 5 MB, can be found here.
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2010
    kylzer, 3dsage and Cold Storm say thanks.
  2. Weer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,417 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    New York / Israel
    32 Megapixels is really not all that much these days.

    This board looks nice, but with eVGA's Dual-Socket board, it doesn't stand up. Same amount of money, more benefit.

    EDIT: Image does not work for me.

    EDIT^2: Only a single Gigabit LAN?!
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2010
  3. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,007 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,877
    image should work now.

    image was stitched together from 9 21 MP images and scaled down so that photoshop could actually export it as jpg
     
  4. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,235 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,150
    The evga board and this asus aren't even in the same catagory. The EVGA board doesn't support I7 cpu's, will cost alot more (motherboard price plus two xeon dual QPI cpu's), and is more targeted for server and "heavy-duty" work station(folding, crunching, things like that that actually use a computers full potention) applications(IMHO)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    isn't that like comparing the jump of a one legged man to a man with both legs that a fully functional?

    One has quite an obvious disadvantage so should not be compared.
     
  6. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,454 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    At $400, I going to compare to whatever I feel like comparing it too! ;)
     
  7. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,235 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,150
    I can understand that, but let me ask you this. Which will cost more? The EVGA board and TWO dual QPI xeon processors, or that $400 ASUS and one I7 920?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,869 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brasil
    Skinny heatsinks usually overheat, and with sata 6 and usb 3 i might get it instead of the E762
    And evga board is just for marketing and fit, i will never pay 1000usd for a overclocked 920 (cof cof 975 cof)
     
  9. mtosev

    mtosev New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,463 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Maribor, Slovenia
    so it will be more expensive than rampage ii whitch costs ~300eur?
     
  10. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,007 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,877
    yes, asus said "highest priced ROG"
     
  11. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,454 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Obvious. But what I net is exactly what you said, two processors :D

    I've been off and on 2P systems since my dual P2 333Mhz. I admit that it used to be much more cost-effective back then, but I can still get value from 2P these days. Low(er) TDP Xeons for instance.

    Not knocking the Asus, it's one hot board and I'd certainly use it if a client asked for it in a build, I just couldn't buy one personally.
     
  12. jjFarking

    jjFarking New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    456 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
  13. SummerDays New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    276 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Stupid comment. Too bad it's the first comment too.
     
  14. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    Wont overheat. The chipset without the imc runs alot cooler and there was no mention of the hot as a mofo nf200.
     
  15. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,007 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,877
  16. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,559 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    954
    Something I always wish they'd advertise is if these boards will do 16x16x1x1x... for like crossfire/sli plus two add on cards.
     
  17. poldo

    poldo New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    23 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    if i'm not mistaken, these connectors are to support the PCIE slot power requirements during extreme overclocking/benchmarking sessions (for the graphics card of course).

    1st post! i just couldn't resist lurking around. :D
     
  18. jjFarking

    jjFarking New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    456 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Was thinking that, but wanted to be sure.
    There's an awful lot of power-related stuff on this board. I'm guessing it's set-up to be an OCers dream.
    Or sumfink.

    Congrats on your first post, BTW :toast:
     
  19. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,869 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brasil
    So this is a newer revision of X58? First boards totally oveheated
     
  20. poldo

    poldo New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    23 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i'm looking forward to this board :) 'just finished testing the maximus formula iii.
     
  21. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,804 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Ridiculously priced but an awesome looking board. I dont know what is up Asus' craw with doing just one gigabit lan port. My board has one and my other Asus has had only one. Maybe they know something we dont.
     
  22. Animalpak

    Animalpak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,161 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    624
    Location:
    Switzerland

    They do low profile heatsink cuz you can mount your hyper mega helm gladiator universe big 20 heatpipes CPU heatsink, and no im not kidding. ;)
     
  23. mechtech

    mechtech

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    251 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    I just built a whole new PC for 500 bucks lol
     
  24. mikek75

    mikek75 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,371 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    Chippenham, Wilts, United Kingdom
    whats the point of a hi-res photo when its out of focus?
     
  25. SummerDays New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    276 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    My apologies. It does seem like there is only one lan connection. However, you'll note that some networking modems, like mine, are coming with one plug in / many out.

    The first block is ps/2 and 2 usb.
    Reset button for bios. 1394
    The second block. Bottom external SATA port.
    SPDIF and Coax
    The last block is obviously speakers.

    There would be a receiver for blue tooth as well.

    The Rampage II definitely has 2 Lan ports.

    It would be easier if it was announced, and you could just look it up in the manual.

    There's a limited amount of space, with the extra audio stuff being onboard.
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2010

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page