1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asus Releases List of 140W AMD CPU Ready Motherboards

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, May 24, 2008.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    ASUS has prepared a full list of motherboards that will support AMD's 140W CPUs. This is necessary for AMD's upcoming Phenom 9950 2.6GHz processor that has 140W TDP. CPUs with TDP of 125W are also supported by these motherboards. The following list is not full, more 140W CPU ready ASUS motherboards are expected to be announced soon:

    [​IMG]

    Source: ASUS
     
  2. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,695 (11.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,664
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    So the 9950 has 140W TDP :laugh:? That's around the same as that of QX9770. Aren't we seeing tables turned? Of when AMD processors ran cool-n-quiet while those Prescotts/Smithfields warmed your rooms?
     
  3. patton45

    patton45 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Messages:
    171 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    their power is increased but they are still on a lower process and the jump isnt a huge jump im on the 90nm 125w xpu in my cpu room runs cool oc'd and it sucks power about 125 under full load maybe more with my voltage bump. i wouldnt be suprised if these chips have similar thermals to the current 65nm intel chips but who knows till we start to see some specs from amd. I am intel all the way on all new systems im building
     
  4. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Wow, I didnt even know AMD was bringing out more cpus. The 9850 seems to be selling decently from what Ive seen. Granted, Id like to see lower thermals (power usage) but as long as it doesnt get over 165W Im content with it.
     
  5. Kei

    Kei

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,122 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    618
    I'm curious as to how much power this will need once people start to overclock the unit. My 9850 is at 165W right now with the 3Ghz (1.36v) setting I use, though I can also run 3Ghz at 151W setting but have to compromise some other clocks for it.

    K
     
  6. iLLz

    iLLz

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    93 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    West Deptford, NJ
    Overclock??

    I doubt these will overclock much if at all really. None of the Phenoms really do.
     
    Kei says thanks.
  7. Kei

    Kei

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,122 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    618
    ...this coming from someone who obviously doesn't own one. Read my entire post before you make a dumb statement like that...perhaps you missed the part about mine being 3Ghz on stock voltage...genius

    K

    The thanks is for being "that guy" in every thread who speaks faster than he reads
     
  8. techie81

    techie81 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    70 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bay Area
    Does anyone know when the 3.0GHz X4's are scheduled to come out?
     
  9. Valdez

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    294 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Szekszárd, Hungary
    not this year probably.
     
  10. Kei

    Kei

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,122 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    618
    Yea, I don't think they're supposed to be out this year but there is something coming this fall. I've heard it's another revision for the Phenoms but not sure what that'll be yet...I really wanna see the AM3's though!

    K
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page