1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASUS ROG Blitz Extreme and Blitz Formula - Sneak Peek

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, May 26, 2007.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    ASUS is about to present new additions to its Republic Of Gamers (ROG) series of motherboards, scheduled to be released at this years Computex Taipei 2007. Initially, two new mainboards will be available: the DDR3 Edition "Blitz Extreme" and the DDR2 Edition "Blitz Formula", both coupled with Intel's P35 and ICH9R chipsets. The new ASUS ROG Blitz series includes several exclusive features:
    • Fusion Block System - water cooled northbridge (Blitz Extreme only)
    • Crosslinx technology - CrossFire with two 8x PCIe lines
    • CPU Level Up - OC CPU function
    • COP EX to protect NB/SB and GPU from overheating
    • 2-Phase DDR including Voltminder LEDs and an external LCD poster
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: ITmedia, ascii.jp, ASUS
  2. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Very nice :) But heapipe + Watercooling is total overkill IMHO.
  3. aximbigfan New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    848 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    what is tyhat last pic of?
    cpu level up?


    chris
  4. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    I wonder what CPU is used?
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,126 (13.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,582
    "two 8x?? PCI express lanes? That sucks, interesting layout.
  6. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    I believe the CPU is E6300 (from the first source link), and look at the last option "Crazy" what is it supposed to mean?! Sorry, but its written in Korean...I can only guess what they're talking about.
  7. JUDAS3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    345 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    suffolk uk
    i think it oc's your cpu to the next model up - setting wise.
  8. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Oof I Would Love This Mobo :)
  9. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,559 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Nice option to put a button on the back to clear the cmos.:toast:
  10. caveman_1990

    caveman_1990 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    269 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    LOL that is not Korean its Japanese.
  11. TUngsten

    TUngsten New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,042 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    CT, USA
    "crazy"

    lol!
  12. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Its English to me :). These are some very awesome motherboards. More and More it makes me want to go to the darkside everyday. I cant wait to see some benches on these and I like the heatpipe with watercooling on it. All copper too. Extremely nice.
  13. Conti027

    Conti027

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,361 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    Kent, Washington
    i like it besides the 8x pci-e slots and i dont use sli
  14. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Yeah and also you can transform ur E6300 to a E6700 :wtf:
  15. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,276 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    love the post lcd, love the copper piping and love the "crazy" option in bios, but why only 8x lanes for the gfx???

    I bet this is going to be one of those $600 motherboards :(
  16. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,776
    What size barbs are on that block? I didn't see it mentioned anywhere.
  17. Judas

    Judas

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,032 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Now this one is not so good ,well my opinion anways. Why is the CLR CMOS switch put on the rearside ? :confused:
  18. Oliver_FF

    Oliver_FF New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    546 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Squeezing around two GFX cards and your SATA connectors to get to a jumper to clear the CMOS is usually a lot of hard work ;)
  19. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Also another problem, what if u are trying to blindly plug in ur usb key and u press that button by accident when ur PC is on?
  20. Judas

    Judas

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,032 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    I have not noticed ,seems rather easy to me :p
  21. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    eh, 2x 8x pciE, why the hell not 16x?
  22. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Because the Intel P35 chipset is not capable of providing 2x PCIe 16x. ;)
  23. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    fair do's :)
  24. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,221 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    960
    -->>> Intel therefore believes that PCIe 16x is unnecessary bandwidth. I can understand it if the PCIe is v2.0, but if v1.0, then basically, Intel is going back to AGP8x speeds. LOL. Full circle.
  25. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    All complaints aside about the PCI-e lanes, I like it ALOT, and I am not one to look for the most high end stuff. May have to save my money up and get one.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page