1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASUS Releases KGPE-D16 Socket G34 Motherboard for 12-core AMD Opteron Processors

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Apr 7, 2010.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,552 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,644
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    ASUS today introduced the new ASUS KGPE-D16 motherboard featuring the AMD G34 socket for 8- and 12-Core AMD Opteron 6100 Series processors. Equipped with an AMD SR5690/SP5100 chipset as well as supporting 4-channels of DDR3 memory per processor, ASUS' unique PIKE upgrade kit, and ASUS ASMB4-iKVM module for remote management, the KGPE-D16 is a reliable platform that runs heavy server operations while achieving exceptionally low power consumption.

    Exceptional Processing Threshold with AMD Opteron 6000 Series platform (codenamed "Maranello"). Equipped with the AMD SR5690/SP5100 chipset, the KGPE-D16 utilizes AMD Opteron 6100 Series processors to help deliver exceptionally efficient performance to handle massive real-world workloads. Tom Lin, general manager, ASUS Server Business Unit said, "The KGPE-D16 serverboard supports extreme performance typical in enterprises or institutions with high-performance computing demands or web-facing servers which reach critical processing levels when internet traffic surges. So we are pleased that the AMD Opteron 6100 processor and AMD Server Chipset combination provides the muscle to handle these situations."

    [​IMG]

    "Our longstanding relationship with ASUS helps assure enterprises and research institutions of a tightly integrated serverboard designed to harness the full processing capabilities of the latest AMD Opteron 6100 processors," said Patrick Patla, vice president and general manager, Server and Embedded Divisions, AMD. "The KGPE-D16 is tailored for the requirements needed by end customers to succeed in ever more demanding computing environments."
     
    copenhagen69, Flyordie and Loosenut say thanks.
  2. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Those CPU were dirt cheap when announced, if these are as cheap as the entry level dual 1366 boards it might be one hell of a platform.
     
  3. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,418 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    637
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Not bad. Can go dual GPU, Pike (1068E for $80), and an MIO audio card.

    An EATX Tyan 2P G34 recently popped up on Newegg for $459.
     
  4. Kitkat New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    768 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    now make that dual socket fx again lol cant they do it with the 6 cores phenoms or no?
     
  5. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,890 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    378
    Location:
    Singapore
    I'm trying to imagine i can render with 24 cores...:wtf::eek::twitch:
     
  6. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
  7. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,175 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    they should add more pci-e slots like EVGA do with them intel mobo to make multi talent mobo
     
  8. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,422 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,461
    SKT 1207 was a 2 Way setup just like this unit here, Phenoms are 1 way Units, You would need an arbiter to run 2 way anymore. The Last Time you could use Desktop Parts in a Server board was the AMD SKT A CPUs, as they have a certain bridging on them that determined whether they were Desktop, Mobile or Server.
     
  9. A Cheese Danish

    A Cheese Danish

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,963 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    your local vending machine
    Finally! Now time to start saving up!
    These could make great servers and folding rigs
     
  10. fatguy1992

    fatguy1992 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    419 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Looks good, but most importantly will it have any overclocking features?
     
  11. Kitkat New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    768 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    lol i understand that much. Not what i was refering too realy ;)


    yeah i figured :( i wish ASUS and AMD would team up to do it again i missed the boat the first time, here it is for those who havent seen it b4

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131146

    Thanx for explanation btw ;) PS: i just read and this thing still kicks ass lol... X years later
     
  12. Ripper3

    Ripper3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,386 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    London, England
    Well, the Quad FX platform was a little bit of a dud if I recall correctly. An Intel quad-core could outperform, or at the very least, keep up with it, and the Quad FX drank power, compared to the Intel quad. Not only that, but the motherboard was super-expensive, although it used regular DDR2 if you used an Athlon FX processor rather than an Opteron, so that saved a fair amount.
    I think AMD's learned their lesson there, and will more than likely release a Phenom 12-core before they release another Quad FX, unless they can deliver the goods this time around. That's just my two-cents though, so could be I'm so completely mistaken that they're just about to announce Octo FX or Duodecim FX platform or sumat.
     
  13. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    hehe... I got a Dual Socket F board with an RS780 NB and SB750. :) Currently running 2x Istanbuls. 12 cores of crunchy goodness... BUT its due to be replaced soon by a G34 board and 2x 12 core Magnys if I meet the criteria for them. :laugh:
     
  14. Kitkat New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    768 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    i hope they get together and make another badass board id go for it fast. especialy with wot they got today but yours sounds RARwsome!

    you recalled incorectly.
     
  15. xrealm20

    xrealm20 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    467 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
    Location:
    Houston
    flyordie, what motherboard are you using?
     
  16. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    It already seems to have 4 x16 slots and a x8. Most people don't even use 2.
     
  17. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    Total PCI/PCI-X/PCI-E Slots: 6
    Slot Location 1: 1 * PCI 32bit/33 MHz
    Slot Location 2: 1 * PCI-E x16 (Gen2 X8 Link)
    Slot Location 3: 1 * PCI-E x16 (Gen2 X16 Link) (Auto switch to x8 Link if slot 2 is occupied)
    Slot Location 4: 1 * PCI-E x8 (Gen2 X4 Link)
    Slot Location 5: 1 * PCI-E x16 (Gen2 X 16 Link)
    Slot Location 6: 1 * PCI-E x16 (Gen2 x16 Link for 1U FH/FL Card) (Auto turn off if slot 5 is occupied, MIO supported)
    Additional Slot 1: 1* PIKE Slot for Stroage expansion

    taken from ASUS' homepage http://asus.com/product.aspx?P_ID=4AUqWniKqYByIAxw
     
  18. Ripper3

    Ripper3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,386 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    London, England
    @Kitkat:
    TechReport's conclusion: better off with Intel
    Anandtech conclusion: better off with Intel
    Just two of the reviews of the many that say it's not as good as a single Intel Quad-core of its time. I wanted to find something more conclusive on TPU, but I couldn't find a result for Spider or Quad FX, so I guess W1zzard didn't get a review for it, unless I'm mistaken.
    Don't get me wrong, Quad FX still seems awesome (and I was about to hit Buy It Now when I saw a cheap one on Ebay until I read up on power consumption), just seems like Intel had the upper hand, although buying a pair of AMD's finest for Quad FX cost you less than buying on Intel QX6800, but it was an expensive-ish platform.
    I still maintain that if AMD's going to release another set of enthusiast grade of dual-CPU hardware, they'll do it when it's far better, rather than as a knee-jerk response to Intel's products.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page